We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Good on the Whole”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Island View Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pretty Good on the Whole”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Very clean, family orientated camping ground. Showers could do with a cover over the drain so you don't have to look at hair and other undesirable things. BBQs weren't working for a good three days, fan not working in the kitchen so got a little heated and smoked out at times, one of the two toasters didn't work. We ended up paying more than we were quoted and when I sent an email enquiring, I didn't receive a response - staff are very helpful but I think they were a little overloaded at Christmas period and the wheels started to fall off slightly

Room Tip: try and avoid camping sites along main road, lots of traffic and bit of dust
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    36
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
127
85
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Island View before and after a trip round East Cape. The owners, staff and guests are very friendly. The facilities are great including kayaks, tennis courts, swimming pool and FREE wifi - just awesome! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi-chick79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed here twice and will be back many more times. The camp is clean and tidy with lots of new areas to have a BBQ and sit with family and friends. The managers are very friendly and helpful. It is great having an onsite shop and the Ice creams are yum. It is a home away from home and I highly recommend it. Well down to the owners and managers for retaining the beachy feel but also all the little extras that make the stay very enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gung2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is kiwi camping at it's best. We've stayed before and it just keeps getting better. It retains the atmosphere and essence of classic kiwi camping whilst giving you all the good things to help you really enjoy the stay and want to stay longer - great facilities, amazing beach access, views, hot showers, awesome kitchen, swimming pool, tennis court, beach volleyball, helpful friendly staff, great atmosphere etc etc. The only downside was having to leave. Already planning dates for our next visit.

  • Liked — Arriving
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed January 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had an awesome family holiday at Island View Holiday Park over the New Year. It is a beautiful camp with great facilities, and is right on the beach. We come back every year because we love it so much, and that is because of the owner and staff are extremely helpful. There is a really lovely atmosphere and the facilities are nice and clean. There is a nice swimming pool, barbeques, Kayaks, and free Wi-fi available throughout the camp for everyone to use even a new tennis court. For us there is only one holiday park and that is Island View Holiday Park!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willem N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We’ve had two holidays at Island View in the past few years, both in a tent and in a cabin and we'll definitely be back! The camp ground has undergone significant upgrade since our first visit, and now includes fab new bbq areas, permanent hammocks dotted around the place, a super flash tennis court, refurbished kitchen amenities, and a shop which dishes up great coffee and smoothies. They also have a swag of brand new cabins which looked very nice.

This place is really well run with lots of activities on the go - they hosted a spit roast on New Year's eve and it was just brilliant - sadly we couldn't stay for the concert that followed on the 3rd or 4th but friends did, and they raved about it…

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Energetic_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Another Summer Holiday down thanks to the friendly team at Island View Holiday Park. Fantastic facilities and things to do, kayaking, fishing, tennis, swinging in the hammocks, volleyball, swimming or just plain relaxing. We enjoyed our stay and will be back next year for sure! Well done guys on the big efforts put it to make our stay enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opotiki
13.5 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
338 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
2.2 mi away
Opotiki Holiday Park
Opotiki Holiday Park
#11 of 13 in Opotiki
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 mi away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#6 of 13 in Opotiki
13 reviews
7.2 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
14.0 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Holiday Park

Property: Island View Holiday Park
Address: 6 Appleton Road, Waiotahi Beach, Opotiki, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Opotiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island View Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View Holiday Park is situated on Stunning Waiotahi Beach, Opotiki - a true beachside location , with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and overlooking White Island.The sandy beach offers safe swimming and the local surf club is within 100 metres. You will be spoilt for choice with our new pool offering an alternative to swimming in the surf, Tennis Court (New 2014), Covered BBQ Area (new 2014), Outside Kitchen's for deluxe & Family Cabins (New 2014), Real Beach Volley Ball (New 2014), Coffee Shop/Cafe, Havana Bar (By Arrangement New 2014)Free Hot Showers, Free Camp wide WIFI (high Speed) Free Canoes!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Island View Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing