We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is an excellen place to enjoy the nature, I have told all my frends for thire next holidya planning...”
Review of Bushaven

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Opotiki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bushaven
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is an excellen place to enjoy the nature, I have told all my frends for thire next holidya planning...”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Bush Heaven is a natural place for my family to stay, we stayed there for three nights in the beginning of January this year, one of the walk ways is Te Waiti track, there are lots of moss waterfalls along the trip, we went through the river bed, and passed different types of forests, and across the river. It was great trip. The beauty of this place is that you can see the starts clearly on the sky, watch the Glowworms, swim in the cool river, and also listen to the kiwi singing close your house at night, not many of the places in New Zealand can have all of these wonders (see attached photos for me to make postcard for this area). The Love Shack is a wonderful place to stay. Virginia & John are great Hosts, and gave us lots of information for how to traveling around this areas, also John had helped us to pass safely for the ford, I have told all my friends to choose thi space for holidays, and I myself will come again....

Room Tip: Depend on how many people, they provided all kinds of accommodations, scudding small family, couple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank yanbin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushaven, Manager at Bushaven, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Hi Yanbin, thanks so much for your very kind comments, we look forward to helping you and your friends/family, to again, enjoy our Bushaven experience, regards John and Virginia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Bushaven after finding it on the net whilst researching the Pakihi Track. Virginia & John were welcoming hosts, John even took the day off work to shuttle my husband & I to the start of the Pakihi track midweek.

The Love Shack is cute & basic accommodation but has everything you could need for a quiet few days in the bush. Excellent full cooking facilities with a bbq on the balcony & free washing machine under the unit. It was unusually chilly while we were there but we were snug all night long. A quick dip in the stream was a great way to cap off the afternoon after riding the track.

One thing to note is wear plenty of rid at all times during the day as everywhere in NZ near running water/rivers sand flies are thick & always keen to munch on juicy, juicy tourists

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janza79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushaven, Manager at Bushaven, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi Jaunita and Neil. Thanks so much for your kind comments, It was a pleasure assisting you with your Motu Trails Cycleway adventure. Regards John and Viginia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

we stayed last week, yo do the pakihi track on our mountain bikes. we loved the camp. quiet, beautiful bush, great river tot swim, and even a weka around the camp. Priceless! John did the shuttle, and we were quite close to the arrival. highly recommended. The Pakihi track is absolutely amazing!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frogiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osburg, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Bushaven is located very remote at the end of a gravel road, where you have to cross some shallow fords to get to. The camp itself looked very nice in the valley and offers everything you need. The owners are very helpful and friendly, we can defenitively recommend to stay there!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeikoK264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2013

What a find! The Love Shack at Bushaven was the perfect beginning and end to our 99 km Motu trail ride. A simply stunning bush setting. Throw into the mix a generous serving of helpfulness from our host John and the Te Waiti track right on Bushaven's doorstep, and you have the perfect holiday destination.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan_Maybs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Our work social-club went to Bushaven for the weekend. John from Bushaven took us to the start of the track in the shuttle and some of us hired bikes, which were excellent quality and came with seat padding - fantastic! 6 of us did the bike from 9km above the Pakahi track back to the Bushaven. It was a great ride. The track is pretty narrow a lot of the way so requires some skill to keep on the track, but there is lovely scenery of the bush and river along the way. The terrain is mostly downhill. We had a great lunch stop at the hut. Some of the others did a bike trip along the dunes. We all stayed at Bushaven that night (about 15 of us). They have a good range of rooms and good facilities. Check out the glow worms nearby. Some of us did bushwalks/ bike rides the next day too. We definitely recommend this to anyone keen for some adventure/ relaxing in the bush.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimWiersma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Bushaven is in a great location with excellent facilities for mountain biking and any group. The forest setting is lovely and there's lots of space inside and out - great water pressure for wet and miuddy gear after riding!, helpful and knowledgeable hosts, and access to some wicked bike tracks. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Opotiki hotels
12.6 mi away
Island View Holiday Park
15.9 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
10.8 mi away
The Wharf Hub
The Wharf Hub
#8 of 13 in Opotiki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
38.5 mi away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#6 of 13 in Opotiki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
10.7 mi away
Opotiki Holiday Park
Opotiki Holiday Park
#11 of 13 in Opotiki
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
9.9 mi away
No photo provided
Kowhai Rest
#10 of 13 in Opotiki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushaven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushaven

Property: Bushaven
Address: End TeWaiti Stream Road | Urutawa Forest,, Opotiki P O Box 417, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Opotiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable assorted accommodation and camping set in native bush within the Urutawa Scenic Reserve alongside the pristine TeWaiti stream. A range of accommodation including a five bedroom house, Love shack, bunkhouse, small batches and a small camp ground, all with full utilities. All have decks and use of BBQ's. Several walking,tramping and mountain biking tracks are very close by including The Motu Trails which is 10 minutes ride off the Pakahi track. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing