We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It keeps getting better!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Island View Holiday Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Island View Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“It keeps getting better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have been visiting for 3 years now- the family, the extended family, cousins and friends! The campsite keeps improving each year and it's such a perfect location - beach front, with a pool, a tv room, free wi-fi, warm showers, trampolines, jungle gyms for the kids - luxury! We love it and have made it a tradition to return each summer break.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    36
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
125
81
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been visiting for 3 years now - the immediate family, the extended family, cousins and friends! The campsite keeps improving each year and it's such a perfect location - beach front, with a pool, a tv room, free wi-fi, warm showers, trampolines, jungle gym for the kids - luxury! We love it and have made it a tradition to return each summer break.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The owners of Island view certainly know about customer service. The signs now say "We would appreciate it if you would........" instead of "You will.......! The new paint job is fantastic and hanging a towel on a non rusted hook makes a change. The pool is magnificent and the hammocks make a nice touch out the front. Thanks Island View we will be back. (we've on been coming for the last 20years)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynm58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

What a great place to stay! would highly recommend this place, friendly staff, friendly campers magnificant view and great facilities!

stayed at Ohiwa Harbour for 2 nights (which is a 10 min drive from Island view) the rate per night was a little more expensive than island view, no problem... but we also had to pay to use the cooking facilities and showers!!! which are all free at Island View...plus IV has free wireless internet

maybe I am a little bais but this is why.... while having a quiet beer on the beach I threw my line out and half way into my beer i land a massive snapper !!! right out the front of the camp and the camp manager loans me his smoker DINNER SORTED

Room Tip: make sure you get a front site! waking up to the waves breaking is so so relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Wow, what a stunning weekend. Very relaxing lying in the hammock looking out at the beach. Fantastic facilities, very clean and tidy, great swimming pool. The use of free wifi, free showers and free kayaks is fantastic. a credit to the owners and staff, would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larissareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Best we have found so far on our travels round both South and North Islands. Good size plots clean and tidy site with great facilities and free wifi (a luxury in NZ). All at a very reasonable price. This site will go on getting better and better. Views are stunning from the beach and camp site of both White Island, with its plumes of steam from the volcano, and Moutohora(Whale Island). Staff very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Miss this site at your peril.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our stay was superb. We pitched our tent with the idea of staying approx 4 nights. We could choose where we wanted to set up, with a view of the ocean and White Island right from our tent door. Hard to beat with large sites, friendly staff, sea at our door, fresh fish caught daily by us from the beach (surf casting), swimming pool, free Internet, free showers, clean facilities... What more could we ask for. Four nights turned into 8. Thanks for an awesome holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marrianne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opotiki
13.5 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#3 of 13 in Whakatane
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
7.2 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.4 mi away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#6 of 13 in Opotiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
2.2 mi away
Opotiki Holiday Park
Opotiki Holiday Park
#13 of 13 in Opotiki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ohope Beach Resort
Ohope Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Ohope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Holiday Park

Property: Island View Holiday Park
Address: 6 Appleton Road, Waiotahi Beach, Opotiki, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Opotiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Island View Holiday Park 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Island View Holiday Park is situated on Stunning Waiotahi Beach, Opotiki - a true beachside location , with unobstructed views of the Pacific Ocean and overlooking White Island.The sandy beach offers safe swimming and the local surf club is within 100 metres. You will be spoilt for choice with our new pool offering an alternative to swimming in the surf, Tennis Court (New 2014), Covered BBQ Area (new 2014), Outside Kitchen's for deluxe & Family Cabins (New 2014), Real Beach Volley Ball (New 2014), Coffee Shop/Cafe, Havana Bar (By Arrangement New 2014)Free Hot Showers, Free Camp wide WIFI (high Speed) Free Canoes!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Island View Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing