We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“try somewhere else”
Review of Hotel Drnholec

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Drnholec
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drnholec
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel. We stayed in similar hotels before and there is no comparison. Small local hotel, in the town-village square, with a pub and a restaurant. Good pub(in english style)...though you can't sit at a particular table at 7pm...as it is for owners only!...a restaurant with ok food for a good price. But the rooms are dated, shabby, with damaged furniture. The toilet was diabolical....dirty and smelly!! Sack the cleaner! The bathroom sink had a chunk of hair stuck in it...disgusting! Give it a miss!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarka_holmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

We staid at the hotel for 3 days to enjoy some wine tasting and hiking the wonderful vineyard countryside od the Pálava region.
The room was clean but of a very average (or maybe a bit less) quality. The en suite bathroom was (based on its look) surely as old as the hotel. The shower door was broken (though possible to close), the lever mixers were hard to operate (not surprising because of their apparent age). There was a tiny TV in the room with the remote not working properly but with a good choice of Czech and Austrian channels. We definitely didn't get the cosy room that is in the pictures on their web.
The biggest problem with the room was the sleep quality. The bed was fine but the hotel is just adjacent to a church where the bells ring all the time even during the night. Every 15 minutes there was a chime (or 2, or 3, or many more at every o'clock). We are used to street noise of a main street at home and sleep with open windows even there but this was really disturbing. At 7 AM, there was a complete bell concert which I can't really understand as the mass began at 10.30 and it is usual to chime the bells just before the mass, not 3.5 hours before. Another thing was that the room telephone rang several times during the night without any good reason. As we found out from the discussions of other guests at breakfast, it was a problem of all of the rooms.

On the other hand, the rest of the hotel was quite likeable. The restaurant looked cosy as did the English-style bar. We had a full English breakfast one day and a Czech-style breakfast the other morning. Both were fine, although the "continental" one was really not very rich in choice. The dinners were somewhere between poor and average. I had a vegetable salad with chicken that was poor indeed, on the other hand, the goulash the other day was very good and tasty. The menu is, however, nothing very special and resembles that of any average Czech countryside pub/restaurant. As the hotel presents itself with its English style, I would expect something more stylish (more than fish&chips and sausages that are in my opinion the worst part of British cuisine). What I liked most at the hotel was the bar. A warm place where we spent some time one evening to have a dram of 10y/o Laphroaig. I liked that very much.
The staff were quite pleasant but I would expect more from a family-run hotel. The waiter/bartender/receptionist in one person was quite a pleasant guy but seemed a bit confused. In fact, he looked tipsy the first evening. He was much more pleasant as a bartender than as a waiter in the restaurant.
All-in-all this was a pretty average place. Nowhere I would like to go again but on the other hand, the hotel didn't spoil our holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms heading away from the road will probably be quieter. They are also more expensive, so there mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Johny_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

I have been a frequent visitor to this excellent small country hotel ever since it was opened over a decade ago. The owners have spent a fortune on renovating what was once a virtual ruin. The latest addition are two high standard rooms in the courtyard. During my latest stay I tested out one of the new rooms which were built to a high standard, remaining warm in spite of the very low temperatures outside. Each room has a comfortable bed and en suite shower and toilet as well as cable TV. In my opinion the highlight of the hotel is the excellently run bar and restaurant. The bar generally follows an English theme reflecting the fact that one of the owners is from England. It is decorated with horse brasses and pictures from the UK. It is especially cosy in winter with the roaring fire. A wide variety of drinks are served as well as local specialities to accompany beer. A special range of coffees is also available. The restaurant specializes in dishes from Moravia. Particularly recommended are the ‘’Kapsa’’ potato pancake, the Moravian cabbage soup and the Pike-Perch from Novy-Mlyn. A wide range of local Moravian and foreign wines are available. All menus are in Czech, English and German. Free of charge Wi-Fi is now available too but due to the thickness of the walls, it only works in the bar and restaurant. The reception is friendly and helpful and staff speak excellent English and German. The hotel has an arrangement with a local taxi company which can provide reliable and comfortable transport to nearby Brno or Vienna airports at a reasonable price. There are many interesting places to visit in the region such as Lednice, Valtice, Mikulov and the Austrian Weinviertel. Walks & Bike rides in every direction are a pleasure at any time of the year with a diverse landscape of rivers, forests, lakes , vineyards and the Palava hills. The hotel is also near to Brno and offers a much nicer (and cheaper) alternative to the oversubscribed Brno hotels especially during trade fairs. For special events such as wine tasting, the hotel even has a restored wine cellar which can be hired. This well run friendly hotel is not luxurious but offers an acceptable level of comfort with great cuisine and compares favourably with most other hotels in the region.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Timcho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michaela Š
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magdaherudkova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
3  Thank mari0sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Vojtěch N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Drnholec? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Drnholec

Address: Nam. Svobody 8, Drnholec 691 83, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Moravia > South Moravian Region > Drnholec
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Drnholec
Price Range: $76 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Drnholec 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Drnholec reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing