We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stunning Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is located in tiantou village which is a 30min uphill hike from the village of Dazhai. Being higher up means that it has fantastic views of the best rice terraces in China. This is a wooden building in a remote village so it is not a luxury Hong Kong hotel. The room facilities are therefore fairly basic and supplies are brought in by foot or pony. You get a lockable room with en-suite, toilet and basic shower. The hotel have done a very good job with the simple provision; the staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms have free wi-fi and television. The rooms are clean and the dining room has fantastic views of the rice terraces. There is a good selection of food available at a high standard and a good price. The owners Jimmy and Hannah are very helpful, speak good English and own a travel service that can arrange trips, transport and accommodation around Guangxi(Yangshuo, rice terraces and Sanjiang). The attractions nearby are walks such as Pingan (a nearby village) back to the hotel which is a really amazing 4hr walk and the JinKeng Cable Car. When you arrive at Dazhai parking lot, there will probably be locals willing to carry your bags up to the hotel for a small fee. I recommend using these even if you can carry your own luggage as the porters are very helpful and will show you the way. You will enjoy the walk more and they will appreciate the extra income. We strongly recommend this hotel for its stunning location, clean rooms and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the rice terraces
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chriodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    23
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
29
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
123 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and Jimmy the owner kindly arranged minibus service for us from Guilin and made sure we knew how much entrance to the area cost and how much lady porters charged. Hotel itself is very typical of those in the area, quite basic wooden hostel but with the advantage of heated under blankets, which is a necessity as beds get moist from very high humidity, also hot water, towels not great they repel rather than absorb water! We ate at the YHA down the road which has an excellent cook.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank AntoniaRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guilin g, Owner at LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Robinson,this is jimmy.thank you for your review our inn and give our some suggest,so we can try our best to improve our inn's condition much better.And say sorry again to you ,my wife Hannah and i ,we just have a baby,today are 97days,right now we still have to take care the baby at home,and sorry again we were unable to meet you in our inn.For my cousin english are not very good,i think they couldn't teach you how to use the hot water is correct.These we do not good enough,we will try to improve it.Thank you for your support again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We emailed Jimmy at the inn with many questions and he was very helpful. He organised a mini bus for our group of 6 from Guilin to Dazhai. The inn was 45 minute walk from where we were dropped off. There are 3 viewing areas from the inn:
1. 40 minute walk one-way towards Ping'An.
2. 20 minute walk one-way behind the inn.
3. 90 minute walk one-way to top of cable car.
The cable car ride is easy but also quite expensive. One-way ticket 70rmb; return ticket 120rmb. We wanted to do the hike 4 hrs to Ping'An but conditions made the track wet and slippery. We were glad we took warm clothing. We enjoyed our overnight stay in the mountains-the terraces were just turning green and filling with water. If you can be flexible, it's best to go when the weather is clear for spectacular views.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

It was absolutely great stay! Hannah, hotel manager, is really helpful. The was no trouble in contacting her about room prices and transfer. If you need to go to Dazhai from Guilin, just write her a message, and a minivan will pick you up. The only trouble can be with finding the hotel since it is located in Tiantou village and you have to walk there for about 30 minutes from the place the minivan stops. But Hannah arranged that as well, and a boy from the hotel met us and showed the way.

Views from the hotel are just breathtaking! It's definitely worth going up to the hill to stay in this magic place! The room was humble but very clean, warm and cosy. You can dine at the hotel since meal is really tasty and affordable. Generally speaking, it was best experience in China!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anastasia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Tian Ranju is everything a hostel should be. Highly recommended!

This is definitely the best place that my husband and I (late 20s & experienced backpackers) stayed in all our travels in China (lived in Shanghai for 4 months and took two major backpacking trips). The hostel itself is located in Tiantou Village, about a 45 minute walk up from where the bus drops you off in Dazhai Village. The owners, Jimmy and Hannah are extremely friendly and helpful, and organized our transport via shared van to and from Guilin. Our room (double) and the common area both had a great view of the rice terraces. The common area is cozy and inviting. Jimmy's aunts do the cooking, and the food is good as well. Another huge benefit is just the location in Tiantou - truly a local feel, farther away from the more touristy areas of Ping'An (highly touristy) and Dazhai (much less touristy, but still less local-feeling than Tiantou). Do the hike to Ping'An - you will not regret it!

I highly, highly recommend Tian Ranju. Overall a fabulous experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in tian ranju inn for one night in December. Jimmy the owner had arranged for a transfer from Guilin and also arranged for a transfer back to Guilin airport for us the next day. The hike up to the inn should not be underestimated and I was very glad to have given my backpack to a local woman to carry!

The inn has an amazing view of the surrounding area. Our room had a cosy cabin feel with a double bed, electric blanket & hot shower.

We had omelettes & stir fries to eat there, all of which were delicious.

The inn was a great base for the three main hikes & also a great place to relax afterwards. We were kicking ourselves that we hadn't planned to stay longer!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKoalaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn is just like on the pictures, visited in September when the rice fields were beautiful and green, the view from the terrace and hotel room are stunning.
The service is excellent, excellent pick up service from and to Guilin.
Good place for walks and explore the surrounding area, and to get all relax from the busy cities China has. It really is a village on top of the rice fields, no mass tourism here!
All that and that for such a price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front side/terrace side beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 321Miranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Longsheng County hotels
3.9 mi away
Baike Hotel
Baike Hotel
#1 of 57 in Longsheng County
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
3.8 mi away
Long Ji One Hotel
Long Ji One Hotel
#2 of 57 in Longsheng County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
3.9 mi away
Longji Star-wish Resort
Longji Star-wish Resort
#4 of 57 in Longsheng County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Longji Holiday Hotel
Longji Holiday Hotel
#3 of 57 in Longsheng County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
3.9 mi away
Liqing Hotel
Liqing Hotel
#7 of 57 in Longsheng County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
7.1 mi away
Longji Ameng Inn
Longji Ameng Inn
#29 of 57 in Longsheng County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn

Property: LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn
Address: Tian tou village,Dazhai village,Longji rice terraces scenic area, Longsheng County 541701, China (Formerly Tian ranju Inn)
Location: China > Guangxi > Longsheng County
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Longsheng County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tian ranju inn (hotel) is located in the hilltop village of TianTou Zhai (Tian tou village),perched above Dazhai Village (where the Chinese Minorities – Yao’s place of residence )in the most scenic region of Longji. When you arrive Tian tou village ,you can begin to have a panoramic view of the terraces,you can see very beautiful wide view of Rice Terraces from here as well as the Yao people still keep very primitive life style and unique customs.We are stay in the middle of three view point ,is the most covenient place in Dazhai you can access to three view point.Tian ran ju Inn have 16 rooms ,include 4 double room facing rice terraces field;2 big bed room facing rice terraces field;2 triple room facing rice terraces field;8 double room unfacing rice terrraces field.All our room have the independent path room 、24 hours hot shower 、free WI-FI 、TV.So far,Tian ran ju Inn have 2 years old,we supply enlish speaking servic、free WI-FI、 chinese and simple western food、coffee and tea、book exchange and so on.Both Jimmy Qin and Hannah Wuu like to make friends with you,you can stay here just like home.wellcome to Tian ranju Inn and hope everyone has a good trip in china.NOTE:Room facing terraces field is the western toliet;Room unfacing rice terraces field is the chinese toliets;Please prepare your Wash one-time items by youself; ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your LongJi Terraces Tian ranju Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing