We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Caen Porte de Bretagne
Nearby Hotels
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premiere Classe Caen Nord - Memorial(Saint-Contest)(Great Value!)
$46
$44
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (322)
Filter reviews
322 results
Traveler rating
71
175
56
12
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
175
56
12
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtepaille restaurantlarge car parkgood sizeair conditionercomfortable stayovernight stopstayed here for three nightsbed was very comfortableshort staybreakfast buffetfree wifienjoyed our staycroissantscaenferryreceptionparking
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 322 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Not bad for the price. Enclosed private parking, with a handy Courtepaille restaurant attached. Room had enough space for a travel cot, provided free of charge by the hotel by prior arrangement. Room was pretty clean. Bathroom was a plastic pod, as in many chain hotels, but the water pressure in the shower was great. Extra pillows were provided on request. The duty manager didn't know where there was a shop that might be open on a Sunday (for future reference, we found a Coccinelle behind the Ecole Primaire de la Pigacière). Midday checkout was great, as we were travelling with our 4 month old baby, so I was grateful of the lie-in! Good midway point if travelling from Calais to Brittany.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sugar2sugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Excellent hotel and also the Courte Paille restaurant attached. We booked 20 days in advance which was a very good price. But the price on the day or less than 20 days in advance was expensive at 81 euros for the room. Our room was almost above the restaurant and a little noisy in the morning as the rrefuse bins were almost underneath our window.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laptop705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed here for one night after arriving by ferry at Caen before setting off towards the Loire Valley the following morning. We arrived at the IBIS at about 10pm. It is relatively straightforward to locate if you stay on the peripherique and come off at junction 9B for Porte de Bretagne/Bretteville sur Odon and then head towards McDonald's which is clearly visible.

The IBIS is very well located for onward travel and as mentioned it is immediately next to a McDonald's (we didn't use it) and a Courtepaille restaurant. There is free parking at the IBIS too which is secure.

My only gripe is the fact that we were allocated a smoking room. I presumed, based upon other IBIS hotels I have stayed in, that all rooms would now be non smoking. I headed back to Reception to ask if there were any non smoking rooms available but apparently the hotel was fully booked and I guess we had arrived quite late so we just put up with it. It might be worth ensuring that you mention that you would like a non smoking room when you book.

We didn't have breakfast since we always prefer to find a decent patisserie/boulangerie when we are in France although it seemed to be good value.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a non smoking room then make sure you specify this when you book. The top floor of the hotel seems to be smoking rooms only.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

There is nothing remarkable about this hotel. I stayed here with my son while visiting bayeaux and Juno beach.

It was fine, I noticed it is ranked 4th in Caen. The standard in this city must be rather low.

Value is good I must say, if you need a place to sleep for a few nights.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Cdneurotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel after arriving on an afternoon ferry. I would go along with most of the reviews on Tripadvisor. It is close to the Caen ring road at the junction for travel to Brittany, but far enough away to be free of traffic noise. The rooms are in good condition. The free internet worked fairly well. There is ample free parking. There is a busy McDonalds next door. Did not eat in the restaurant.

Nearby is a Carrefour Market and a decent Boulangerie. Although on a trading estat, there is a decent walk nearby through woods.

Overall a good overnight stopover.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scr0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews