We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
759 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

my wife and i stayed in a motor home for two nights, the site was very quiet, the faciltes were excellent and clean, the location was great, a short walk to a lovely beach. the staff were very nice and helpful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandr268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
113
93
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2013

After trying several different camp sites we have been a regular fixture at Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park for the past 9 years. We camp down the far end where it is nice and quiet and peaceful with stunning views of the sea and the beach only a short walk away. The camp is very well maintained and the owners, Nola and Todd, are constantly working on new projects to enhance the surroundings and facilities. All the staff are very friendly and Nola and Todd bend over backwards to ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We have stayed at Ohiwa Holiday Park so many times I have lost count. We have stayed in all types of accommodation while there.
The Park Motels are spacious and well furnished, always clean, tidy and ready on time. We have camped in both tents and in more recent years, a caravan. The sites are well grassed and clean and tidy.
The Park as an overall impression is rubbish free, family friendly and very welcoming. There are so many things to do on your holiday, fishing, crabbing and kayaking in the Ohiwa Harbour, bushwalks, glow worms, relaxing on the beach, swimming, bike riding along the Motu Trails in nearby Opotiki plus much more.

The best part about Ohiwa for me would have to
be the peace and quiet and the fact that most people on the beach are staying in the Park. We love that we have this little slice of paradise only a half hour from home, it makes a weekend away very easy and we don't want to go anywhere else!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank shelle34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a really delightful campsite for camper vans and any other need - cabins, tents etc. Their location, right by Ohiwa Beach is absolutely beautiful, and also overlooking, to the side, Ohiwa Harbour (just a sheltered bay) and out to the smoking volcanic cone of White Island.

The camp site is spacious and all the plots are generous. All the facilities - kitchen, ablutions, laundry are absolutely top-notch, clean, modern and well maintained. Any request to the reception staff is met with enthusiastic help. A small 50c charge for the showers is no problem as the water is good, plentiful and hot.

A short walk will talk you to the bluff above the camp with a fantastic view out over the bay and the beach. It is well worth the small effort. This is a great site and definitely one of the best that we have visited on our past 3 weeks in lovely NZ.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterMac29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here in our RV for 3 nights in October on a large site. The facilities were spotless and well maintained,with good showers (50c) good kitchen and dining area (which we didn't require).and a nice ambience. There are a number of attractive motel / cabin type units, and sites in various areas, on various levels - thus providing separate spaces. It is located on the dunes on a long white sandy beach which was mostly deserted at this time of the year - tho I imagine it gets very busy in summer. Lots of walks in the area (bush and beach) and birdlife. The owners were very friendly and pleasant - they were running a "stay 2 nights get 1 free" when we were there so it was very good value. Overall, a pleasure to visit and we'd love to go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PegaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We weren't sure what to expect arriving at Ohiwa late on Saturday afternoon. The camp grounds we stopped at along the way from Gisborne were quickly dismissed. We were welcomed and explained where we could park (there were plenty of options considering it's September) and we chose a spot close to the kitchens and toilets, yet very close to the beach. The toilets/showers were immaculate and the same can be said for the kitchen area. The weather played havoc all night, but that's part of camping. It is very likely that we will head down that way in December again. Great area and a fantastic campsite to compliment it.

Room Tip: Book now for camping / cabins as this place will be popular in summer months!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Level 6 Contributor
639 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 391 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We only stayed one night here but would have stayed longer had we known more ahead of time. Nice rooms with deck, kitchen, sitting area. Close to the beach. Hike up to the top of the cliff behind for a great view. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdventurePhiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Opotiki
9.2 mi away
White Island Rendezvous
White Island Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Whakatane
340 reviews
4.4 mi away
Island View Holiday Park
2.8 mi away
Ohope Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.9 mi away
Maraehako Bay Retreat
Maraehako Bay Retreat
#10 of 13 in Opotiki
14 reviews
9.6 mi away
ONE88 On Commerce
ONE88 On Commerce
#1 of 12 in Whakatane
108 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ohope Beach Resort
Ohope Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Ohope
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park

Property: Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park
Address: 380 Ohiwa Harbour Road, Opotiki 3198, New Zealand (Formerly Ohiwa Holiday Park)
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Opotiki
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Opotiki
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park is the perfect beach holiday destination with panoramic views of White Island and the Pacific Ocean. Our accommodation is perfect for families or couples seaking to enjoy the best of nature on the beautifull East coast of New Zealand. Enjoy exploring the magical Ohiwa Harbour where you can kayak, fish, bush walk or just sit back and relax to the sound of the native birdlife.We have a range of quality accommodation from camp sites with fantastic sea views to fully self contained units ideal for families or couples looking for an iconic beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ohiwa Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing