We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A home from home in the most tranquil natural...”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Montanchez, Province of Caceres, Extremadura

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
stacy f
1 review
“A home from home in the most tranquil natural beauty”
Reviewed April 13, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

El majano...approaching the gates of this beautiful estate immediately feels like you are coming home. Incredible views, peaceful sounds of nature, relaxed space, perfect pool. Large patio outside for enjoying wine and beers at sunset. Then into the casa....for cosy evenings indoors it is very clean, relaxed and comfortable, with a fire to sit in front of for colder evenings if you want. the kitchen has all you need. The most amazing thing about this place is it's serenity... guaranteed a good deep sleep in comfortable beds and the fresh air and nature. Antonio the host is incredibly friendly and accommodating to any needs you may have, although he already ensures you do not need for anything! Fantastic host! I only wish I stayed longer on this trip but it is guaranteed I will be back! Definitely recommend here for a real Spain experience in the country, at nature, with the scent of beautiful fruit trees, privacy and best of all a pool for those lazy summer days!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2018
Hola Stacy, muchas gracias por las bonitas palabras que has dejado en TripAdvisor sobre mi finca El Majano, fue una pena que en se tiempo todavía no había productor auténticos de la huerta para que hubieras podido degustar. Espero que la próxima vez el tiempo este mejor y te puedas dar un buen chapuzón en la piscina.
Esperamos verte pronto por aquí. Un saludo y gracias de nuevo.
Anatonio.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCruiske...
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“An inspiring location in beautiful surroundings (with a lovely pool!) and a very welcoming owner.”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Finca el Majano is set up on the Sierra de Montanchez and is accessed by a concrete road that goes all the way to the top of the Sierra where there are several transmitter masts. You can drive all the way to the top for the magnificent views.
The finca is easy to find and access. There is the main building which comprises a living/kitchen area with everything you need including microwave, fridge and freezer and two bedrooms; one double, one twin.
There is a covered terrace outside with a wonderful view of Montancez and its castle from above. We took all our meals on the terrace which has a modern easy-to-clean glass-topped table.
A short distance away is another, newly constructed building with a double bed, shower room and TV. Immediately outside the house is Antonio's orchard of various fruit trees and a large chicken coop from which we were invited to take the eggs which they hens lay daily.
Beyond the orchard of widely-spaced trees is Antonio's vegetable garden with all kinds of things growing. he invited us to help ourselves to the lettuces.
But perhaps most welcome of all was the swimming pool which measures 8m by 4m and which has a filtration/chlorination unit which we were asked to run for two hours per day. The pool was so welcoming on the hot afternoons and when one comes out smelling of chlorine (which I find reassuring!) there is an outdoor hot and cold shower right next to the pool with duck boards. A wonderful casa!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea H
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great rural retreat”
Reviewed May 8, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We stayed at Antonio's finca in Montanchez towards the end of April 2017 and had a fabulously relaxed stay at El Majano. It was exactly the type of self-catering accommodation we were looking for i.e. rural and surrounded by nature - the great views were a huge bonus.

We spent most of our days exploring the local area so only really spent time back at base in the mornings and evenings for breakfast and dinner. Antonio's hens provided us with breakfast every day and when we didn't eat dinner at home, we ate at the local pub and restaurant El Hondonada which is only about a mile from the finca. The owners there are British and so were able to translate for us any questions we had for Antonio.

There were only three of us so we only used the double bedroom in the main house and the separate new double bedroom block. The bedrooms are all lovely with everything you need. The kitchen is quite small (it was fine for us) but there is no oven just a hob. Everything else we needed was there.

If you are looking for a rural getaway in comfortable and reasonably priced accommodation, we can't recommend El Majano enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place for a bird-watching trip”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Sitting on a hillside overlooking the village of Montanchez this lovely little finca is the perfect place to stay if you want a bit of tranquility. The main building has a double and a twin room while the annex sleeps another two.
Our the purpose of our trip was birdwatching in the Extremadura area. The main sites (Trujillo and its plains), Monfrague, Arracampo, and Merida) are all within easy reach.
However, although our intent was to travel to a number of sites, the garden was a fantastic place to see birds. From the veranda (with breakfast or an evening drink) we had Serins, Nightingales, Wrynecks, Woodlarks, Azure-winged Magpies, Golden Orioles, Woodchat Shrikes, Cirl Buntings, with flyover Short-toed and Booted Eagles and Griffon and Black Vultures.

Highly recommended.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2017
Muchas gracias por tu opinión Andrea. Fue un placer conoceros y me alegro que vuestra estancia en El Majano fuera agradable para todos. Un saludo cordial. Antonio.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
387sandi
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little bit of heaven”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

El Majano is a simple finca in a wonderful hillside location about 2km from the centre of Montanchez. The house is perfectly adequately equipped and has two good sized double bedrooms and a living area that includes a small kitchen. It was all spotlessly clean.

It has a shady terrace that overlooks the really lovely outside space. The above ground swimming pool was a real boon in the very hot weather we enjoyed throughout our stay. The plot is very large and includes a cherry orchard, some vines, and a large vegetable patch from which we were encouraged to pick what we wanted. There were hens in an enclosure whose eggs were a daily feast. Our dog certainly thought she was in heaven (as did we).

We had planned to spend our week visiting nearby towns such as Caceres, Trujillo, and Merida (all of which should have been very interesting). However, the hot weather and the utter tranquillity of our surroundings caused us to sit on the terrace and watch the bird life instead!

Montanchez is a charming non touristy small town with friendly bars, restaurants and small supermarkets - everything that you need.

The owner, Antonio, was friendly and helpful; he speaks no English but his partner Linda is from Scotland so there were no communication problems and they both showed us the town. We cannot recommend this property too highly.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita2003
Toledo, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Las estrellas por la noche
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spelletje...
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: locatie en open haard
Liked least: dat de stroom uitviel
Traveling group: Tieners
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing