We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff fantastic - hotel, not so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Staff fantastic - hotel, not so”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I paid for an executive suite as it gave me access to a business centre for me to do some work - no Internet provided in the business centre (10.50 per day pls!) and no printing facilities (50p per page from reception please!).

State of the art gym? No barbells, TRX, viprs, kettlebells - not even a leg press machine.

Spa - one technician which meant when I arrived on Friday there were no appointments left for the wkd.

Freeview channels - 3 not working

Room service - whatever you do don't get the burger - after being assured it was 'homemade' before I ordered it, no doubt it was a frozen one.

Bar food - broccoli and stilton soup - 6 mouthfuls, no cheese and soggy croutons will cost you £6


Caprice food - delicious

Staff were great though - management have put in extortionate methods of extracting more cash from customers - outrageous.

All in all very dissapointing for a 4 star stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamsin83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Please accept our apologies that we did not meet all your expectation for your stay.

Kindly note that all our guests are provided with access to the hotel's business centre at no charge, but we have never advertised as providing free internet or printing as a benefit for guests who chose to stay in executive rooms.

Our Esprit gym is indeed viewed as state of the art and offers an extensive range of Life Fitness equipment, Having made enquiries of even the largest local David Lloyd Club they advise that items such as TRX, viprs, kettlebells are not something even they provide .

We apologise that you were unable to secure an appointment for a treatment on the weekend of your stay. Our Dermalogica Spa is particularly busy on weekends with treatments generally being pre-booked in both our Spa treatment rooms weeks in advance. We actually had two therapists available for treatments on Friday when you arrived had you preferred to enjoy a treatment until 22.00 that evening.

We note your feedback concerning the freshly prepared homemade burger you ordered and can assure you that all our food and in particular our burgers which are one of our most popular room service items , are indeed freshly prepared .

We do not actually serve croutons in our broccoli soup and whilst I am very pleased to note you enjoyed your meal in the Caprice restaurant, I would like to clarify that the same kitchen prepares the food for the Monty's lounge bar and the room service to ensure consistency

We thank you for your recognition of the efforts of our team

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    552
    373
    115
    49
    56
See reviews for
231
334
53
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights. Very clean hotel. Pool and gym are excellent. Changing rooms are big and have private showers with complimentary body lotion. The restaurant is really exceptional, the food was always of good quality, something you would expect in a 5 star. I did not try the Indian cuisine. Prices are a bit high though. Beds are comfortable, you are provided with a hard and a soft synthetic pillow, you choose what you want.

Lighting in the room could be better, also the AC in my room worked a bit inconsistent i just turned it off or put it on the lowest speed whenever i went to bed.

In my room, the shower hose was fed trough a plastic ring attached to the frame on which you place the shower head. This was really annoying because it limits the movement you have with the shower. This is common in many hotels. You can free the hose by unscrewing the hose from the head, feeding it down trough the plastic ring and screwing it back on to the shower head. You might want to put everything back like it was when checking out. ;-) Other than that the bathroom was excellent with its mist/fog free mirror.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank V K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The location is very Good. Staff is very Helpful. On the main track for Accessibility to Reading and London. Was there for more than a week. The Breakfast was SAME everyday. No different choices. Set menu for all days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SanjeevSethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBB99, Owner at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear Guest

We very much appreciate your custom at our hotel and your recognition of our excellent location and the friendliness and helpfulness of our team

With regard to our breakfast offering, I would like to clarify that in addition to the extensive breakfast buffet offering we provide to our guests, we also provide guests with an extensive a la carte menu to chose from on each table within the same price and which includes wonderful temptations such as waffles. pancakes, omelettes and a whole variety of cooked to order items. .

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We decided to try something new went to celebrate my kids 13 B-Day at Caprice. The service was excellent and so was the bread to begin with but then we decided to go with the Indian menu and as a fan of good Indian food I wasn't too impressed. The food is OK, it's not terrible and it's not wonderful but for the price you pay at Caprice it should be better.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Ronnenb,

Thank you for your feedback. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We are sorry you were not fully satisfied with the Indian food selections you received. We have taken note of your valuable feedback and will pass it on to the appropriate department for improvements. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this Hotel. The rooms were modern and clean although it was a tight squeeze for 4 of us in the family room. The pool and dining facilities were clean and welcoming and the reception staff were excellent. Good customer service all round. The breakfast was good too. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mstraveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I was part of a group of friends who booked a dinner, B & B spa deal on Last Minute, great value, executive rooms were very large, really clean and quiet at night. Every member of staff were extremely friendly, professional and efficient - we especially loved Ahmed in the restaurant, whose recommendations for dinner and after dinner magic really made our night. Amazing delicious meal, and hardly anyone in the gym or pool - all super clean, new and contemporary decor. Will stay again and definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Executive rooms - large & roomy, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Busymum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, nice rooms and restaurant
We stayed midweek and in a nice location to break up our long journey
Don't use spa gym or pool so can't comment but restaurant was good for the price of 22 pounds for 3 courses
Only gripe is Internet charges - I buy a 1.99 Big Mac and get free Internet, buy a 90 pound hotel room and have to pay?.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ratkarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
3.8 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
10.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Marlow
4.2 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10

Property: Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10
Address: Wharfedale Road, Winnersh Triangle, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exceptional AA 4 Silver Star hotel within close proximity of M4, Reading, Bracknell & Wokingham setting new standards in design & service. Offering tranquil spacious air-conditioned bedrooms with luxury bedding and 32" flat screen TV. Complimentary secure underground parking for all guests and delegates. Extensive Esprit Wellness & Spa facilities including 19m indoor pool, large Life Fitness Gym and Dermalogica Spa Treatments. Enjoy relaxed dining in the 2 AA Rosette Caprice Restaurant with outdoor terrace or visit our stylish Monty’s Bar & Lounge to relax and enjoy a drink or quality bar meal in tranquil surroundings whilst enjoying music by our talented resident pianist. 8 state of the art conference and banqueting suites for up to 220 guests with dedicated Conference Manager. Air-conditioning and fibre Wi-Fi throughout. Ideally located for London (30 minutes) from adjacent Winnersh Triangle station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Reading - M4, Jct 10 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Reading m4 Jct10 Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing