We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms”
Review of Pheasant Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pheasant Inn Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed overnight on a saturday,Decided to stay around and eat in the pub ordered a pizza ,which was cold as were the beans for breakfast, rooms are very nice, spacious and clean with ensuite the rooms are seperate from the pub, in a building next door,breakfast was ample,friendly staff .Great little find,will definitely return when in the area,but might take a walk to find a evening meal

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TellMassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 102 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

It can be a challenge finding reasonably priced accommodation in this area, so The Pheasant's worth a try if cost's an issue. It's hardly cheap by rest-of-UK standards, but by the time you factor-in free Wi-Fi and breakfast, it's not bad.

Friendly staff in the pub/restaurant and decent food. The rooms are en-suite but basic and a bit tired (like older style TravelLodge/Inn), but they're clean and comfortable enough. Rooms are well insulated for external noise (at the back at least), although inside noise can be an issue - particularly if there's a White Van Man conference on, which seemed to be the case when I was there ;-)

Nice to see an independent place holding its own against the monotony of Travelodge etc. It will need to be smartened up a bit to avoid falling too far behind though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oolon_Colluphid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here on our resent trip to Ascot.
Great little hotel attached to the pub, rooms clean and with all the facilities needed.
Free Wi-Fi.
Service good and efficient , great Italian food. Good full breakfast.
Within walking distance of local station, and direct route to Ascot station.
Great value and will use again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottWilmslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just coming to the end of my stay at The Pheasant and I'm very impressed. The room has everything you need and is nice and quiet despite being near a busy road. The staff are super friendly and happy to help. The breakfast is nice and they will pretty much cook what you ask for as long as they have it. The evening meals are legendary, an extensive menu including homemade Italian dishes, scrummy. The Pinot Grigio is lovely. We've stayed 4 nights and every meal has been a delight. There is also a fantastic park for walking, running or cycling about 15 mins walk away - Dinton Country park, and Sainsbury including full pharmacy is very handy just across the road. Thanks to Debbie and the staff, I would definitely stay here again should the opportunity arise.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I spent four nights at the Pheasant in mid-May 2013. The room was basic but clean and nicely presented. Staff were friendly and welcoming. The free Wi-Fi working well. Food in the adjacent pub was very good and so were the English breakfasts. I'd have no problems recommending this place to other visitors.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonTimmins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I am staying at 'The Phesant' on business. The Hotel accomodation is sepeerate from the Pub and Restaurant and so very quiet.
The staff are excellent and friendly apart from being efficient.
Roberto and his wife have apparently completely revamped the whole business since taking over.
The Restaurant seves Italian food cooked expertly by Roberto e Luanda.
The tea and coffee making facilities are a real boon after a long day
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I prefer the first floor and there is free wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BulldogGdansk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Overnight stay for friends' anniversary party. Rooms large, clean & very comfortable. Coffee, tea and even biscuits provided which was nice for something light before bed. Friendly and helpful service overall and breakfast was good. Was sorry that I wasn't staying longer as the restaurant/bar looked good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaydel_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Winnersh
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Reading Moat House Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading M4 Jct 10
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Winnersh Triangle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cantley House Hotel
Cantley House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Wokingham
589 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton St Anne's Manor, Bracknell
3.4 mi away
The Wee Waif
The Wee Waif
#1 of 1 in Charvil
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pheasant Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pheasant Inn Hotel

Address: 355 Reading Road, Winnersh, Wokingham RG41 5LR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Wokingham > Winnersh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Winnersh
Price Range: $82 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pheasant Inn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Pheasant Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing