We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Kewarra”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milwaukee WI
1 review
“Perfect Kewarra”
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Our stay at the Kewarra Beach Resort was just perfect! We were there in early March, 2007. The weather was perfect, very warm.
We were treated extremely well by the entire staff. They are all very professional and we felt very "at home" at this resort.
One key staff person was Karen Robertshore, who was from England. She worked at the Front Desk at the resort. She helped us schedule our tour of Green Island, and she saved us money. We had a coupon for the tour, but she said we could not use the coupon if we booked it thru her, so she let us use the Front Desk phone to arrange the tour ourselves. Instead of paying for the transfer to the pick up location in Cairns, Karen offered us free transportation to Cairns, offered to all guests of the Kewarra Resort. She was a great help to us, and she saved us money.
Michael of the Front Desk was also a big help to us, along with all of the drivers of the courtesy shuttle and all of the waitresses in the restaurant. The entire staff did an excellent job.
We will definitely be returning to the Kewarra Beach Resort. Hopefully in the very near future!

  • Liked — The jungle atmosphere and closeness to the beach.
  • Disliked — A lifeguard was not at the Kewarra beach Monday thru Friday.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wombat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    259
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
193
707
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antibes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2007

The resort is really nice offering both rainforest and beach attraction. The rooms are extremely clean (we were a bit afraid of animals/insects possibly coming in the room but protection was very effective).
The pools are great - we could not really enjoy the beach because of the jelly fish - but we had a swim in the netted area and we swam at Green Island.
The food is excellent and the menu changes every day. Although a bit expensive for a daily meal, we recommend the basket option to eat on the moud's veranda.
The staff is very friendly in all occasions. We strongly suggest you attend the walk with Wayne to discover the property gardens as this is an educational experience.

  • Liked — pools, food, gardens
  • Disliked — noisy air conditioning
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JPG06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

We stayed in this beautiful resort for only 2 nights on the way back from a holiday in Guam. We chose this resort from Tripadvisor website and it was everything that was expected. This was probably the most beautiful rooms and grounds of any resort we have ever stayed in. On arrival at 2AM it was absolutley pouring and we were generously upgraded to the Bauhinia suites which were spacious and very tastefully decorated. If you do not like animals and nature-do not stay here. We had green tree frogs jumping into our room as we were tring to get our bags and everything in. We had to catch them and put them outside with the other billion frogs that were croaking and calling as loudly as they could!! There were turtles in the streams that were under walkways between rooms and the local goannas came daily to be fed by staff much to the amazement of overseas visitors. The birdlife was abundant as were the fish in the creek which you could feed with the bread the staff leave out on a daily basis. Staff were amazing and so helpful and nothing was a problem for them. The only downside was the food was a little pricey, but very nice!! Would definitely stay there again

  • Liked — friendly helpful staff and the beautiful natural setting
  • Disliked — food a lille pricey.
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellycorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2007

After a hectic week in Sydney, we arrived in Cairns airport to be met by Geoff, the most friendly transfer to a resort anyone could wish for. We were upgraded to a Panadus Bungalow overlooking the lagoon, which was pretty, perfectly clean, and spacious. The quick tour around the property on arrival made sure we knew where everything was. The beach is beautifull, u can swim even in stinger season as there is a net & its patrolled by lifeguards. Both pools are great, offering privacy & escapism. The restaurant is'nt cheap, but its a fantastic standard, u get what you pay for! Service is excellent throughout, its not stuffy like some carribbean resorts, very secluded, more than 3 people on the beach & its crowded! We were treated to a special dinner as I'd let the hotel know it was our 10th wedding anniversary while we were staying. They could'nt do enough for us. The lady in the tours office booked us an excellent trip to the reef too, she really knows her stuff. People on this site have complained about no towels at the pool, but there's a phone right next to the towel box, if u called the number, they brought you clean towels straight away! You just had to let them know of anything & they sorted it straight away. Nothing was too much trouble. If you want complete luxuary without the pretentiouness of the carribbean go to Kewarra Beach!

  • Liked — the luxuary and the staff
  • Disliked — a little cut off from other resorts
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank shaky1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

We stayed for 4 nights in one of the mouds on the beach. The setting, facilities, restaurant & staff were excellent. As promised there was a free shuttle bus from the airport and a welcome cocktail before a member of staff took us on a brief tour of the grounds and showed us to our 'moud'. This looked basic from the outside but was very comfortable inside. We had paid extra for the beach location but having toured the gardens I would probably be just as happy anywhere in the resort. Be sure to try some of the nature walks around the grounds. The main pool was the best I've ever experienced and if you really feel lazy you can use the poolside phone to summon food and drink - all served with a smile!
It was so relaxing that we didn't even bother to travel into Cairns but we did try a balloon trip over the Atherton Tablelands and visited Green Island to experience the Reef ( a local lady on the plane recommended this for those of us who aren't strong swimmers and she was spot on!)
A couple of words of warning though - there is nothing else nearby and the restaurant, whilst excellent, serves pretty rich food every evening, so no point in going if you like very plain food and late nights. Some have said that the restaurant is expensive but for us it was good value compared to a la carte in England. Be sure to book as the local residents use the restaurant too and it can get very busy. For something different take the local bus to the next resort -it's about 20 mins away but there are a few more places to eat & drink.
Oh and don't ask reception to post your postcards for you - I did and two were posted in Singapore & one in England and they all turned up weeks after our return - bizarre!

  • Liked — Great for really relaxing and enjoying great food.
  • Disliked — Promised wireless internet access wasn't working.
  • Tips/Secrets — Use the local buses as the resort bus goes at irregular hours to meet flights.
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

What can I say, we were picked up from the airport & were welcomed with a fruit cocktail drink on arrival. I had a beach front cabin which was amazing to wake up to every morning. There were also 2 hammocks by the beach where you could spend hours just watching the ocean........the food was amazing, the staff were extremely friendly & professional, the swimming pools were like nothing I'd ever seen before, totally in keeping with the resort, this is the place I would return to again & again for rest & recouperation. The wine list was to die for, what more can I say, this is the nicest place I have ever stayed........

  • Liked — The view of the beach & ocean, the comfortable bed, the powerful shower
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Be prepared that there is nothing to do but lie in the sun by day, & eat quality food & drink quality wine by night
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank CorkBunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2007

Wow! This place was a little bit of paradise. We spent 4 nights here over Christmas 2006 - the first time either of us have been away from home and our families at that time of year, and I can't think of many better places to have been.

The accommodation is straightforward enough with bath & shower room, mini bar, tv etc, although we were in the cheaper end of the accommodation so no doubt you can have more if you want it. The rooms are set amongst the rainforest literally a stone's throw from the beach - each has a lovely deck area where you can sit out and just lap up the surroundings.

There are two swimming pools, one of which on a split level with a waterfall. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant is very good with a wide selection of meals to suit most tastes.

We were in two minds as to whether to go to Cairns or not, but after this trip we'll definitely include it on our itinerary for future trips, with Kewarra Beach top of our list for accommodation

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank proudy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.2 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing