We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a tropical island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Am sitting on the deck of the beach bungalow looking through the palm trees out to the water. Its hard to believe that suburbia is right next door because it feels like a secluded tropical island.

The resort sits in lush surroundings with palm trees, paperbark trees& lagoons. It's just beautiful.

The restaurant & bar are great & it's lovely to feel right in the middle of a rainforest.

The beach bungalows are spacious & very comfortable. The only negative & it is very, very minor is that the bathroom is a bit dated.

But seriously I would wholeheartedly recommend Kewarra to anyone looking to escape the busy tourist towns of Cairns, Palm Cove& Port Douglas. Kewarra is only a short drive from all of them but feels worlds away when sitting in such quiet beautiful surroundings!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Minnamurra2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

Their website does not do it justice. Beautiful lush surroundings, scenic beach, close to other attractions, and great privacy in your individual bungalow. Very relaxing one week stay here. I recommend the rate including daily breakfast. Wish the pools had been a bit warmer but overall fantastic experience.

Stayed: August 2014
4  Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

After working in Cairns for a few days we decided to get away before our return to Perth,
Kewarra Beach resort was exactly what we needed. Peaceful, quiet, beautiful, reviving.
The staff were lovely and the restaurant/bar was just delightful. Food and drinks were delicious:)
Thank you.
Wendi and Shane

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank wendikPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

It has been there for many years and is right on Kewarra Beach. Location location. Grounds do need some spruicing up and cabins as well. Quite pricey for the level of accommodation supplied.
But............the staff - unbelievable - Terrence at breakfast thank-you.
Everybody could not do enough for you. They all went our of their way to make your stay very comfortable. The food in the restaurant is really good and value for money.
Overall apart from the price, i can see why it is popular for oversea tourists as it does get you back to nature.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We expected more luxurious rooms. They are a bit tired. Could do with a complete bathroom makeover and a coat of paint. Cracked tiles, plastic toilet seat a bit of a let down. However, stunning spot, gorgeous beach and very peaceful. Restaurant and service very good.

Room Tip: The beachfront bungalow was lovely. But it is right next to the public car park for the beach so can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank KayDavidFitchwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We paid extra for beachfront cabin, although didn't realise that also meant giving up a little privacy, too. Remember this is a public beach, not a private beach. The cabins, which are set back a little from the beach, are not totally private, though there are some palms and vegetation between the cabins. There are numerous cabins on the other (rainforest) side, set among palm gardens and safe swimming pools, which may be a better choice. It is still only a short walk to the beach. The staff were all very friendly, though the cabins themselves seem to be dated. A deeper bath (or spa?) would be a nice option. There is no other restaurant nearby, so travelling without a vehicle means relying on the Resort for all meals. This can be costly. The dinner menu offers exceptional quality, but surprisingly, the breakfast meals were very average. Dinner can be delivered to the cabin, for $10. charge. There is a public park on the beach beside the resort which has a playground, tables and free push button electric barbeques. Some guests were using these for meals, which is sensible, if you have the ingredients. There is a general store about half an hour walk away. All tour companies pick up from this location, which is well placed for both Daintree Rainforest and Great Barrier Reef tours. After the initial disappointment of not finding the seclusion we desired, we came to enjoy the Kewarra Resort, and would recommend the stay to others, furthermore, add, that the longer you stay, the better the benefit of this lovely environment.

Room Tip: 'rainforest' cabins may be more private than beachfront, and still good swimming opportuniti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our stay at this resort was truly magical. From arrival to departure we were so impressed with the whole experience
The meals were outstanding, our cabin so peaceful and comfortable with the added benefit of wallabies outside in our grounds.
The beach just amazing,for us it was pure relaxation that was required and Kewerra beach delivered.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Paradise Palms
Paradise Palms
#2 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.4 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range: $155 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing