We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven on a cliff top!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brufut
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is what you call a boutique hotel, truely awesome! We did not have the pleasure of staying at this chic hotel, but had the pleasure of eating here on two occasions on my recent trip to the Gambia. If the restaurant/bar and the surrounding grounds/pool area are anything to go by, then you can bet the rooms will not disappoint you. Each room has a balcony which over looks the atlantic ocean,words fail me here, you have GOT to see it to believe it! The large pool has the X factor! it changes from blue to pink to green to blue wow wow wow!! As you sit in the romantic restaurant and watch the pool change colour in the beautiful surrounds and the sun going down over the atlantic ocean, you are in heaven! The lovely Austrian owners Nina and Alois are as humble as the gambians themselves, their welcome to their guests is warm, friendly and truely genuine. The food was......ooh la la! simply divine! fresh, tasty, cooked to perfection and presented in a first class manner, hats off to the chef! the waiter Suleman and bar lady Kanie ensure you get first class service, friendly warm helpful and attentive.There is a saying...."we were never strangers, just good friends who never met before" thats the feeling we were left with, and oh yes we would return, but for breakfast as well overlooking the pool and atlantic ocean from our suite on the cliff top! This is the only boutique hotel in the Gambia and we wish Nina,Alois and their wonderful staff every success for the future. Thank you for two unforgetable nights of fine cuisine, fine wine and very fine company.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bollygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina1973_1, Inhaber at Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Dear bollygal,
thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your dinners at Leo's Restaurant. Hope to see you soon in The Gambia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 131 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hospitality at its best!

Without the shadow of a doubt this is The Gambias finest boutique hotel!
Autrian born owners Nina and Alois have created an oasis of beauty and tasteful design paired with impeccable personalised service. The location of the hotel is unbeatable. From any of the beautifully designed rooms you have stunning views over the hotel's pool, gardens and towarsds the endless Atlantic ocean.

Already this makes the hotel a must to visit when in the Gambia. But it is the personal care and attention of Nina and Alois to every single guest that makes this place even more special. From the very first minute you feel like staying at a friend`s home, but they will also always make sure that you receive thr professional and personalised service from their well trained staff.

Especially Suleiman at the restaurant was always very entertaning but also very discrete. Exactly what you would expect at a place like this. The food was, without any excemption great! Fresh fish, african spices and some mediterranen dishes. All beautifully presented.

I am personally working as a manager in a 5 star hotel and therefore know how much effort it takes to meet and exceed your guests' expectations on a daily basis. Always keeping in mind all those little details that make your stay special. Nina and Alois are doing a great job here. From the bottom of my heart I thank them for a wonderful time and wish them all he best for the future!

If I go back to the Gambia, Leos will definetely be my first choice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stefan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina1973_1, Inhaber at Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Dear Stefan,
we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Leo's. Thank you very much for your review, we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

The terms boutique,hidden gem and romantic getaway are all overused but they certainly apply here.
Just opened at the start of the year this is a 6 bedroom hotel and restaurant in Brufut on cliffs overlooking the ocean.
Run by a lovely Austrian couple with great attention to detail and personal service this hotel makes a great place to escape the tourist excesses of Gambia for a few days.
The rooms are spacious with top class fixtures, a bathroom to die for and a private balcony with views over the pool, gardens and sea. They are very well equipped with tv, sound system, safe, fridge etc and a very comfortable bed.
The bar/restaurant is open all day. Continental breakfast is included in the room price and was of the highest quality , although many of the items normally associated with a continental breakfast ( cheese,croissant,yogurt) were charged as extra along with the hot items. A hotel of this calibre charging these prices should really include all breakfast items in the price.
There is a nice selection of light meals at lunch and an excellent dinner is served, beautifully cooked and presented. If you were staying more than a few days the short menu might be a bit restricting but this is VERY good food
There is a large pool, plenty of sunbeds and seating areas, lovely gardens and a private path leading to a very quiet beach.
For somewhere that has given such thought and attention to detail it was weird that there were no tables for books, drinks etc by the sunbeds.
Overall I would rate this hotel very highly.....it is more private and personal than places like Coco Ocean and, while not cheap, I felt it was fair value. Give it a try.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leicesterbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina1973_1, Inhaber at Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear Bob, thank you very much for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Leo's. Of course we will seize your suggestions to improve our services.
We hope to see you again at Leo's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have spent new year eve at Leo's, right on time for the hotel opening. This place is exquisite. Calm, modern, comfortable, excellent services, clean, delicious diner. Nina and Alois can be proud of their creation, far from the crowded sites.
This new boutique hotel is a very nice nest in Banjul, for whom is looking for a relaxing getaway in Gambia.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Julesgoesaround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina1973_1, Inhaber at Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, thank you so much for your review. Hope to see you again at Leo's.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: alle kamers zijn goed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martineY7469NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina_Leos, Inhaber at Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
Thank franzm72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina_Leos, Inhaber at Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2016, traveled with family
Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nina_Leos, Inhaber at Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brufut
2.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 16 in Serekunda
1,261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
2.8 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#3 of 16 in Serekunda
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kololi Beach Resort
Kololi Beach Resort
#2 of 9 in Kololi
159 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kombo Beach Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ocean Villa Heights
Ocean Villa Heights
#3 of 4 in Brufut
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant

Address: 46 Brufut Heights, Brufut, Gambia
Location: Gambia > West Coast Division > Brufut
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Brufut
Price Range: $129 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant is a newly built Boutique Hotel directly at the wonderful tranquil beach of Brufut. Modern design and excellent service in a fantastic African landscape. High standard and soothing quiet in a modern ambiance with African accents guarantee that you can spend a relaxing and inspiring time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant Gambia/Brufut

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing