We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superbe gîte en suisse normande”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gite Hamelis

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
5 reviews
La chambre'de fil en aiguille'est décorée sur le thème de la couture.lit 160/200
Chambre'du meunier'est équipée d'un lit de 140/200,d'un dressing et d'un placard
Chambre 'Parfum d'aventures' est aménagée sur le thème des voyages.2 lits 90/190
Une cuisine toute équipée.Four,lave vaisselle,plaque de cuisson,micro onde,frigo
Bordé par un bois, ce gîte original offre une vue dégagée sur le bocage .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Flers, Orne, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Scruntfut...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Pretty; but Strange Decor, Lots of Hidden Costs and Strict Rules”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
3
people found this review helpful

The gite was beautifully located, the gardens were beautiful, and the outside was lovely.  The inside décor however was 'interesting' - the headless dressmakers dummy at the end of the bed was just plain creepy.  The main bedroom was very damp, and the sauna was unusably small.
The main disappointment with the stay, however, was to receive a letter just before we travelled that informed us of everything that would be an extra cost:
A huge charge for cleaning, which really should be included in the rental. If not paid, we were expected to scrub, mop, polish, squeegee and hoover, etc. prior to inspection.
Towels and tablecloths are not provided, need to be 'rented' and should be supplied in the rental cost. An excessive charge was proposed for a basket of firewood.
Only a minimal amount of electricity was given for free.  We were out all day, only returning in the evenings, yet still had to pay extra for exceeding our 'free' limit. 
We had to pay a 'tourist tax' on arrival, which again should have been made clear prior to booking.
We enjoyed the stay in the region, but we felt that the tour of the property was more of a description of how we should clean the place rather than a welcoming, which did not leave us relaxed.
I got the feeling that the owner did not really want to rent the place out - even though the actual rental cost is higher than average. I found the rules about cleaning and the leaving instructions to be quite unwelcoming and severe, and I am sure that less emphasis on the rules, more on welcoming people, and less hidden costs would mean many more rentals. We would not have rented the gite if we had known all the extra costs and the very strict cleaning regime.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Area
Liked least: Late advising of the many hidden costs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2016
Nous sommes désolés de voir tous ces points négatifs dans votre lettre. Nous pensons que vous auriez dû prendre la formule chambre d'hôtes où tout est compris mais plus cher, plutôt qu'un gîte moins cher où les gens sont plus libres.

En France les locations de tourisme sont classées par étoiles de 2 à 5 étoiles. Notre gîte est classé 4 étoiles et le côut des prestations a été validé par l'organisme de tourisme. Nous sommes même en dessous des prix pratiqués par les autres gîte 4 étoiles.

Pour la taxe de séjour : Il est précisé sur la page de Tripadvisor qu'une taxe de séjour est à régler à l'arrivée des vacanciers au gîte. Le montant n'est pas défini car il varie en fonction du nombre d'occupants et du nombre de nuits passés au gîte.

Pour le ménage : Le choix est donné aux locataires soit de le faire eux même soit de prendre le forfait ménage. La notice explicative a été mise en place par l'organisme de tourisme à cause de gens qui laissaient les gîtes sales.

Pour le linge de toilette : à la différence des hotels et des chambres d'hôtes, les gîtes ne sont pas tenus de fournir le linge de toilette. Dans les gîtes la plupart des locataires arrivent avec leur propre linge de toilette.

Pour le bois : Nous pratiquons les prix en vigueur, vous n'êtes pas obligés de prendre cette option. Vous pouvez l'acheter vous même en grande surface de bricolage ou station service.

Nous présentons le gîte à tous les locataires à leur arrivée pour qu'ils se sentent plus à l'aise et qu'ils découvrent la maison. Tous nos locataires apprécient cette démarche.

Le ménage nous l'avons fait nous même le jour de votre arrivée, vous dites que vous avez laissé le gîte plus propre à votre départ mais vous avez oublié de vider les poubelles qui n'étaient même pas triées.......

Nous ne pouvons pas inclure les divers forfaits dans le prix de la location. Si nous pratiquions de la sorte le prix du séjour serait beaucoup plus élevé ce qui rendrait trop chère le séjour, en pratiquant de la sorte nous ne donnons pas le choix aux locataires de gérer leurs dépenses.

Le sauna est prévu pour 2 personnes, son utilisation est gratuite.
Le mannequin fait partie du thème couture de la décoration de la chambre.
La maison est aérée par un système de ventilation mécanique contrôlée. Nous vérifions régulièrement l'état de la maison et nous n'avons jamais remarqué le moindre souci d'humidité.
En cadeau de bienvenue nous vous avons laissé un petit paquet de spécialités régionales.

Le système français est différent du système anglais où tout est compris dans le coût de la location. En France ce n'est pas dans la coutume de laisser de l'alimentation dans un gîte et les options restent un choix pour les vacanciers.

Effectivement c'est pénible de lire vos commentaires, heureusement c'est la première fois que nous rencontrons des locataires aussi négatifs.

Notre gîte donnant satisfaction à 95% de locataires, nous ne changerons pas notre politique de gestion pour les 5% qui de toute façon ne seront jamais satisfaits.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 27, 2017
Merci pour votre commentaire élogieux et nous vous accueillerons à nouveau avec plaisir.
Marie-Thérèse et Gilles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
36nine
Plenee-Jugon, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 7, 2017
On vous remercie pour ce commentaire élogieux, c'est avec plaisir que nous vous recevrons à nouveau.
Marie-Thérèse Chelala et Gilles Confiant
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivier C
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

Traveling group: Avec mes amis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Noël...
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing