We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class accommodation.”
Review of Tudor Place

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor Place
Ranked #1 of 1 Winnersh B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Read up on this B&B online before booking. I was not disappointed at all. Upon arrival I was greeted by Eve (landlady) who gave me a small jug of fresh milk (a refreshing change from UHT) and directed me to 'Ifferey' room (excuse me if I got the spelling wrong). The room was clean, large and what I believe was the biggest room available.

The carpet was so plush it was like walking on a cream coloured cushion!! The bed was a super king with the most comfortable mattress and pillows EVER. There was 2 giant cushion type pillows in addition too.

The bathroom had a bath and power shower with brass fittings and a large sink and Fluffy towels. There was the odd toiletry like a razor, soap, hand wash and a Radox shower gel. It is like a well designed ensuite that you would want in your own home.

There are security gates and a large pebbled driveway which adds to the luxury.

You have a choice of continental and cooked breakfast which is lovely. Yes, you do share a large circular table with the other guests for breakfast but I only actually dined with two, one on each morning so it's not uncomfortable at all.

There are no evening dining options but if you order a takeaway you can eat it in the kitchen. I didn't take up this offer and instead chose to walk around to find the pub mentioned in other reviews. If you haven't travelled in a car and are staying in the winter months then you may want to consider a taxi as I spent an hour walking around getting lost in the dark trying to to find somewhere to eat!

its not to say that there isn't anywhere to eat nearby but it is quite a suburban (lovely) area and it is not that easy to find anywhere on foot (if you don't know the area)

Overall I would definitely recommend this B&B. I would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelly74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
There are newer reviews for Tudor Place
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 70 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Bright, clean good connections for work near a couple of decent pubs the traditional breakfast servered is just first class.

First heared about this place through a freind at work and i was not disapointed the train station is only 5 mins away the owner was professional and welcoming. The car was very secure in the frount dive as they had big metal gates and the back garden was a pleasent place in the evenings. Quiet and comftable would reconmend to all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Normon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I am working in the area long term and was lucky enough to find this place. Lovely setting, comfortable rooms, fantastic breakfast, kind landlady and best of all - quiet. Short walk to pubs / supermarket / cinema / train station (which you cannot hear at all).

Short train journey to London Waterloo, regular schedule.

I cannot understand how people have the sheer nerve to slander this place, I am not interested in staying anywhere else as long as I am in this part of the country. Been here 5 months so far and not had a single uncomfortable night.

Room Tip: As for a room - they're all good
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

What a pity. As other reviewers have mentioned, comfortable and well located but this counts for very little in light of the treatment we recieved. Arriving wet and tired after a very long day we found one of our rooms (previously confirmed by email) had been let to another party in what I can only imagine was an attempt at making a bit more cash. No apology or explanation was offered, with no chance of finding accomodation elsewhere at that time of night we were basically told we could 'like it or lump it'. It was this attitiude that was most upsetting. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank gypseygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Given the glowing reviews of this B&B, we were excited about staying here but sadly we were deeply disappointed. We were a group of 7 women in our 30s and had booked three rooms. However, when we arrived we were told, without any hint of an apology, that we had two rooms between us so 4 of us would be sharing one room, with 3 of us sharing one bed. When we politely enquired about the third room which we had booked, we were firmly told that it had been given to someone else and if we didn't like it, we could leave.

Eve, the owner then said that we were all girls so it shouldn't matter and then asked one of us how old we were, clearly assuming that we were much younger and therefore could be easily manipulated. She even sized us up to pick the 3 smallest of us to share the one bed. Aside from the demeaning nature of this highly patronizing approach to us (her guests), it was also deeply unprofessional and rude.

Having assessed the room and realised that the double was two singles pushed together and therefore whoever slept in the middle might fall through, we attempted to speak to Eve to find a solution. In response, she told us to leave her alone and not speak to her. Again, if we didn't like it, we could leave. Given it was past 8pm, we had cycled 60 miles to get there and we couldn't find another option close by, we had little option but to stay.

In the morning, Eve did apologise for handling the situation badly but didn't apologise for deliberatly giving our room away, nor did she apologise for assuming that we could put up with 3 in a bed because we were female and young.

It was a great shame as this was a beautiful place and they ruined it just to make a quick and greedy few extra pounds. Disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephB48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed at this lovely place recently on our last night in England before flying out the next morning.
Eve was a lovely, interesting host, and prepared a great breakfast.
Our room was large and comfortable with a king bed.
It was close to Reading, but far enough off the main road to be private and quiet.
We were surprised to find it full of business people rather than tourists.

Room Tip: Only downside was that our travelling companions were put in the house next door,which is also par...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OntarioJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

The rooms are lovely and clean, comfortable with everything you need, even a fridge if need be. The bed is comfortable and the location is ideal, on a quiet lane, close to the business park. The food is delicious and the lady is lovely and welcoming. I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigitte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Pheasant Inn Hotel
#3 of 3 in Winnersh
101 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
571 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Place

Address: 92 Arbor Lane, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5JD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Winnersh
Price Range: $138 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tudor Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing