We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unforgettable spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coral Reef Beach Villa and Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2008

The most incredible holidays ever. It couldn't possibly be better.

Peter and Julie are amazing hosts, they make you feel at home so easily. We've tried possibly all their rooms, they were really helpful and flexible with our needs.
This is certainly the closest to Paradise that I ever experienced.
Will certainly stay with them again next time we visit the island...'cause we will go back!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank cloadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 289 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2008

We were looking for a quiet spot on the beach to celebrate our honeymoon, and could not have asked for a better location than Peter and Julie's wonderful Coral Reef Beach. If you're looking for room service and casinos, you want the other end of the island (which is totally available to drop in on, a reasonable car / taxi ride away). But if your idea of paradise is watching the sunset with a glass of wine, waking up and putting your feet right in the sand, and falling asleep under the stars with the sound of the waves and the lovely breezes, then this is the vacation spot for you.

We're planning a return trip next year, where we'll make sure to make full use of the handy kitchenette and on-site laundry to make packing even easier and save some $$ on eating out. Peter and Julie have wonderful recommendations about the local restaurants and sights, and were charming hosts. Their son young Jack is delightful and a bit of a naturalist. It felt like staying with friends (in the best way!) who have found the ideal hidden treasures of this island, right in their own backyard.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank chathamgrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We very much enjoyed our slice of paradise at the Coral Reef Beach. Hosts Peter and Julie and sidekicks Jack and Ralph were all wonderful.

We have stayed in all types of accommodations, and this relaxed villa was a nice change from the high rise all-inclusive hotels. The location in Savaneta is nice for exploring the entire island, which we did in a rented Jeep.

We would definitely recommend this villa to others looking for a quiet place off the beaten path.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank SR_Canadians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

This place is a very beautiful setting to get in touch with local people and many adventures in a calm, small village. Couldn't have chosen a better place to stay in Aruba. The owners go out of their way to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank stroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

We (the parents, three boys and three grand parents) just came back from two weeks at the Coral Reef. On my return I was planning on writing a review, but upon reading the existing ones I realized I had little to add ... everyone has already "nailed" it.
For those who want to experience the true Arubian lifestyle, and avoid the glitz of a typical beach hotel strip ... this place is for you.
The ambience and hospitality of the Coral Reef Villa and Savaneta is a true Caribbean experience. Make sure you take the daily walk to Zeros fish market bar where you drink, watch the sunset, and mingle with the local fisherman. While back at the villa, Jack and Ralphs antics can amuse you for hours ... a sweet place run by sweet people.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PETERTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2008

I'm just back from a wonderful one-week stay, so glad of having made this option. Peter, Julie and are very interesting, friendly and fun people who seem happy with themselves and ready to pass that feeling along.

We went with two kids (3,5 and 1,5) which loved it too and found a cheerful playmate in little Jack (3) and the patient Ralphie.

In case you were wondering, the proximity to the Flying Fishbone is not a hassle: it shuts down early, is very quiet to begin with and has the kitchen far from the property (no odors ever). There is an upstairs unit (with the Aruban flag on the side, see the pics) that is very close to the boundary, maybe that may be too close if you are an early sleeper but heard no complaints.

We stayed in the top two rooms of the beach villa, with access to a full kitchen downstairs; wonderfully appointed and seemed to me the best units available. No bathroom doors may bother some prudish fanatics though.

We occasionally wandered around the big-hotels and just seeing the difference in crowd and vibe made us so happy with this stay. This place attracts a congenial, interesting mix of people, with whom you may or not socialize, although mingling seems to be the norm and you see many guests hanging out together even in their outings. Unfortunately we didn't have much of that because of the kids.

This is a very unique and special place, maybe not for everyone, but reviews porve that it is easy to fall in love with. Thanks Julie and Peter for all the care and thought you have put into this window to paradise.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
3  Thank FishInTheWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

I wanted SO much to write this review since I got back from my vacation on February 9th 2008.

But each time I sat down at the computer to write it, I found myself struggling to even begin to explain or capture this most amazing experience in words?

I traveled with my partner and 3 best friends for 1 week at the beginning of February from Pennsylvania USA.

Peter, one of the owners of the Coral Reef met us at the airport and was VERY patient and helpful while waiting for us till one of my friends sorted out his missing luggage.

When all was done he drove us from the airport away from the tourist hotels and casinos in Oranjestad to Savaneta, approx. 15 minute drive.

The drive from the airport to the Coral Reef Villa/Apartments didn’t look like much and to be honest we all had our reservations at the beginning about what type of accommodations we were going to have for that week?

We even questioned for a brief moment as to what we got ourselves into and how could something this affordable be “too good to be true”?

When we arrived and unloaded the car and made our way round the back of the villa, we saw paradise and knew right then, that it was GOOD and it was definitely TRUE!!!

We stayed in the main villa (that was more than enough room to house the 5 of us) that over-looked the beautiful view and reflected the most relaxing and peaceful place that I had ever experienced.

The owners, Peter, Julie, their adorable son little Jack (my little Scooby :o) and their precious pet dog “Ralph” added MUCH more value to this vacation with their welcoming and impeccable hospitality, acceptance, fun and knowledge of where to go and how to get around the island.

It was like staying with family and sharing stories, singing songs with Peter on the guitar and watching the sun set in the evening while relaxing with a drink or two in a totally stress free environment.

The accommodations were beyond our expectations!!! VERY comfortable, clean and equipped with everything you ever needed and more!!!

Peter and Julie helped plan out our vacation by recommending and helping us set up some of our activities for the week.

Snorkeling at Baby beach, visiting the casinos, the bars and hotel beaches in Oranjestad. A snorkeling cruise for approx. 3 hours visiting the site of a sunken warship, quad biking through the dessert to the natural pond, out to eat at some great restaurants and much more to say a few.

This was an experience VERY different from the usual crowded and over-priced tourist trap that most people tend to get sucked into.............still if we wanted that, then we were not far from it!!!

So in closing and to make this as short as possible, I must say that this was my best attempt in explaining something that can only be tasted and experienced much like a fine glass of wine.

Until you stay and vacation here, then you will truly know how sweet it is and what a valuable diamond you have found.

Thanks Peter, Julie, Jack and Ralph for an amazing vacation, for making it more personably and for adding that extra touch of class ;o)

Sean, Leo, Ken, Steve and Gigi – Reading PA, USA

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank scottishinpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savaneta
10.5 mi away
MVC Eagle Beach
MVC Eagle Beach
#8 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Club Arias B&B
Club Arias B&B
#1 of 3 in Savaneta
936 reviews
8.5 mi away
Renaissance Aruba Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
Amsterdam Manor Beach Resort
#5 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
2,268 reviews
11.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach Resort & Casino
Holiday Inn Resort Aruba - Beach...
#18 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
3,236 reviews
10.5 mi away
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
Bucuti & Tara Beach Resort Aruba
#1 of 24 in Palm - Eagle Beach
4,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Beach Villa and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Beach Villa and Apartments

Address: Savaneta 344 A, Savaneta, Aruba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Aruba > Savaneta
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Savaneta
Price Range: $79 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coral Reef Beach Villa and Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Reef Beach is a self catering beachfront accommodation in Savaneta, the oldest fishing town of Aruba. We are located in Savaneta, about a 20 minute drive from the capital and main tourist area Oranjestad. Because of this the area is more laid back and the bars in the area operate on local prices. We are a unique, small, selective development which includes 9 apartments. All of our apartments are just a few steps from the waterfront and have access to free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Coral Reef Beach Villa and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Beach Villa And Apartments Hotel Savaneta
Coral Reef Beach Villa And Apartments Aruba/Savaneta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing