We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Coffee, Best Restaurant and Best Host in PingAn Village”
Review of Lvyuan Cafe

Lvyuan Cafe
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
“Best Coffee, Best Restaurant and Best Host in PingAn Village”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Danny was the ultimate host, cook, and barista in PingAn Village. On the way up to Seven Stars and Moon, we stopped in one morning and then ended up eating many of our meals here while visiting the area. Danny who speaks great english is as helpful and personable as you can get. We went there for breakfast our first morning as a big rain storm started and end up staying almost 5-hours just passing the time in conversation and enjoying the wonderful views of the rain coming down on his deck..... Then we ordered lunch! Danny also was managing a newer hotel next door and if we were coming again I would stay there!

Also don't pass up the Banana Pancakes and definitely get his wonderful coffee!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GREAPHOTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    30
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“A hidden gem of a restaurant”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Difficult to find, but it's worth the effort. We had heard about this place and spent around 30 min walking around to find it. Extremely friendly welcome from the restaurant and hotel owner and his wife followed up by some of the best Chinese food we've had in a long time in China. Very tasty, and very high quality ingredients. We came back the day after for seconds. Great balcony with a good view and most importantly they served GT's, which was in high demand!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesper S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in China!!”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We came here after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor (and after a bad dinner at our hotel the previous night) and we were not disappointed. Although we were the only guests, we had to wait a long time. This turned out to be the only minor, because the food was outstanding! We had the springrolls (delicious), sweet and sour beef (even more delicious) and the curry beef (perfect). Definitely eat here when you are in town!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Avanandel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely food and incredibly welcoming hosts”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We had a fabulous meal at the Green Garden having been told about the place by our tour guide. The proprietor - Danny Liane - could not have done more to make us feel welcome.

The food was great. I had a spicy beef curry with local sticky rice which is cooked and served in a hollowed out bamboo stem. The spring rolls we had were nothing like similar dishes elsewhere - they were really flavoursome and were presented as loose parcels full of succulent veg.

I tried a Chinese red wine - somewhat risky I know - but actually it was highly drinkable. We finished with delicious toffee banana which we dipped in water to harden the sugar coating before eating. It was lovely.

All in all a pretty much perfect experience and I have no hesitation in allocating full marks for a perfect fusion of tasty food, excellent service and a fabulous location.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Warm friendly dining experience with great food too!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our guide suggested we try this restaurant and she was right on. We really enjoyed this restaurant! The owner and his wife were very friendly and welcoming. The ambiance is lovely and the view is nice too! I love the way Chinese restaurants have a selection of Belgium beers too! They are expensive but after traveling for a bit and drinking the local beers, a splurge beer seems like a welcome luxury here and there! Oh - and the food was great too! I love the way the restaurants in Longsheng do not cook with a ton of oil too :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank intlarrivals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lvyuan Cafe also viewed

Longsheng County, Guangxi
Longsheng County, Guangxi
 
Longsheng County, Guangxi
 

Been to Lvyuan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing