We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Bliss”
Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent 4 wonderful nights here as part of our Australia honeymoon. Though it poured every day that we were there, the staff went out of their way to ensure we had the best experience. We arrived to an upgraded beach front bungalow with an ocean view. The room was spacious and we loved sitting on the porch listening to both the rain forest and the ocean. The restaurant food is delicious, the highlight for us was the pizza beach party our last night. We indulged in a couple's spa day and it was well worth the money. Kudos to Carolynne, Karlos, and staff for ensuring that we had the best stay possible. We plan on returning to see the reef and will definitely pick this resort as our first choice in the Cairns area!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank CEGlax717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    267
    53
    19
    7
See reviews for
199
721
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bondi, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Thank you to the lovely staff at Kewarra Beach Resort and Spa for making my 1st Mother's Day so special. The lunch at the restaurant was delicious - my favourite Table 52 location so far. The resort is stunning and location second to none.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Let me start with the good; the staff. They were very accommodating, eager to please, and professional. Also, the restaurant on site is tremendous, some of the best food we had on our 2.5 week vacation, although somewhat limited menu.

Now, unfortunately the bad; the rooms. My wife and I stayed 5 nights in a Pandamous Bungalow with one of their packages (Symphony of Nature) and the best way to describe the resort is an identity crisis. They're caught between trying to be an Eco-friendly rustic resort, or a small luxury boutique resort, and the combination is a bit awkward. They need to pick a direction and focus on it. We read several other negative reviews that specifically mentioned the beds and we ignored them in favor of the overwhelming positives. This is the first time the majority of TA steered us wrong.

Our room was advertised as having a king size bed, it had two twin beds pushed together, making large crack in the middle. Not very romantic, or comfortable, especially for my pregnant wife. Also, on our third night the toilet started running continuously. We brought it up with the front desk and they tried to fix it, but we went three nights with that issue. Finally, the Wifi was down for four days. While not a huge issue, we had picked hotels with wifi to keep in touch with our families. We were forced to buy a prepaid phone and some international minutes. The wifi wasn't a huge deal but it was an inconvenience when trying to look up restaurants or activities on rainy days (which we had three rain days). I have written the resort to request a partial credit, especially for the false advertising with the bed, but I haven't heard anything in 5 days. Not holding my breath.

I can honestly say that the best sleep we got was on the plane back to Sydney, which was unfortunate, because we really wanted to like this place. Our bungalow also had no traditional windows; there were screens and then wooden shutters, which don't keep out any sound. I know it's the rainforest, but everything sounds right on top of your bed, especially when the bats start fighting in the trees. The people that gave this 5/5 give them away too easily, and have never stayed at a place like "The Springs Resort and Spa at Arenal" in Costa Rica, which is what we compare all of our trips too. 5/5 is for the best of the best, and sadly for a $2400 package for two, Kewarra doesn't stack up.

Room Tip: Contact the resort and be sure your bed is actually the size they claim.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank spolcecsekr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra, General Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Spolcecsekr7,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on trip advisor.
We are very glad to hear that you appreciated the responsiveness and professionalism of our team, your review of our Paperbark restaurant was also very complementary and we are very glad you had a chance to experience some of the regions finest cooked produce in our open-air dining room over looking the Melaleuca forest.

I must say your comments regarding our resort as having a identity crisis is quite unusual. We have alway pitched our resort as a mix of "casual luxury" and a nature retreat. This is received very well in all of 97.5% of our Trip Advisor reviewers and to state that "Trip Advisor got this one wrong" is to contest the opinions of 650 previous guests.

Sadly you did not take us up on our offer of a room move and a complementary upgrade when you first came to us with the complaint of the plumbing issue. This issue was not found to be the toilet but an irrigation valve outside the building which took some days to locate and then isolate.
We apologise for the internet disruption however regional issue that we had no control over and will be happy to compensate you for the phone charges you incurred as a result.
In regards to the bedding complaint, you may not be aware, however an industry standard is to have twin single beds in a room that will either cater for a King sized arrangement or split for two separate beds. These are fastened together when a King bed is required and are used throughout the hotel industry worldwide.

We received your email with your request for compensation at 10pm on Saturday night, we wrote back to you the Wednesday morning first thing following my return from a business trip and an investigation into the points you raised.

Overall we really do appreciate your areas of praise and we fully understand and concede that we will never impress everyone, every time. Having said this, your comments will assist us look at ways we improve our overall standards and again we value the time you have taken to review our property.

With kind regards,
Mark...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lingfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Absolutely beautiful, We chose the Rose Gums wilderness escape package which i highly recommend. Everything went off without a hitch! We were greeted at the airport and taken to Kewarra beach resort where we were upgraded to a stunning Bauhinia Suite, very spacious and private we could not have been more excited! Honestly this place has it all from the very friendly and helpful staff to the clean and beautiful surrounds. There were 2 resort style pools which were just lovely. On the first night my husband surprised me with a beach front dinner which was absolute magic, located right on the beach with candles, wine and amazing food it was something i will never forget (I'm grinning just thinking about it) special mention to Eva who's warm and friendly nature made it all the more special. On day 2 we were picked up early and set off for a day at Michaelmas Cay with Ocean spirit cruises which i honestly could not fault, what an amazing experience, again everything was perfect! Then on day 3 i had a 2 hour massage at the spa and by this time i was completely blissed out! I could rave forever about this place but all i will say is that it was the best holiday i have ever had and being my 30th birthday you can see i was completely spoilt and loved every minute. One more thing Paper bark restaurant was so good also, i highly recommend the chocolate fondant ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nothingbutthetruth71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Family holiday just finished and it was great. Great staff, comfortable bungalow, nice pools and the beach a stones throw away. The breakfast is lovely - and the restaurant good. On the expensive side but well worth it. They had very good recommendations for fishing and snorkelling and organised our trips. Quick drive into Cairns for a night out and close to Palm Cove for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A wonderful destination not to be missed! The staff at Kewarra Beach Resort are amazing. Gianinna the lovely and efficient wedding coordinator made our wedding unforgettable and incredibly easy. All the staff were lovely and a pleasure to be around. The food was incredible and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were excellent and the grounds unbeatable. We cannot rave enough and could not have asked for a better wedding day and two night stay. Thank you to everyone at the resort, we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed beachfront, great spot for wallabies and gorgeous sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently enjoyed a lovely stay at the Kewarra Beach Resort in Cairns.....the bungalows were what you'd expect in a tropical setting, the staff smiling and accommodating, and the evening ambiance is romantic and exotic......great place to stay if you want to take a Barrier Reef snorkel or gondola ride through the rain forest....the pool is a beautiful, natural stone waterway, private and soothing. You're also a stone's throw from the beach.

Room Tip: Choosing a room in the "90's" or above takes you further from the main lobby, and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 11 in Palm Cove
561 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2.4 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing