We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good venue, good value,”
Review of Lvyuan Cafe

Lvyuan Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Lancashire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good venue, good value,”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Restaurant in Ping'An village with a range of great dishes and the menu in english. The owner/chef speaks good english and is unfailingly friendly and helpful. Ate here both nights that we stayed in the village, and highly recommend it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Woody4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    29
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
128 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“the best food in a small village”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

remember everything has to be carried up by foot, so the quality and variety of food at this restaurant is extraordinary
we ate here three times in three days, and tried chinese as well as western dishes.
staff are very friendly and welcoming

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank neilalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really good, interesting food. Best in the area.”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Everyone recommended Green Garden to us when we were visiting the village and we ate there 3 times in 2 days. They do Chinese and Western food very well. The pizzas are small by Western standards, but delicious, and the Chinese food is really good. I would recommend the bamboo rice, which is a traditional meal in the area, where rice, meat and some veg are cooked inside a bamboo tube, which is then cracked open at your table to reveal delicious sticky rice. I don't think there was anything we didn't like!

The two people who run and cook in the restaurant are very welcoming, and speak English very well. The balcony table looks out onto the village and offers a great view in the day and night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Well cooked food”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This cafe became our home base for a couple of days. Great cooking and friendly service. Delicious coffee

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank 614896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Best Coffee, Best Restaurant and Best Host in PingAn Village”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Danny was the ultimate host, cook, and barista in PingAn Village. On the way up to Seven Stars and Moon, we stopped in one morning and then ended up eating many of our meals here while visiting the area. Danny who speaks great english is as helpful and personable as you can get. We went there for breakfast our first morning as a big rain storm started and end up staying almost 5-hours just passing the time in conversation and enjoying the wonderful views of the rain coming down on his deck..... Then we ordered lunch! Danny also was managing a newer hotel next door and if we were coming again I would stay there!

Also don't pass up the Banana Pancakes and definitely get his wonderful coffee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GREAPHOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lvyuan Cafe also viewed

Longsheng County, Guangxi
Longsheng County, Guangxi
 
Longsheng County, Guangxi
 

Been to Lvyuan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing