We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveler rating
15
7
4
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
7
4
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 29 reviews
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The rice terraces are beautiful and an overnight stay allows time to really explore. It was a hot walk up and seemed longer than the miles/kilos would indicate but worth every minute. The ladies waiting a bottom of hill were persistant in offers to carry our bags. Driver arranged by hotel was on time and excellent. He stopped to allow us to get tickets to area where we bought water and checked larger bags. (sorry dont' know name) Every turn offered new vistas of homes on hills, people and terraces. Our two rooms were very basic similar to those posted. Our meals were very good. Staff was friendly. Minority women outside were selling wares and persistant but prices were better than city we found. We met such nice other travelers too. Hotel arranged a public bus back to guilin next day - get reserved spots on bus. Hannah set up arrangements including transport but was away during our stay. Other staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: It appeared that every room had a view.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janddmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Amazing views and very friendly and helpful staff, they also whipped up a great dinner for us. Though the beds were hard I think it made my back feel better. Rough little cold shower. I would recommend this place to my friends.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank nicola m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The location is excellent with amazing views of the terraces. About 30 min walk up from the village of Dazhai and located in the village of Tiantouzhai. It's a close walk to viewpoint 3 and 1. When we were there it was quite chilly and foggy /cloudy even though it was September so be prepared with a jacket and long pants. There is aircon and heater in the room, though we were unaware that the aircon doubled as a heater and the room was cold, oops! The blankets on the bed were very heavy, thick, and warm though so sleeping wasn't an issue even without the heater, haha. Mealtimes were cool though. Food was hot and fresh and tasty. The pancakes in the morning as well as the noodles were delicious! Rooms were very basic.. hard beds, but adequate and the value was excellent so can't complain there. Our toilet , which was western, was plugged on our arrival and our friends toilet ( which was a squat) plugged during our stay, so plumbing can be an issue. For a basic cheap hotel with amazing views, Jintian was very good!

Room Tip: There are rooms with western or squat toilets, so if you have a preferance, ask. Also there were double beds, singles, and a triple room.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Halilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The water in the room was hot and the beds were clean. Hannah was extremely helpful getting us to the hotel when our driver got lost.

Food from the kitchen was generally tasty and served in a big open area downstairs. It gets really loud with tour groups. I imagine the rooms can get loud too since the walls seemed thin.

But you aren't here for a hotel. You want to hike the terraces and see the views. It's great for that.

The yao women are fun, and only gently pushy about buying stuff. My daughters liked bargaining with them.

I wish we had stayed another night. Tian Tou zhai was memorable.

There's a lot more information on our travel blog about our day at the rice terraces if you are interested.

http://creekmoreworld.com/2011/06/the-most-beautiful-place-on-earth-asia-china-day-7/

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CreekmoreWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Heard pinan was the placeto be, but as a photographry lover, this is the place to be. Easy walk to view points. Kind, lovely staff. Who cares ifthey are trying to sell u somthing? I just say bu yao. Over and over andthey leave. If that was ur only means of making money, woulsnt u too be aggressive? These old ladies carred my 45lb bag for Christs sake up a largs steep mountain non stop! The family there is so nice and the food is good enough. They were so very genuine and i trusted their right doings. Was sad to leave. one lady even showed me her very very long hair! Wow! The beds a little uncomortable, dont leave winows open. U may get a guest in ur room at night....insect!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mberry31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews