We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well equipped, spacious property”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hirondelle Farm

The Stable at Hirondelle Farm
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stable at Hirondelle Farm
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The Stable at Hirondelle Farm
The Kitchen
The Kitchen
The Bathroom
The Pool
The Pool
The Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Chateaubriant, Loire-Atlantique, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MarkO733
The Royal Town of Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well equipped, spacious property”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My wife and I stopped at Hirondelle Farm with our 15 month daughter. Doreen and Dave were very good hosts, helping out when called upon, but otherwise letting us get on with our holiday. They provided us with facilities to help us look after our daughter, such as a cot, baby bath and stair gates which helps save a lot of luggage when travelling.
We cooked quite a bit in the Gite and the kitchen was very well equipped for our needs.
We didn't have the greatest weather whilst we were there, but on the odd day we had a bit of sun, we found the garden a nice, quiet place to relax in, away from the worries of the world. Otherwise we would drive to the local cities, such as Rennes, Nantes and Vannes which were approx an hour away from the Gite by car. We particularly enjoyed Nantes and Vannes, where you can find plenty of good restaurants and shopping.
Overall, a very pleasant stay and we hope to return one day soon.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 15, 2017
Thank you Mark & Hannah for a lovely review. We would be delighted to welcome you all back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamKen21
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
Reviewed August 16, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our second year at Hirondelle Farm with an extended stay for 11 days. For a family of four (two teen girls) this place is a little bit of heaven tucked away in the middle of the countryside.

The owners are so helpful and this year was no exception with a trip to A&E thrown in for an ear infection.

The place itself is super clean, comfortable and so lovely and quiet. The garden is a delight to relax in with comfy recliners ( getting some of those) a brick built BBQ (thinking about getting one of those) and a wooden pool to plunge in when you get too hot (already ordered one of those!!)

We had great weather and the temp here can easily get into the 30's which is great.

We pretty much ate and drank our way through the holiday sampling the four different supermarkets and the bread from the "Bread Lady"

We will definitely be going back again and I can't recommend this place highly enough.

We did a fly drive from Southampton to Renne which was cheaper than the ferry and the cost of driving.

Thanks Doreen and Dave for another great holiday.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to leave
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
Thanks again Sam for a great review! Dave made those comfy recliners, so you'd better get your order in! Pity about Sarah's ear infection, hope it's all OK now. Looking forward to seeing you next year, how much will those girls have grown by then?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A happy, sunny, peaceful little haunt, just off the beaten track.”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

As the title reads, the Hirondelle Farm has cemented many a good memory in my mind. I have had the opportunity to spend 2 holiday periods here, the first without kids, the second with 2 and I can honestly say that it offers a great deal for all the family. Nestled in a little hamlet between 2 towns the Hirondelle offers an ambiance where you can leave your troubles behind you and enjoy the peace and quiet of an exceptionally well quitted holiday home with lots to see and do in the surrounding areas. I could name the towns and cities near to this place and the things they have to offer but feel I'd be robbing the Hirondelle of its potential as our family spent more time enjoying the garden, dining al fresco, walking the country roads and shopping in the local towns of St Aubin des Chateuax and Chateaubriant. For the kids there was the garden with the outdoor tub pool, ideal for cooling down when the temperatures soared. Inside were the games and pool table which my son enjoyed the most....For my wife and me it was more the quietness and relaxing atmosphere it provided.....We spent many a lazy day just sun bathing in the garden, enjoying the French sunshine and wine!!!!!!!!
Dave and Doreen are wonderful hosts who are always on call but never intrusive. I couldn't recommend the Hirondelle enough to those of you looking for a relaxing break away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life..........Truly spirit cleansing and mind freshening!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The layout of the house and it's location.
Liked least: The fact that I couldn't live here all year round.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
Oh! Wow! Joe, so eloquent! Thank you for sharing your thoughts on Hirondelle Farm, it means a lot to Dave and me. So pleased that you and the family enjoyed your time here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MalcolmP2...
1 review
“Mr”
Reviewed May 5, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Luverly place to stay very well renovated hosts very nice and caring will visit again soon hopefully this year or next setting beutifull

Date of stay: April 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2016
Thank you Malcolm for your lovely review. Looking forward to seeing you and Lin again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry P
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly relaxing, authentic location surrounded by countryside.”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in September 2015

As you approach this beautifully renovated barn - there is a wonderful 'French Country' feel with the old bicycle complete with basket of flowers propped against the wall and the huge old horse drawn cart on the front lawn. Dave and Doreen are the most welcoming owners who make you feel comfortable from the word go. The barn is extremely clean and pleasantly furnished and the bedrooms are bright and comfortable. It has everything that you would need for a comfortable stay, including a secluded garden. After settling you in, Dave and Doreen leave you to your own devices, with the option to ask for their advice/help should the need arise. Country walks are the order of the day in the immediate area but a car is needed for the short drive into the nearest town which has some lovely restaurants and shops. Market day is fabulous. As we have stayed here before, we took the opportunity to explore further afield this time and can strongly recommend all the nearest larger towns which each hold a different charm. We have written in more detail in Dave and Doreen's visitors book so do have a read when you get there. My final comments go to the 'odd' little additions which make a holiday memorable - Dave and Doreen are lovely, fun people who want nothing more than to make your stay enjoyable. The 'fairyland' in the tree outside the barn (made by Dave and Doreen) is totally enchanting. The lovely old lady (Theresa) who lives in the tiny house nearby is an absolute delight. The cats who will befriend you if you make them welcome, but will stay away from you if they 'feel' that it is not convenient. Etc etc. We had a fabulous holiday and we fully intend to return.

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2016
Oh! Thank you terry for such a marvellous review! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here, do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David H
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful Perfect Holiday Experience”
Reviewed April 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2014

We spend a lot of time in France, and have stayed in many Gites along the way. Doreen and Dave run by far the best Gite, and we have stayed three times over the years.
Everything has been thought of in detail. It is ideally positioned to experience the quiet french surroundings, but close enough to enjoy the towns too. Looking forward to staying there again soon.

Date of stay: May 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing atmosphere
Liked least: It was all good
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 1, 2016
Thank you David for your lovely review. We enjoyed having you, Katie and the children here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 4, 2013 for a stay in September 2012

Date of stay: September 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and tranquility plus food in the town
Liked least: Weather was not the best, but did not spoil thing one bit
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 10, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Such a pity the weather was not kinder!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing