We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful absolute beachfront resort! Highly recommend this uniquely idyllic place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A beautiful absolute beachfront resort! Highly recommend this uniquely idyllic place”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here last week in a Deluxe Pandanus Bungalow and just loved this resort. Loved the huge main pavilion with its bar, restaurant and decks, all open and airy. Great place for a drink - a cold beer, a chilled glass of wine, or a cocktail in comfortable lounges and chairs around the bar. We loved walking along the raincorest pathways to our lovely bungalow which was bigger than we expected and very tastefully appointed. The different swimming pools we used every afternoon after mornings spent relaxing on sun loungers right on a spectacular beach which the resort has as its own. Cool drinks of an afternoon from the Beach Shack didn't go astray either. To be able to walk along a lit rainforest path at night back to our bungalow and see wallabies in front of us, or brilliant electric blue butterflies in the days, will make you never wish for a sterile multi level hotel resort corridor ever again.
This place is unique. The staff are typical friendly helpful chatty Aussies and the location is perfect. We only ate in the restaurant for breakfast which was standard hotel fare as we ate out at restaurants in nearby Cairns and Palm Cove every night to experience something different each night.
This resort isn't brand new (it's 24 years old I think) but is very well maintained and like I said before, in a position that is hard to beat anywhere in the world.
My wife and I loved this resort and plan to go back again soon

Room Tip: We were in Bungalow # 70 which we recommend. The beachfront bungalows aren't that close to the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank City4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    768
    266
    51
    19
    7
See reviews for
197
717
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights for our 10th anniversaryI The service from start to end was exceptional! We couldn't fault the room at all. Very clean and in very good order. The pools are amazing and the beach was lovely. The resturant served beautiful food and the wait staff couldn't have been more attentive. If you want a little bit of luxury in the tropics, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the cabins are so far apart it and most are on the lake or beach front that any cabin is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurandakrafts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2012

The Kewarra Beach Hotel was the most fabulous/wonderful/amazing experience! We stayed there in January of 2011 for our honeymoon, and we were NOT disappointed! From the start, Michael and the employees of the hotel helped us with everything. From a surprise lunch excursion to their private island (Double Island) for my husband, to a day at the zoo where they introduced us to the keepers there (you can hold the koalas!!)...everything was amazing. I would not have made any changes to this trip. The rooms were beautiful. We stayed in a room with an ocean view. The pool was beautiful, although we did not spend much time there because we were busy enjoying Cairns. My only regret is that we did not stay there longer than 3 nights. If I could change anything, I would arrange our trip so we could stay a week. GORGEOUS!!

Room Tip: talk to Michael! He helped me plan the BEST surprise lunch for my new hubby!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christyp75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

This beach resort is quite nice. We stayed in one of the beachfront rooms. The room was very nice and quite comfortable. Clean with no bugs. The Wireless Internet worked perfectly. The staff is exceptional. I have rarely seen a more friendly and helpful group. The restaurant was a bit expensive, but it made up for it in quality and quantity. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilippSchuessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

There are a number of hotels and resorts in Cairns that resemble similar places that can be found anywhere else in the world. We were looking for a place that would allow us to experience the tropics but still give us a chance to escape to luxury and cool when we needed it.
Kewarra Resort is just such a place.
Only an easy 20 mins from Cairns city the resort is embedded in its own rainforest environment away from the throng of backpackers and high rises and has access to a private beach. The rooms are cool and clean and the staff are naturally friendly and attentive.
The main pool is one of the most beautiful we have seen and in January you can have it largely to yourself for parts of the day.
Make sure you try the Salt & Pepper Calamari entre at the restaurant as it has an exquisite blend of flavours that I am still savouring. The quality of the cuisine (breakfast and dinner), the friendliness of the staff and the way the restaurant is nestled amongst the rainforest paperbarks makes for a fantastic dining experience.
Without the (3) kids we stayed in a bungalow on the beach and recommend that to any readers. While I am sure the other room types would have been as clean and comfortable, the ability to look straight out to the beach from our balcony (and be sitting on it in no time) added that little bit of icing to the cake.
We stayed for 3 nights on a short break from Melbourne and would recommend Kewarra Resort to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We recently dined at Paperbark Restaurant at Kewarra Beach Resort and it was awesome. Fantastic service, amazing food and delightful ambiance. All round we score it 10/10 and will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We arrived very late (20 minute drive from Cairns airport $22 per person one way) and were checked in promply (only one person in the hotel that late) and led down a quiet path to our cabin. We set off early the next morning to explore the eco friendly tropical surroundings after a good breakfast served buffet style (nice hot & cold variety). We were definitely in a rainforest property with groomed pathways leading to the wide long beach and throughout the tropical property. We had heard that Australia had some of the deadliest animals on the planet and the northern territory was where most were found. This is true here...snakes, lizards (one resident lizard is a Monitor Lizard named George-sometimes wanders into the lobby & restaurant), crocodiles, fruit bats and spiders (wallabee's came out at night to graze - but that's a fun thing to see). Not to mention we were there during November which is Box Jellyfish season (May-Nov)......my worst fears. Not a fan of creatures but I was careful to watch where I walked and sat. The staff is wonderful (shout out to Carolynne-Boyd Yardley) and made us feel at ease and comforable. The resort is oceanfront with a heavenly day spa, Tai Chi on the beach, two pools (our favorite was Rock Pool - quiet and serene), complimentary internet, and they can arrange any tour or transportation you wish. The hotel is quiet with a relaxed atmosphere. The individual cabins are scattered throughout the property. Ours was spacious with a large bed, separate dressing area, shower/tub combo (small tub) in tiled bathroom, pine wood floors and cabinets, & rattan furnature. The cabin could have used an update but we were in a rain forest lodge so it seems appropriate accomodations for the surroundings. The property is well maintained as a whole. We had the most wonderful culinary experience in the restaurant at night.....fresh food with lots of local flavor and beautiful presentations.....we looked forward to it each night and were never disappointed....great chef!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#3 of 11 in Palm Cove
552 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2.2 mi away
Mantra Amphora
Mantra Amphora
#8 of 11 in Palm Cove
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing