We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Baike Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Baike Hotel
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Longsheng County
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We decided to visit the Longji rices terraces at the the last minute and were lucky enough to get a room at this small hotel. A couple of emails with Jason had transport and booking arranged, easily and efficiently.
The hotel is a surprise in its clever decor and design. Beds are comfortable, food was excellent. So was the coffee.
Jason takes time to give every visitor the experience that they want in Ping An, facilitating all arrangements in his excellent English. We enjoyed the walk to Longji,guided by Jason's mother in law, and the rice wine and tea in the traditional home there. The views as the mist lifted (mid April) were beautiful. You share PIng An with hoards of other tourists, but where Baike ( pronounced bike!) is located you would never know, and it is very convenient for the transport stop.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Deb&Jill,

Thank you for taking your time writing a good review for us!

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

And we look forward to your next stay again soon!

Best regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    39
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
73
88
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The Baike hotel is an excellent place to stay if you want to enjoy the rice terraces. The rooms have a beautiful view on the terraces and the food is lovely! Jason and his wife have created a wonderful atmosphere with their rooms covered in wood and big big windows to enjoy the view. The food is lovely (bamboo rice and stir fried bamboo shoots recommended) and the coffee fabulous. The shower is a bit on-and-off, but the view from the loo is priceless!

Room Tip: Aks for a room with a view over the rice terraces. A great way to wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aafke k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear aafke k,

Thank you for the good review!

We are so delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us!

Please do not hesitate to contact us when you want to do another Longji terrace tour.

Best regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells
Level Contributor
90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Wow, what a view from the panoramic room. This is a new Lodge only one year old that a young couple designed. You will just love what they did inside truly a plus and with the view fabulous. The location is perfect as it is just a 5 min walk from the parking area. We only stayed one night and should of booked at least two nights. Jason the owner responded to our emails quickly and was so helpful with all our planning. His wife is a fabulous cook and each meal we ate there was so delicious. Try the Ginger tea I could not drink enough. Hahaha The room had two beds one very large one. The mattress was kind of soft so we slept ok and found out that the A/C is also a heater (well needed in March). The bathroom is two separate rooms and one even has a view at the toilet. We luckily came during low season so only a few tourist there. I really enjoyed hiking to the top but what a maze of eateries, lodges and a mass of souvenir stands you must pass. I noticed that most the other lodges view the village with partial views of the terraces but there are a few up higher with great views. This is a great place to stay a while at and enjoy hiking and just embrace the beauty here which words can not describe. Highly recommend Baikes.

Room Tip: Get the Panoramic View Room or the room just below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nblapaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear nblapaz,

Thank you so much for the good review!

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at Baike Hotel!

It is great to know that you liked the views from the room, and you also liked my wife's cooking.

We look forward to your next stay again soon!

Best regards,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We stayed at Baike Hotel as a family of four,occupying one of their family rooms. As we lived in China in the past three years, have seen the ups and downs of countryside accommodation options, and Baike definitely exceeded our expectations. Clean, authentically furnished rooms, and a superb location makes it a perfect base to explore the area.
The food is excellent (do not only stick to the famous and tasty bamboo rice, also try the wild bamboo shoots!), Jason and his family are flexible and ready to help you with any queries or needs you may have.
We of course did the tour to nearby Dazhai village, and were amazed with the views. Jason's mother-in-law even helped us to carry our 5 year old son when terrain was slippery or hard. We felt safe and in good hands with her.

Last but not least, if you do not speak Chinese, Jason does not only speak excellent English but also fully understands the sometimes different needs of western travelers, which is quite a rarity. I wholeheartedly recommend this place for anyone looking for a shorter or longer break from city life or just exploring.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zaqrack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear zaqrack,

Thank you so much for your good review!

We are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay here, and we really miss your children! They are so adorable!

I am glad to know that you liked our hotel as well as our services and we really look forward to your next stay in the future!

Sincerely yours,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

Unlike the other reviewers, we did not have a great experience getting to the hotel. When we reserved our room with Jason months in advance, he informed us that there would be a shuttle van from Guilin, one at 9 and another at 2, for only 50rmb. A few days before our arrival, we learned that there would be only the 9 van from Guilin. Jason was cavalier about the need for us to wake up early enough to catch the 9 shuttle (which would have meant that we would have to rise at 6). The other option was to spend a good part of a day taking several buses. We chose instead to hire a car from Yangshuo, an unexpected expense. The panorama room had a nice view of the terraces and a nice balcony. But the room is basic and had a water everywhere shower with wet floors from a leak somewhere - possibly from the base of the sink. Jason talked us into hiring a guide (as it turns out, his mother in law who spoke no English) so we would not get lost. She paced us fairly slowly and chatted with everyone she saw. But at a cost of 20rmb and her lunch, we were glad we had her along. The 10 mile hike to Dahzai was easier than I expected with incredible viewpoints along the way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Julia,

Thank you for your review!

I felt so sorry that I could not arrange this transport for you.

About the transport: there are usually 2 shuttle buses that we can arrange for people from Guilin, 1 at 9:00 and the other at 14:00, I know that it would be difficult for you to get up at 7:00 in the morning and get on a bus to Guilin, and then get on the 9:00 bus. I really wish that the 14:00 bus would have run that day.

But the only thing is that it is not an official bus, it is run by local people. And because they did not get enough tourist coming that day(only the 2 of you that day), so they did not think it worth going. I am not participating any of their business, and all I could do is call them as often as I could to get the details and information. Unluckily, the bus did not run that day.

I feel so sorry that this caused so much incovinence for you as well as the unexpected expenses for you, we felt so bad that there was nothing we could do. And we learnt our lesson, and we will tell our clients in the future that" we might be able to help you arranging this shuttle bus from Guilin" instead of "we can arrange this transportation from Guilin for you".

And I am sorry that our room did not meet your needs, we will keep your advice in mind.

Sorry again for all the incovinences, and we hope you could still choose us when you want to do another Longhi Rice Terrace tour.

Sincerely yours,

Jason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We arrived in Guilin airport and the owner of the hotel Jason picked us up from the airport for a 2 hour and 15 minute taxi ride. It was so nice to see a sign with our names once we arrived. Once you reach the road to the rice fields you had to pay a fee 80 yuan per person and we got the amazing views as we drove through the long and winding mountainous ride. Jason was a wonderful and careful driver. When we arrived at the road to his hotel his wife and wifes cousin carried our luggage to the hotel. We couldn't believe our eyes when we saw the spectacular view of the rice patties from our hotel room, we had windows on two sides and on the third side we had our own private terrace. What an experience. The next day we awoke early and took a four hour tour of the rice patties that was lead by Jason's mother in law showing us the way. She was wonderful and patient as we climbed the stairs of the rice fields . She was able to lead us through rice fields that typical tourist would not be able to go. If you come here it is a must to hire her as your local guide. She knew the places to stop for photo opportunities and served as our own personal photographer. This was one of the best experiences that I have had in
China, the air is clear and the rice patties were as scenic as anyone could imagine. We came at the end of March which was a perfect time because it was still a very cool as we hiked through the rice patties, the perfect temperature. I am glad that I did not miss this experience. Jason and his family were the perfect hosts. If you come to China don't miss this opportunity. It may be a little out of the way but it was definitely worth the trip.

Room Tip: Ask for the room that has the great big windows with the private terrace if you get the opportunity...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkjohns333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear tkjohns333,

Greetings from Baike Hotel! Thank you so much for the good review!

We are so glad that you chose to stay with us, we want your stay at Baike Hotel as enjoyable as possible, and I am glad you like our rooms as well as our services.

We look forward to your next stay at Baike Hotel soon!

Best regards,

Jason&the. Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This place was a perfect beginning to our trip, traveling alone as a mother with my 10 year old son I was a bit nervous, I chose this hotel because of the reviews and knowing it was a family owned business hoping to avoid feeling nervous. I was glad to see that Jason and his wife were there to pick us up from the airport for reasonable cost. This made me feel comfortable from the beginning. The is hotel is quaint, clean and has amazing views. The pictures don't do the views justice even more amazing in person. Really does feel like your staying with locals but at the same time with conveniences of a nice hotel. The hiking tour was led by his mother and law, and any other transportation we needed was provided by a family member again at great cost. So you know you are in good hands from start to finish. My son and I loved staying here and would definitely recommend 100%!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffanymkr1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-BaikeHotel, Owner at Baike Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Tiffany and Storm, Thank you so much for the good review! It was very thoughtful of you to tell us that we should hold a sign at the airport with your son's name on it, you told us that this trip is for him! We were so touched!

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our service!

We definitely look forward to your next stay!

Best regards,

Jason & the Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longsheng County hotels
0.2 mi away
Long Ji One Hotel
Long Ji One Hotel
#2 of 57 in Longsheng County
174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Longji Star-wish Resort
Longji Star-wish Resort
#3 of 57 in Longsheng County
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longji Holiday Hotel
Longji Holiday Hotel
#4 of 57 in Longsheng County
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Longji Ping An Hotel
Longji Ping An Hotel
#6 of 57 in Longsheng County
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Liqing Hotel
Liqing Hotel
#7 of 57 in Longsheng County
55 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yunzhihui Muquan Boutique Wellness Hotel
Yunzhihui Muquan Boutique Wellne...
#5 of 57 in Longsheng County
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baike Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baike Hotel

Property: Baike Hotel
Address: Ping'an, Longji Rice Terraces, Longsheng County 541700, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Guangxi > Longsheng County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Longsheng County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baike Hotel is a local family-run hotel set up in 2013 for the purpose of providing good accommodation and guide service for both Westerners and Chinese. Our hotel is focused on you and your needs so you can experience the Rice Terraces at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Baike Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing