We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
20
0
0
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
20
0
0
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chinese tea enjoyed our stay the owner rice terraces translator vinyl firefly walks hostel hike mountains guilin view village
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2018

I loved my two night stay at the wood house.What makes this place so special is the owner and his family who do their upmost to make you welcome and feel at home.With the aid of a phone translator, the owner shares traditional tea with you, while joking and sharing information and stories about the surrounding area. He took us with his dogs to nearby viewing points and also to view firefly larvae. And shared dinner with us like a good friend.
The house itself is a traditional wooden house with wonderful views.It is basic but has everything you need for a comfortable stay. Breakfast consisted of a boiled egg, pancake, and a bowl of congee and also a much needed cup of coffee. Chinese tea is of course free flowing.Inside is a piano and a vinyl record player.
It was not too difficult to find, it is between observation deck 2 and 1 and 2.5 km from the bus station.
When we returned to Guilin the owner booked our direct bus ticket for us. When we left we felt like we were leaving friends. If i was ever to return to the rice terraces I would return to the the Wood house and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room tip: Rooms overlooking the rice terrace
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hklove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

The house is really nice and you can enjoy your time at the mountains there. Great atmosphere at the house and the owner is a good host. He was very kind and friendly and showed us the special spots around the area.
Would definetly come back!

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank valeriealine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2018 via mobile

We only ate here so cannot speak for the rooms themselves. Our host was super friendly and went to great lengths to entertain my daughter with his very gentle and obedient husky. In retrospect, I wished we stayed here instead of our other hostel in tiantou village. The facilities appear better than our hostel in addition to better guidance regarding walks, etc. The food and service were also excellent. We had a lovely dinner here and would definitely come back in the future.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Emma D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2017 via mobile

We stayed there as a family of four (2 kids aged 9 and 12 years). The good things were that we got picked up after we couldn't find the place at first. Furthermore, the location is really beautiful.
But, we didn't get the rooms which we had booked in advance for no real reason but instead we got a special room with 'beds' for three (we were four) which we had to share, although all other rooms were free. One of the beds was no real bed but a wooden construction which was only hard and we were not really able to sleep on it. The food was terrible, for dinner and for breakfast (they just told us breakfast hadn't worked well and so we got something which just wasn't real food). They had almost no command of English.

All in all, this was our third year travelling to hostels like this one and it was the worst of all of these hostels. We definitely wouldn't recommend it.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank K3032MOthomase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2017 via mobile

Central location, beautiful view, comfortable rooms with personal bathrooms.

The owner is incredibly friendly, providing great food, service, and even going the extra mile taking us on a night time firefly tour.

A family staying there called it the 'best B&B for value in China'

Enjoy!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank F1757KTandrewf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews