We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and quaint”
Review of Li An Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Li An Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Charming and quaint”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is an amazingly beautiful rural area of China. The undulating rice paddies are unique and it is not to be missed. Having said that, don't expect to stay in a fancy 5 star hotel. It doesn't exist up here because everything has to be carried up by mule or person. Getting here alone is part of the experience. It is a 40 minute hike. This hotel is clean and we slept great, waking up to the rooster crowing and unbelievable scenery. The young women who work here greeted us when we arrived, giving us slippers and lots of welcoming smiles. We enjoyed a drink while watching the sunset, and they brought us freshly shelled peanuts, sesame cookies and homemade chocolates. They spoke excellent English. If you must have a 5 star hotel, don't spend the night in this village. But then you will miss this incredible place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolceduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    60
    21
    7
    4
See reviews for
76
168
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I didn't expect that this hotel would be so comfortable and clean as the town we went through. First of all you have to walk (the cars aren't admitted in the town) for about 25 min to finally arrive to the hotel. But you won't be disappointed.
The rooms are clean and the staff very friendly. You get your slippers in the hall:)
The breakfast isn't a buffet, but you will be good served by the staff and the very friendly Lin.
And don't worry about wifi access…the hotel has internet and ipads you can borrow for your stay.
The view you have from the balcony is unassailable. We really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteFunny_17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed two nights in the lodge. It was really very peaceful and a very nice lodge.
The staff is very friendly, they serve on the balcony superb Jasmine tea, ice chocolates and peanuts after an intense hike in the neighborhood. Also the children enjoyed it a lot! If you want to hike, get up early! Esp. to make sure the temperature is not too high.
The rooms are individual decorated with very nice traditional Chinese stuff. We enjoyed the beautiful sunrise from our room.
Breakfast was great as well!

Room Tip: Take the higher floor luxury rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed one night at the wonderful Li-An Lodge, which capped our four day stay in the Guilin region. The location of the lodge is absolutely wonderful, which a fantastic view over the mountains and the rice fields. Two of us reached the lodge after a five our walk from Dazhai, which provides again for stunning views and apart from the first and last part, a very quiet environment. Be in good physical condition though, certainly when making the walk in the summer heat. The Li-An Lodge is a small, peaceful and stylish building, great for a short stay over. The service is absolutely outstanding, with the waitresses doing everything to make you feel comfortable. The simple menu is very adequate with excellent Chinese food.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed with our 16 month old son and a good friend for 2 days in this very nice hotel. we really enjoyed it, not only because of the amazing view on the rice fields moreover also due to the very nice and friendly staff. Excellent welcome and even great breakfast and good dinner. Hiking in the area is amazing and arriving back in hotel where the staff pays a lot of attention to you (thanks again Cavanna for helping find a lost baby toy). The rooms are very clean and the interior is nice fitting with the area, the beds are also comfortable. I was even surprised to see that internet worked perfectly in this remote place. The pictures that the owner makes and that you can see throughout the hotel are really beautiful...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eveline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in Li'an Lodge. The best views in this village you get at your hotel or after a little hike of an hour. You can hike more but we preferred to stay an afternoon at the Lodge to have some spare time and look at the beautiful scenery. From restaurant and bar you cannot see the terrasses because the Windows are to small, but from the window of your room and from the benches outside you have the breathtaking views! We spend 2 weeks in China and here we found the best Chinese food in our trip. Probably more prepared to european tast. No bones with the meet etc...
We had the melody room on the top floor which was very romantic. I suggest to stay here two nights if you love some leisure time certainly if this is the end of your journey.
We were also lucky to see a rainbow directly above the fields.
The girls who serve you in the hotel are so innocent and friendly, it makes your stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huisman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Dragons Backbone Rice Terraces (longji titian), built over 650 years ago, are the picturesque surroundings of the Li-An Lodge. The lodge was built using only traditional Chinese pegs and grooves. The rooms are individually themed and very beautiful. The beds can be a bit hard, but the scenery makes up for it. Lin and Yang were perfect hosts looking after our needs very well. If you are in the Guilin area, you MUST go and stay in the Li-An Lodge!

Room Tip: The Celadon Room is the best room in the lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londonbears77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longsheng County hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Ji One Hotel
Long Ji One Hotel
#2 of 57 in Longsheng County
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baike Hotel
Baike Hotel
#1 of 57 in Longsheng County
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Longji Ping An Hotel
Longji Ping An Hotel
#6 of 57 in Longsheng County
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Longji Star-wish Resort
Longji Star-wish Resort
#3 of 57 in Longsheng County
114 reviews
0.1 mi away
Longji Holiday Hotel
Longji Holiday Hotel
#4 of 57 in Longsheng County
46 reviews
3.9 mi away
LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
#2 of 11 in Longsheng County
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Li An Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Li An Lodge

Property: Li An Lodge
Address: Ping'an Chun, Heping Xiang, Longsheng County 541701, China
Location: China > Guangxi > Longsheng County
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Longsheng County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Li An Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking magnificent Longsheng rice terraces, Li-An Lodge is a wood structure implementing Chinese building technique of tongue and groove without nails. The owner, Keren Su, renowned photographer, artist and adventurous world traveler, uses his impeccable artistic taste to design each room in a distinct theme featuring Chinese folk art and culture. There are guided hiking tours during the day and slide shows featuring Keren's photography at night. This is where Chinese tradition meets modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Li An Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Li An Hotel Longsheng County
Li An Longsheng County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing