We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run, clean, great location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Opotiki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well run, clean, great location”
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Great facilities, very clean loos and shower blocks, rubbish collected daily with good recycling options, lots of large trees providing shade was very welcome, good management, convenient well stocked shop nearby. Beach beautiful but seemed a little dangerous for very small children. Had Great fun with the boogie boards. Opotiki is a nice little town with a fun water play area at the wharf, again not suitable for younger kids.
My husband used to come to this site as a child 30 years ago, its still a brilliant place to holiday, the hall, camp sites, kitchen area are all much smaller that he remembered, except the trees which are much larger!
Thanks for a grand holiday.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiwisofhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
55
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Very Family Friendly, Heaps of things to do, Clean facilities, close to shops for convenience, great friendly service, affordable pricing, I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to holiday with children A+

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 17Angel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

There is no doubt that the supreme hosting abilities of Glenys and Rob add personality and attention to detail that you rarely see at a motor camp in N.Z. You couldn't design a more beautiful,bounteous part of our coastline to site a family/couples motorcamp. Being lulled to sleep by the roar of the surf, awakening to the calls of birdlife, watching Orcas playing across the panoramic surf beach, tenting in the pet friendly paddock, the beautiful coastal waking tracks, surfcasting on any one of four local beaches, biking the mighty Motu trail, why go anywhefe else! The kitchens and bathrooms are always immaculate, plenty of fridge and freezer space, super fish cleaning facilities, safe beaches for swimming, a recipe for an ideal holiday! Thats why we'll be back for our 7th season, with bells on!

Room Tip: In the summer weather, camping in the pet paddock is very refreshing, as you have the shelter of row...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudenJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed here over new year as we caught up with friends during our xmas campervan tiki tour. As we had our dog with us, we were booked in the 'pet friendly' area. This was no further from the ablutions than other sites and was actually a compact, close knit area. I found the dog owners to be less rowdy than other camp dwellers on New Year's Eve!

The facilities are very good, with big kitchens which are well equipped. Although when the site is busy, the kitchen can be a bit packed, meaning you have to wait for a cooker or sink.

The beach is very close and there are bike tracks immediately accessible right next to the camp. The store at the gas station by the camp entrance is well-stocked and reasonably priced. A lovely, family-friendly spot.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Manks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We started staying here 30 years ago and have been back most years.
This is a very clean well cared for camp site. with a safe beach just over the dunes.
We normally stay 2 weeks and have always found a consistant high standard of attention to detail by the management. The 3 minute shower is not an issue - if there is a queue for the showers - well 3 minutes is a fair arrangement - if there is nobody waiting nobody worries about time limits. There is a great cold water shower by the path to the beach to remove the sand..
Children are also well cared for..- the only problem is having to go home at the end of the holiday

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great dog-friendly campsite with good facilities. Dog owners are kept separate from non-pet campers, which is probably a good idea. You feel less conscious as a pet owner whe surrounded by only other pet owners.

Showers have a 3 minute limit, which seems a bit tight. They claim they have to do this to ensure they don't have to charge.

The kitchen is a good size with plenty of fridge and freezer space.

A quick hop over the sand dunes and you're on a long sandy beach. There's some really good kids' facilities and even a kids' club over Xmas. There was plenty going on over new year but enough peace to get to sleep when you wanted to.

The store at the camp gate is very handy and good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed overnight as part of a tour around the East Cape. Facilities were good, with clean showers and toilets. Cooked on the BBQ which was well kept (but there is only 1 in the campsite, so you have to look out for it being free!) Nice swimming beach and an added bonus was the running/cycling trail that follows the dunes along the coast, great for our 6.30am run!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trudi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opotiki
5.7 mi away
Island View Holiday Park
10.1 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
12.9 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.9 mi away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#6 of 13 in Opotiki
14 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Wharf Hub
The Wharf Hub
#7 of 13 in Opotiki
3 reviews
3.7 mi away
Opotiki Holiday Park
Opotiki Holiday Park
#13 of 13 in Opotiki
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp

Property: Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp
Address: SH 35, Tirohanga Beach, Opotiki 3092, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Opotiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tirohanga Beach Motor Camp is in an awesome location for your holiday, right next to a long sandy beach in the Bay of Plenty just 6 km east of Opotiki on the Pacific Coast Highway. This is an ideal destination for a relaxing, no-fuss holiday located right next to Motu Dunes Trail and a safe beach for swimming, fishing, diving or just fooling around with the family. Use it for a base to explore what the Coast has to offer. You have direct access to the beach and shady powered and non-powered sites. Don’t forget your bike and walking shoes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing