We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RHS Garden to yourself?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Great Torrington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rosemoor House Apartments
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RHS Garden to yourself?”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Finding the place was easy using the directions supplied. Staff greeted us and were very helpful and pleasant, taking us across to the private access and showing us round the accommodation.
We had the Camelia, which has a small but well equipped kitchen, a reasonably sized sitting room with TV and a FABULOUS, HUGE bedroom, double aspect and many original features, plus direct access to a small veranda for sippers in the late afternoon sun.
The best part was after 5 pm when the garden is ALL YOURS to roam without the crowds, so peaceful and calming.
Not the cheapest place - but worth every penny!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minty051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed here for my 50th in November in magnolia, absolutely wonderful staying within the gardens themselves, very peaceful, the apartment was really spacious, something really special about the place it was magical

Room Tip: I have mobility issues and Mongolia was perfect. The other 2 are upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ailsamary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have stayed in this magical,place on two occasions and hope to return in the future. The apartment is very comfortable and well equipped with everything you might need. They even leave a wonderful "welcome pack".
As we were staying, we had the privilege of being able to wonder round the garden both before and after the official opening hours. Lovely place to stay!

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs apartment called Magnolia, having seen the other two in the house it is mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We have spent two very pleasant stays at Rosemoor 4 days in Magnolia (March 2011) and a week in Camelia (May 2012). Both comfortable apartments were kept at a high standard of cleanliness with sufficient equipment for self catering. The on site dining was very good but only available when the gardens are open. Walks during the evening are so peaceful with some of the flowers at their best at that time. The birds of many kinds are also more visible and the Greater Spotted Woodpeckers appear in the quiet. The whole experience is a delight and we will certainly keep coming, trying to see it at all seasons. The staff are extremely helpful and pleasant and information is just a chat away or a visit to the library. It is very well placed to use as a base for visits to the surrounding attractions of which there are many..if you feel the need.

Room Tip: Be guided by the brochure. All are quiet, with good views amplyand comfortably furnished
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipping Norton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

How wonderful to be able to walk around these beautiful gardens before and after its normal opening times. the apartment was lovely, well equipped, quiet, warm and comfortable. We had the added bonus of a 'Fisherman's Friends' concert in the grounds one evening. Would thoroughly recommend these apartments to any garden lovers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeansarchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

For our anniversary in February 2012 we stayed in Camelia apartment at Rosemoor and had a wonderful few days enjoying the beautiful gardens and superb accommodation. There was everything you needed to make the stay very comfortable and the added pleasure of being able to wonder around the gardens as often as we wished. The Autumn colours were still in evidence and the sunshine made it just perfect. We visited places of interest in the local area but returning to the apartment was just like coming home. A truly delightful stay which we plan to repeat very soon.

Room Tip: Camelia was an excellent, spacious apartment for two people, with large warm rooms overlooking a qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

We had our wedding at RHS Rosemoor Gardens and our day was only made better with our stay in Lady Anne's House (The now Rosemoor House Apartments) Myself and new wife stayed in magnolia apartment (the ground floor one with veranda). My best man and rest of the family took up the other two apartments camelia and azalea from the Friday until the Monday. All three worked well as a place for us all to get away from the mayhem of pre-wedding planning and to relax and reflect after the big day.

All had been newly refurbished and azalea has a fantastic regency staircase with views over the gardens. All apartments are spacious, clean, have great bathroom and kitchen facilities and offer privacy in a fantastic situation in amoungst the beautiful gardens. Azalea has a big space for dining so in the morning we all had breakfast up there over-looking the deserted gardens! There is plenty of parking also. We were free to roam the gardens at our leisure outside of opening hours, which was great as we needed to enter the marquee to decorate for the big day! All apartments had a welcome bottle of wine, bottle of fresh apple juice (straight from the orchards in Rosemoor), fresh fruit, coffee's, tea's, etc etc......and also a wedding day Rose for the happy couple!

The Camelia apartment has a twin room and living room with sofa bed, when we arrived there was no bed linen or pillows for the sofa bed, even though the gardens were closing in 5 minutes, this was dealt with promptly and in a friendly manner.

A perfect place to stay, at a perfect wedding venue which was enjoyed by the whole family, would highly recommend as a wedding venue and in general as a place to relax and unwind, and enjoy the amazing gardens!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rodder5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Torrington
5.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
515 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
356 reviews
7.6 mi away
Northcote Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
489 reviews
9.5 mi away
Highbullen Hotel
Highbullen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chittlehamholt
542 reviews
0.4 mi away
Windsor House
Windsor House
#5 of 12 in Great Torrington
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosemoor House Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosemoor House Apartments

Property: Rosemoor House Apartments
Address: RHS Garden Rosemoor | Great Torrington, Great Torrington EX38 8PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Great Torrington
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Great Torrington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three stunning apartments housed in the 18th-century home of Lady Anne Palmer. Now run and let by the RHS, the apartments offer a unique opportunity to view an RHS garden out of opening hours and stay in an historic property offering every modern convenience and breathtaking views of the garden. Azelea Apartment sleeps 4, both en-suite, 1st floor; Camellia Apartment sleeps 2/4 spacious 1st floor; Magnolia Apartment sleeps 2 ground floor with veranda. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rosemoor House Apartments Great Torrington, Devon, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing