We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic in all aspects!”
Review of Baike Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baike Hotel
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Longsheng County
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fantastic in all aspects!”
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We had a wonderful stay, mainly due to the host Jason and his family. This place had the best customer service we've experienced at a hotel in China by a long way. A "must stay" place if you are visiting Longji.
Room: we had the panoramic room on 3rd floor and the view was fantastic, the room matches the pictures on the website (there's no airbrushing or "tricky" angles etc). The room was clean and did not have any "funny" smells. The bathroom is basic but clean and plenty of hot water, good water pressure. We did not use the air conditioner. There's a set top box similar to Apple TV in room and if you can read mandarin to operate it there's English TV shows and movies on demand for free, wifi was free in room and fast.
Restaurant: we had breakfast and 2 dinner, food was of good quality, quantity and flavoursome. The view from the restaurant balcony is the same as from our room.
Location: just before the steps leading up to Ping'An village so it's not very far from the car park, very quite. We walked to the viewing platform on the first day but gave up due to both the mist blooming the views and exhaustion. On the second day we walked to DazHai and the views were wonderful. Though sitting in the room looking out the windows is just as wonderful.
Services: Jason booked a shuttle bus for us from Guilin to the car park saving us hundreds of RMB in taxi fare, one family member came to pick us up from the bus and took us to the hotel ( no one else from our bus was meet by their hotel), Jason can also book taxi transfers. We've found that with Jason's help you can do this trip independently from Guilin without any Mandarin language skills.

Room Tip: Panorama room if it's available, you have to see the views for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BM L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Hi BM L,

Thank you so much for the good review!

We are so glad that you liked your stay at Baike Hotel!

And we look forward to your next stay again soon in near future.

Best regards,

Jason & the family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    40
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
79
90
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

After visiting the rice terraces early my husband, son (17), and I were ready for our next to the last lunch in China. As we walked down the steep hill back to the car park we glanced at many of the menus offered but didn't see quite what we wanted. When we stopped at the Baike Hotel we liked the menu displayed outside but it was Jason Gu's smile and grasp of english that made it an easy decision to eat here. Jason, it turns out, is the owner and a super friendly guy. Once inside he seated us on the back terrace overlooking the rice terraces. We would have been happy with a mediocre meal based on the view but....the food was excellent! Jason was happy to talk to us about China and America and especially the food. Definitely go here and ask to be seated on the balcony. Thanks Jason! I can only imagine how nice it would have been to stay at your hotel!

Room Tip: Only stopped here for lunch which was delicious. Ask to be seated on the back terrace for a great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Alison,

Thank you for the good review!

We are so happy to know that you enjoyed your lunch at Baike Hotel, if you had a chance visit us again, please stay with us! We promise your stay at Baike Hotel will be nothing like you ever experienced before.

Best regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We warmly recommend Jason's beautiful hotel. Stunning views, comfortable rooms with warmly kind stuff. Jason speaks fluently clear English, he is familiar with the surrounding area and is able to give clear and useful instructions to where to visit and how.

אנחנו ממליצים בחום על המלון של ג'יסון. נוף מדהים, מלון יפה ונח. ג'יסון דובר אנגלית רהוטה, מכיר היטב את
הסביבה, ממליץ ומסביר מצוין לאן לטייל ואיך
להגיע.

Recomendamos al hotel de jason tiene una buena vista y piezas muy comodas. El tiene un ingles muy alto,y les recomendara paseos por la zona.


我们推荐这家优秀的酒店。景色特别美丽,房间很方便的。 老板和服务的态度都很热情,他对那边地方和跟踪很熟悉,给我们参谋参谋怎么走路在附近,帮我们打算哪里去旅游。

Room Tip: Warmly recommend the panoramic view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tslilkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear Tsili,

Thank you for the good review! We are impressed that you could write it in 4 languages! We really appreciate it!

Please do not hesitaet to contact us when you wnat to do another Longji Terrace tour!

Best regards!

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We recently spent two nights at the Baike hotel with intentions of doing the hike on our second day. Unfortunately within a few hours of our arrival my husband tore his calf muscle and was in a lot of pain. We thus had to cancel the planned hike. Jason and his team (family) went out of their way to make sure we still enjoyed the Longji rice terraces experience! After finding some topical muscle sprays and a supporting boot to ease the pain, Jason then arranged for my husband to be carried up to the viewing point in the Ping'an village! Although initially embarrassed at the thought of being carried, Jason assured him that it was no trouble - he really wanted us to have the chance to enjoy the view and we were glad that we finally agreed. Stunning view; friendly, hospitable people and a truly unique experience.
Jason you have a great hotel and fantastic customer service - only good things can come your way. Your hotel truly deserves its great reviews and its inevitable success. As the name Bai Ke suggests - We are sure hundreds of guests will return! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChestnutTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi ChestnutTravel,

Thank you for your review! We really appreciate it!

Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Baike Hotel. We are glad that we could help you with your travel in the terraces.

We look forward to your next stay again soon!

Best regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We spent 2 nights here after a couple of nights in Guilin. This is a gorgeous region and our stay here and walk from Ping'an to Dazhai one of the real highlights of our visit to China.
Jason organised a pick up in Guilin - the trip takes about 3 hours. There is an entrance fee to pay when you enter Longsheng - 100RMB per person.
The drive up to Ping'an is very scenic and we were taken up to outside the hotel which was nice. The hotel is well located - near the beginning on the village so there is limited road access unlike the hotels higher up which you need to walk to with your bags or pay for the bags to be carried.
We met Jason who speaks very good English and is most efficient and helpful. He suggested a quick walk to one of the look out above the village that afternoon.
We had dinner at Baike that night (and the next night) - the food is fantastic - Jason's wife and mother-in-law are great cooks. The chicken in bamboo and rice in bamboo are a must - and the local vegetables including bamboo shoots were delicious. Breakfasts were also good - the apple pancake was my favourite and the local yoghurt is very good.
Our room had a spectacular view - it had two large window and a little balcony. The rooms are Chinese style and simple but comfortable and very clean.
The next day we did the 16km hike guided by Jason's father-in-law. We left at about 9-30am and got back about 4 or 4-30pm having had a one hour stop for lunch along the way. The hike is fantastic - a lot of up and down sections with amazing views. Not a really easy walk but not difficult. Jason arranged a car and driver to meet us at the end of the walk - it is a 40 minute drive back to Ping'an.
There is wifi in the hotel which works pretty well. Everyone is very friendly. I really recommend this hotel for a stay in this region. I suggest at least two nights - it is such a wonderful contrast to the cities in China.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Go55,

Thanks for the good review!

We are glad to know that you enjoyed everything at Baike Hotel.

We look forward to your next stay again soon!

Best regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We decided to visit the Longji rices terraces at the the last minute and were lucky enough to get a room at this small hotel. A couple of emails with Jason had transport and booking arranged, easily and efficiently.
The hotel is a surprise in its clever decor and design. Beds are comfortable, food was excellent. So was the coffee.
Jason takes time to give every visitor the experience that they want in Ping An, facilitating all arrangements in his excellent English. We enjoyed the walk to Longji,guided by Jason's mother in law, and the rice wine and tea in the traditional home there. The views as the mist lifted (mid April) were beautiful. You share PIng An with hoards of other tourists, but where Baike ( pronounced bike!) is located you would never know, and it is very convenient for the transport stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Deb&Jill,

Thank you for taking your time writing a good review for us!

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

And we look forward to your next stay again soon!

Best regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Baike hotel is an excellent place to stay if you want to enjoy the rice terraces. The rooms have a beautiful view on the terraces and the food is lovely! Jason and his wife have created a wonderful atmosphere with their rooms covered in wood and big big windows to enjoy the view. The food is lovely (bamboo rice and stir fried bamboo shoots recommended) and the coffee fabulous. The shower is a bit on-and-off, but the view from the loo is priceless!

Room Tip: Aks for a room with a view over the rice terraces. A great way to wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aafke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear aafke k,

Thank you for the good review!

We are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you want to do another Longji terrace tour.

Best regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longsheng County hotels
0.2 mi away
Long Ji One Hotel
Long Ji One Hotel
#2 of 62 in Longsheng County
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longji Star-wish Resort
Longji Star-wish Resort
#3 of 62 in Longsheng County
115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longji Holiday Hotel
Longji Holiday Hotel
#4 of 62 in Longsheng County
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Longji Silver Terraces Hotel
Longji Silver Terraces Hotel
#25 of 62 in Longsheng County
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
CTN Long ji Terraced Hotel
CTN Long ji Terraced Hotel
#27 of 62 in Longsheng County
3 reviews
4.0 mi away
LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
#2 of 11 in Longsheng County
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baike Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baike Hotel

Property: Baike Hotel
Address: Ping'an, Longji Rice Terraces, Longsheng County 541700, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Longsheng County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Longsheng County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baike Hotel is a local family-run hotel set up in 2013 for the purpose of providing good accommodation and guide service for both Westerners and Chinese. Our hotel is focused on you and your needs so you can experience the Rice Terraces at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Baike Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing