We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A disappointment, compared to other NZ motels”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Opotiki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Magnolia Court Motel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opotiki
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We were really surprised that we found so many irritations in the studio we booked. The bed was fine, but the furnishings were pretty basic. The blurb stated there were cooking facilities in the studios, but ours had only a microwave, no stove top, etc. This despite the fact that the cupboard had saucepans and cooking utensils!! There was also NO SINK in the kitchen area to wash dirty dishes or to fill the kettle. The kettle had to be filled in the bathroom, and didnt fit under the shallow sink tap. So of course the tap was loose from so much jiggling about by previous guests. I also did not feel it was very hygienic to wash eating vessels and utensils in a bathroom next to a lavatory.
We left some packaged food on the countertop overnight, and next morning there was a nice trail of ants coming in under the door up to the countertop, so I had to throw the cereals out.
I asked the manager about cooking facilities, and he said there were stove tops and cookers in the "family" studios, but that would be 40 NZD extra per night. We had not been told this when we booked.

As we like to be independent and are on a budget, we declined to stay a second night. I feel this motel is geared for the business traveller who does not bother to cook.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrigeenYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Magnolia Court Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 22 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

We hadnt planned to stay here but ended up taking longer driving around the cape than originally planned. One of the local petrol stations recommended this motor lodge to us.

Upon arrival the owner was very friendly and willing showed us the room before we committed to staying.

The room was a good size with a double & single bed in one room and 2 single beds in the main living area.

It had a kitchen area with microwave & toaster, coffee pot. kettle etc.

There was plenty of wardrobe space in the bedroom.

The room was lovely and clean and had a good information folder listing local restaurants (just note that alot of them are closed on a Monday!).

The bathroom was large and was a wet room style, towels were of a reasonable quality as were the toiletries provided.

There is a laundry but the owner needs to let you in and set the machines so if you are staying for any length of time that could be a bit of the pain.

The hotel provided continental and cooked breakfast both of which were very good and arrived at the time ordered.

Wifi access is available in the rooms

all in all a comfortable place to stay

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2011

If you are after a bed for the night in Opotiki you might consider the Magnolia.
No frills option - they do have Sky TV.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0ve2Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Wohnungen ziemlich gleich...
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Fleuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opotiki
16.1 mi away
Whakatane Hotel
Whakatane Hotel
#7 of 12 in Whakatane
24 reviews
2.5 mi away
Island View Holiday Park
6.6 mi away
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Wharf Hub
The Wharf Hub
#7 of 13 in Opotiki
3 reviews
36.7 mi away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#10 of 13 in Opotiki
14 reviews
0.7 mi away
Opotiki Holiday Park
Opotiki Holiday Park
#13 of 13 in Opotiki
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnolia Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnolia Court Motel

Address: Corner Bridge & Nelson St, Opotiki, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Opotiki
Number of rooms: 13

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing