We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to relax with excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Kewarra Beach report for 3 nights in October. From turning up to the hotel entrance to leaving, we received the most excellent service and had a wonderful stay. We stayed in a beachfront bungalow - virtually on the beach. The room was very clean and made up perfectly by the maid each day. Loved the food and bar (including the beach hut diner), and the staff faultless (including resort rangers). Three days of total relaxation!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lowe103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 1,151 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Kewarra Beach Resort $275 per night, includes breakfast and airport transfers.
Kewarra Beach Resort is an oasis in the rainforest. A wonderful place to relax with beautiful grounds. Gorgeous pools and lots of beach access. The bungalows line a winding lagoon and are tucked into the trees and palms. The bird calls in the mornings were a hoot—literally! Wildlife abounds—wallabies, birds, and lizards on the grounds made for some fun photos. A garden tour is available as were yoga classes. They seem a bit understaffed sometimes; there were two weddings while we were there and the restaurant could not accommodate dinners for guests for up to an hour and a half during the wedding receptions. The spa was booked up for the day I wanted a massage. I waited too long to book it. We were told at check-in on Wednesday to book a table for the pizza party held every Friday night on the beach which is open to locals. We had to make a reservation for 4:30 and they squeezed us in then because it was so booked up—we found out they were already fully booked for the next week as well. Very popular so book early. (As it turned out, the weather became iffy and when we went down for our early reservation we were told we could come back later because tables had opened up due to cancellations.) The Paperbark restaurant is an open air room that is just gorgeous. The food is yummy, some of the staff could have been a bit more attentive—definitely when they had events, but other times as well. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. Jane at reception was great. She helped us book a last minute snorkel trip and made several calls for us; she also checked on the spa for me. It is absolutely worth the trip, so lovely here.

Room Tip: Our room was assigned by the hotel. They all seemed pretty good. We had a deluxe bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camillekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband Steve and I were lucky enough to get married at Kewarra Beach Resort and Spa in April 2012 and as we have had a very busy year we are only just getting to write this review! We stayed at Kewarra for a total of 6 nights and most of our 30 or so guests also stayed there for a period over this time. We are based in Sydney and decided on Kewarra based on its private and beautiful location and it did not let us down when we arrived there!
We stayed in a cosy little beach front bungalow set amongst the tropical surroundings of the Cairns coast and immediately fell in love with the environment around us, including the amazing paper bark trees near the foyer!
In the months leading up to our wedding, we could not have asked for a more efficient and accommodating event co-coordinator in Giannina. She made sure that not only the lead up to our big day, but even on the day, despite the rain, our wedding was the most wonderful experience of our lives. Our guests and both myself and Steve were just so impressed with Giannina’s professionalism and that of all staff, particularly Damien and Rory, who ensured our every need was met and no request was too big or too small. The food at Kewarra was simply amazing – we both miss it so much! The chef was able to cater for any dietary requirements (this even included a grade 5 vegan, she wouldn’t eat anything that cast a shadow) and all food was just so fresh and beautifully prepared. All staff at Kewarra are extremely friendly and knowledgeable in their fields, from food, cocktails and tourism nothing was too hard (even organising a full size luxury tour bus, with only two hours notice)
Our wedding was by far the most amazing day of our lives – it was absolutely perfect. It was wonderful to also have spent the few days before and after our wedding at Kewarra, just relaxing with our guests and at all times we were looked after so well and could not have asked for more.
We were overwhelmed with the kindness and accommodating nature of all staff to both myself and my husband and our guests, particularly at such a special time in our lives. We would not hesitate in recommending this beautiful resort to anyone and will be back next year to celebrate our anniversary, and this time we will have a new little addition to bring along!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Although it is a few years since I went to this resort, I still remember it well. We were greeted at Cairns airport (still love seeing someone holding a sign with my name on it) and driven up the coast to the resort. It was the first stop on our 3 week honeymoon in Australia and the South Pacific and so we relaxed and enjoyed the facilities. Some days we were the only people on the beach and it seemed like we were alone on a desert island. The room was very comfortable and the restaurant was great. Just sitting around the pool reading was an experience with all the bird noises coming from the trees. We took an organised trip up to Cape Tribulation stopping at the now hidden Bouncing Stones beach and taking a boat along the river to see the mangroves - Daintree Mangrove Estuary Cruises. We went into Cairns for one day but were a little disappointed with it - very touristy.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welltravelled149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending a week at the resort. We were both in need of some serious relaxation, and Kewarra Beach Resort delivered. I can not fault the resort or the staff at all.

From the moment you step in to the lobby, a beautiful open air area, you know it's a special place. We opted to find the room ourselves, so we could have a wander around the resort, and we could feel the stress drifting away as we strolled around the rainforest like resort. Most of the bungalows are embedded into the bush, with a few positioned within meters of the beach. We had selected one of the beach bungalows, and it was great. Quiet, peaceful and with a nice little balcony to sit and enjoy a glass of wine at the end of your day.

The restaurant created some awesome meals, a little pricey, but worth it. The buffet breakfast in the morning is one of the best I've had in 20 odd years of traveling.

The resort is isolated from other hotels and the "touristy" vibe, which we liked. If you want some boutique shops or a change of food, Palm Cove is a short (40min) walk along the beach.

The water at the beach isn't clear sparkling water due to the sandbar and tides, but it is still refreshing. Don't let the look put you off.

We really loved the beach "Shak" that served drinks, wood fired pizzas and some good live music. Really cool touch, which seemed to be very popular with the locals.

We had a fantastic time here and would go back in a heartbeat. We thank all the staff for making this such an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Beach Bungalows are the best pic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koshogi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Beachfront bungalow a must! Private, relaxing, perfect location. Awake to birdsong every morning and the sounds of the bush and sea. The staff were fantastic right from the booking process, to arrival and departure (and all points in between). Restaurant food was awesome, the sommelier really knows his stuff. The location is great - you wouldn't know you are so close to a city!
Welcome iced gerbal tea on arrival while your bags are whisked to your room; a tour of the property explaining all facilities as you are taken to your room; provacy respected at all times. The Beach Shack (bar on the beach) does great cocktails for a late afternoon primer.
We left so relaxed and will definitely be back for the next unwind - only next time we will not have to leave during the day to do any tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PatriceN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

What a amazing resort. The atmosphere is amazing. The staff are so friendly and helpfull. The Food to die for! I had a amazing time. Would def reccomend to everyone.
The spa offered amazing treatments. Our cabin was right on the beach, so we had beach in front of us and rainforrest behind us. SPECTACULAR!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 393Cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
Paradise Palms
Paradise Palms
#2 of 2 in Kewarra Beach
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.4 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#7 of 8 in Palm Cove
357 reviews
1.0 mi away
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
Marlin Cove Holiday Resort
#1 of 1 in Trinity Beach
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range: $155 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing