We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For something different go to Kewerra Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For something different go to Kewerra Beach”
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We picked Kewerra Beach as our stay in Cairns for our honeymoon and we were not disappointed.
The resort is remote but the local bus leaves from just outside the entrance and you can walk to Palm Cove in about 40 mins along the beach.
The individual bungalows are lovely the bathrooms do need a bit of a revamp but everthing works and they are inoffensive.
The staff were helpfull and gave good service.
Our only criticism is the beach bar is only open 5 days a week and we were told (as it was closed on the days we stayed) that it served the same food as the bar which we thought was odd.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    267
    53
    19
    7
See reviews for
199
721
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caroline Springs, Victoria, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2011

I found this place a total joy, my idea of a "holiday" it was realxing, well decorated (not pretensious) and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. I wouldn't recommend this a place for children as it is really quite a retreat. It is 20 mins out of Cairns but i think that is what the beauty of it is, it is isolated and quiet. We stayed ina bach hut, while they are not overly fuirnished, it didn't bother me as i hadn't planned to spend my time in the room. We were unlucky to get a bot of rain, but all we did was hire a car (well the front desk did - we just got it deliver and left at the resort). The food is a bit exxy but you are on holidays so why the bloody hell not!! it is 5 start dinning and was beautiful, compliments to the kitchen. A receommendation is to have breakfast included in your package then you dont have to worry about it. But overall I love this place, and yes there are bugs and animals but you are in a rain forest and it is beautiful!!

Room Tip: pick the beach huts, nothing better than waking up looking at the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2011

would recomend kewarra beach resort any time not just honeymoon
Most helpfull are the employees that will help you for everything.
great stay

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

If you want to relax: Kewarra Beach is the place for it in Australia. The Gardens (rain forest), the bungalows and the beach are fantastic. The food is excellent and of high level. Most helpfull are the employees that will help you for everything. You want to organize a trip: They find exactly what fits best to you in the huge amount of offers! That's customized service!!

Room Tip: Rooms close to the beach are quiet and closer to the main buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.S.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Kewarra has some very nice features. The rain forest setting of the grounds distinguishes it from the run-of-the-mill hotels in the area. The fowls, birds, and wallabies that are regulars on the property add a charming touch. A pair of fowls were even hatching eggs in the clearing in front of our cabin when we stayed there! The lobby is well designed, airy, elegant, and comfortable, taking full advantage of its natural surroundings without getting too rustic. The staff is friendly and the welcoming hibiscus ice tea really delicious that I ended up ordering it for every meal.

The Timara Suite that we stayed at is in a basic cabin with very thin walls that has two bedrooms with a living room in the middle and a large veranda. While it is comfortable and clean, it is not the luxury setting that the price tag for the suite would suggest. One of the problems, and perhaps it is inevitable considering the rain forest environment, is that nature tends to intrude in unpleasant ways. The idea of lying on the comfortable sofa on the veranda using the free wi-fi to surf the Internet on the iPad seems really nice, until one is quickly driven inside by all the mosquitos and sometimes unexpected insects. Every evening, I inevitably had a battle with either a roach in the bathtub or ants crawling on the sink or the toilet seat, sometimes both. On two of the nights, something really heavy dropped on the cabin roof (coconuts?) in the middle of the night that had us bolting upright in fright. So, while the place was nice overall, I was perhaps too much of a city girl to fully relax there due to these various issues.

One thing to note is that the resort is pretty isolated. The nearest cluster of restaurants and shops are about two miles away, though the walk there along the beach is quite pleasant. Cabs need to be arranged beforehand. Otherwise, a rental car is probably desirable if you don't want to spend all your time at the resort.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drummingtosca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Fantastic food+excellent services+perfect location=superb holiday! Kewarra resort is really a lovely resort and will suit both couples and family with young children.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kwok_m_ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bargara, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Kewarra was perfect for us.
The location, the venue, the staff, the food - all wonderful.
We eloped and could not have chosen a better place - our dreams were met and expectations exceeded.
We will get there again some day.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AirlieLark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kewarra Beach
2.1 mi away
Alamanda Palm Cove by Lancemore
11.8 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, The Marina, Cairns
2.4 mi away
The Reef House Palm Cove - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
The Reef Retreat Palm Cove
#2 of 11 in Palm Cove
561 reviews
12.0 mi away
Pullman Reef Hotel Casino
2.4 mi away
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
Sarayi Boutique Hotel
#9 of 11 in Palm Cove
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa
Address: 80 Kewarra Street, Kewarra Beach, Queensland 4879, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Cairns Region > Kewarra Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kewarra Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 minutes from Cairns in picturesque tropical North Queensland set on 30 acres of lush landscaped rainforest gardens this private boutique beachfront property provides the ultimate Australian vacation experience. With a focus on environmental sensitivity, superb cuisine & world class service, while boasting extensive botanical gardens with detached secluded suites & spacious private bungalows it’s no surprise that this wonderfully romantic hideaway has become a firm favourite with honeymooners & nature lovers the world over. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kewarra Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kewarra Beach Hotel Kewarra Beach
Kewarra Beach Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing