We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dumped in an apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Jicin, s.r.o.
Ranked #2 of 15 Jicin B&B and Inns
Amesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dumped in an apartment”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Well what can I say? After 5 days of walking through Bohemia, we had looked forward to a civilised stay in pre-paid hotel accomodation in Jicin. Sadly this was not to be as we were instead dumped by the hotel into an appartment on the other side of town. No explaination was given - treking back across town for breakfast is certainly not my idea of fun. Would I stay there again? No. Would I recommend this to others? No.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disgruntled_439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    23
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
8
22
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on a business trip and mostly enjoyed our stay. The rooms are clean and spacious with extras like free WIFI, en-suite and minibar. The only problems are with the mattress (rock hard), pillows (too big) and paper thin walls (I could hear everything that was happening in the next room). The downstairs of the hotel is very nice. There is a non-smoking restaurant (unusual for this area of the Czech Republic) which serves very good local food. I can especially recommend the steak with wild mushrooms...Delicious! The hotel displays a lot of memorabilia from the Franco-Prussian war and as such the walls are decorated with many swords and military uniforms which all add to the atmosphere. The prices for food and drink are very reasonable for the high quality of both. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilW403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Our stay at hotel Jicin was such a pleasure! Very nice staff, very nice rooms, free WiFi and the best food you'll ever put in your mouth. It is cheap and the breakfast buffet is unbelievable. I would highly recommend this place to anyone travelling to Jicin and cesky raj.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NadiaInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the start of a walking trip in Bohemian Paradise. All the meals were of excellent quality, especially the breakfast and in nice surroundings. Rooms clean and comfortable. WiFi worked without any problems. Staff helpful. Highly recommendable

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanjohno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napoli
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

I usually stay at this hotel for business, one of our subsidiaries is located nearby. The hotel is confortable and clean, polite personnel, food is good, beer fantastic. I also love the towerbell ringing every quarter. This is the only thing that could not meet all people favour. It's located in central position, close to bus stop. I'd personally suggest a stay here if you are planning a trip in Bohemian paradise

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioNaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arrowtown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here for one night before starting our Walking tour of Bohemia. The room was spacious, clean and had a modern bathroom -a big plus. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is situated about 5 minutes walk from the bus station. We ate in the restaurant both for lunch on arrival and in the evening and were pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meals. Wifi is free.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiwitravellers9351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel was booked through a local tour operator that made the arrangements for our walking holiday in Bohemia. It is conveniently located in the heart of Jicin, and walkable from the bus and train station. The hotel is cozy, large rooms, professional desk staff and clean. The restaurant is very nice with regional decorations and outside covered patio. There are nonsmoking rooms and the restaurant is nonsmoking. Both dinner and breakfast were good.The beds are comfortable with good pillows. We had a corner room overlooking two streets and thought it might be noisy. But it was not, the town is quiet after dark. There is free WiFi in the rooms. No elevator. Jicin is a good base for walks in the nearby rock city, easily reached by bus.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jicin hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Hotel Praha
Grand Hotel Praha
#2 of 3 in Jicin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.5 mi away
Parkhotel Skalni mesto
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pariz
Hotel Pariz
#3 of 3 in Jicin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel U krale
Hotel U krale
#1 of 15 in Jicin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Penzion Lucie
#6 of 15 in Jicin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Motel Charlie
Motel Charlie
#5 of 15 in Jicin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jicin, s.r.o.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jicin, s.r.o.

Property: Hotel Jicin, s.r.o.
Address: Havlichkova 21, Jicin 506 01, Czech Republic
Location: Czech Republic > Bohemia > Hradec Kralove Region > Jicin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Jicin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jicin, s.r.o. 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Jicin *** and Restaurant "U delove koule" (transl. "In Cannon ball") lies directly in the historical center of Jicin, near Wallenstein Square. The building has 12 modern double rooms and 4 suites with shower, toilet, SAT, minibar, telephone and wireless connection. Hotel has a self-lockable parking, but no wheelchair entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Jicin, s.r.o. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing