We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spectacular Longji rice paddy terraces hike to the minority Ping'an village”

Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
Guilin Longji Rice Terraces and Ethnic Minority Village Day Tour
Palm Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“spectacular Longji rice paddy terraces hike to the minority Ping'an village”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Part of our tour was hiking to and staying overnight in an authentic wooden guesthouse of Ping'an where we enjoyed amazing views over thousands of Longji terraces This 2 day hike was part of our 8 days tour in the Guangzi Province . We also visited the ancient village of Xingping and rafted on the peaceful Li River. This adventure was part of our 8 day private tour of the Guangzi Province which started in Guilin where we picked up our brand new Giant mountain bikes with helmets. We hiked and cycled through the karst mountain ranges and many small picturesque villages to Yangshuo. Thanks to Easy Tour China we booked our' bike hike' adventure with ease and the cost too was easy on the pocket!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travelulrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    197
    47
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Incredible sight!”
Reviewed May 14, 2014 via mobile

Visited the Dragon's Backbone. Wowed by the splendour and majesty. Apparently best time to visit is in the autumn but it was pretty impressive in May. Didn't have a great deal of time so weren't able to do the hike other reviewers mentioned but it's still a great experience!

Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank jbelne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
82 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

This was a fantastic inclusion to our On the Go Tour itinerary and a must-see for anyone in or around the area. The scenery and views of the rice terraces are spectacular. It was a misty morning making the climb and walk not that tiring. On our guide's recommendation, we had a tasty homely lunch prepared and served at a family home/restaurant. This included locally grown tea, vegetables, onion omelette, pork & tofu, and an interesting dish of rice cooked in a bamboo shoot over an open fire. The only down-side was the disgustingly dirty toilet facilities at the carpark below.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jianina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not so impressive, guides are useless”
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We took the tour from Guilin with an "English Speaking" guide. We booked a small group (<7 people) with our own guide from Ming Palace Hostel but we got only a private bus with 8 people (+a nice but quiet driver). Later a guide who was actually with a large group of more than 15 joined us at Longsheng. The guide spoke not more than four sentences with us (small group). They were : "here is your bus", " this is the restaurant", "this is the entrance to the village", and "we meet at the bus again at 3:30". She went on the bus of the large group. We don't know if she explained anything to them.

Sometimes there was another guide. The second one could not say more than "Pandas" in proper English. Everything else was Chinglish and limited information about the Ju people who's women don't cut their hair and who made a ridiculous "long hair" show for us. This show is definitely a waste of time. However, I assume that it is one of the few opportunities to earn money for local people make.

After the long hair show we had a good lunch at one of the many local but rather large restaurants. After lunch our driver brought us to Longsheng for the rice terraces. Our guide didn't bother to show us around and preferred to play with her smartphone at the entrance of the village. So we explored it on our own.

1. try to get a map of Longsheng. There are many roads going to nowhere.
2. the rice terraces are maybe impressive if you have never seen proper rice terraces before ( e.g., in Indonesia). It is quite a hike to get from the entrance to the top of the hill. We had 2h time, which was enough for us to get to the top and back (used to hiking, proper hiking boots, no breaks.). A first foto-spot is reachable after 30min. The postcard spot is 1h further.
3. take the DIY tour. The guides are absolutely useless.

Helpful?
5 Thank Bernhard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
197 reviews
133 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Get some exercise in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I wasn't sure how my visit was going to be since I visited in April when the terraces are just beginning to be irrigated and they don't look the brilliant yellow I'd seen in photos. My concerns were unfounded. The terraces were beautiful and are probably beautiful in any season. I also appreciated the exercise and clean air. I asked my hotel to provide a driver to the airport who would first take me to the terraces. My driver spoke no english but that wasn't an issue. He had no problem driving from Yangshuo at 5:30 am and waiting for us at the carpark while we enjoyed one last full day in China. We arrived early (~8 am) which meant there were no tourists! Imagine going to China and having few tourists around - it was great! We hiked the steep path through Ping'an village and enjoyed seeing the homes and getting a peek into the lifestyles of the people who live on the Dragon's backbone. Very special place!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces also viewed

Longsheng County, Guangxi
Guangxi, China
 
Longsheng County, Guangxi
Yangshuo County, Guangxi
 

Been to Dragon's Backbone Rice Terraces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing