We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cairns Beachside Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cairns Beachside Resort”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Family holiday just finished and it was great. Great staff, comfortable bungalow, nice pools and the beach a stones throw away. The breakfast is lovely - and the restaurant good. On the expensive side but well worth it. They had very good recommendations for fishing and snorkelling and organised our trips. Quick drive into Cairns for a night out and close to Palm Cove for dinner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    259
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
193
707
24
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

A wonderful destination not to be missed! The staff at Kewarra Beach Resort are amazing. Gianinna the lovely and efficient wedding coordinator made our wedding unforgettable and incredibly easy. All the staff were lovely and a pleasure to be around. The food was incredible and plentiful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were excellent and the grounds unbeatable. We cannot rave enough and could not have asked for a better wedding day and two night stay. Thank you to everyone at the resort, we will be back!

Room Tip: We stayed beachfront, great spot for wallabies and gorgeous sunrise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We recently enjoyed a lovely stay at the Kewarra Beach Resort in Cairns.....the bungalows were what you'd expect in a tropical setting, the staff smiling and accommodating, and the evening ambiance is romantic and exotic......great place to stay if you want to take a Barrier Reef snorkel or gondola ride through the rain forest....the pool is a beautiful, natural stone waterway, private and soothing. You're also a stone's throw from the beach.

Room Tip: Choosing a room in the "90's" or above takes you further from the main lobby, and more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Kewarra Beach Resort and Spa and we have nothing negative to say! Our room looked out on to the beautiful Kewarra beach, was spacious, clean and had all the basics including a room safe. The grounds are amazing - there is a "stinger" net out on the beach making ocean swimming possible during the stinger season, or 2 pools in the resort. The staff are beyond helpful - treated us like family! It was great to come back to the resort and see a friendly, smiling face... The staff helped us with early check-ins, late check-outs, booking tours etc. and made our stay very easy! The restaurant staff and bar staff are friendly and professional - I even got some tips on improving my German by one of the bar staff! We did get a massage at the Kewarra Spa and thought the massage therapists were great! The food was consistently of the highest quality and absolutely mouth-watering! As for transport and being out of town, most tours will arrange accommodation transfers for you. We used "sun palm" buses to commute from/to the airport/cairns city - costs $10/pp to get to airport and further $10/pp to cairns city (much cheaper than a taxi - and quick) or there is a local bus for under $5/pp however this takes around an hour.

We were very well taken care of at Kewarra Beach Resort and Spa and will definitely be returning in the future.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JCool89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We were on a tour and stayed 3 nights at this resort (Feb. 23 to 26)
The bungalows are very comfortable. Ours had a nice dressing room area but it was a little bit far from the pools and dining room, office area. When we came out to go to dinner, we saw lots of wallabys on our way to the dining room, very cool to see them so close.
We had 3 dinners there and 3 breakfasts, all very good.
If we had not been on a tour, it might have been a problem as the resort is a bit isolated from outside restaurants and things to do outside. I would suggest a rental car in that case.

Room Tip: If you have trouble walking ask for a bungalow nearer to the pool or dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

A tremendous, wonderful stay for seven nights at the end of March 2013. Highly recommended, hugely helpful staff and great food. Excellent grounds with lovely flora and fauna. If staying for more than a few days though rent a car (can be done cheaply through the hotel) to give more options for daytrips etc.
If the hotel got a couple of bikes to loan people that would be great ...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrPeteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartsdale, New York
Level Contributor
567 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I would just love to give this resort 5 stars but cannot. I loved being in our own bungalow in the rainforest, sitting on the porch taking in the views and sounds and watching a wallaby hop by.
That was just so amazing. You cannot beat this ambiance.
The staff was very nice and accomodating.

The problem: after dark there was barely any light in the room. The bathroom with its ants running around had the only sufficient lighting so when we had to pack up after a 3 night stay, we needed to bring our bags to the bathroom with ants running around to be able to see what we were doing - definitely not a pleasant experience.

The rooms also need refurbishing, especially the bathroom, and more amenities like a room safe, which should have been basic, but these issues were minor next to the poor lighting.

The problems should be addressed since this place has great potential.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shapgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kewarra, General Manager at Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear Shapgo,
Thank you for taking the time to review or resort from your stay earlier this year. I am thrilled to see that you had an enjoyable time and that you appreciated the ambience, tropical setting and genuine hospitality.
We just wanted to clarify that all of our rooms are fitted with safe facilities, yours was located in the wardrobe and the safe keys are all kept with in the reception team. Pleasingly since your last visit we have invested a lot of time and money into upgrading all of our in-room lighting into energy efficient white lights to assist lift the overall luminosity which should ease this challenge you were faced with.
It is only with valuable feedback such as yours that we are able to continue to lift our overall satisfaction among our guests and for this we are truly thankful.
Kind regards,

Mark Carrette...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.0 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.2 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.5 mi away
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
Peppers Beach Club & Spa
#4 of 12 in Palm Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing