We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xitang Ancient Town

Xitang Ancient Town
Book In Advance
More Info
$252.50*
and up
Private Day Tour: Water Towns Xitang and Wuzhen from Shanghai
Ranked #1 of 2 Tours in Jiashan County
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A small ancient town on water that still preserves its original look.
Jiashan County, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

It is suggested to stay in the town for at least one night to enjoy the amazing night scenes. It may be a little crowded during Chinese holidays.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tao_Tsou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    854
    845
    210
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Another water town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you have visited one "water-town" in China, you do not need visit another one. They're similar. However, XiTang is better than others:
1. the walkway along the river is wider
2. Tourism stores sell stuffs at reasonable price.

Of course you have to pay 100RMB for admission.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank wangster2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tianjin, China
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“The art of being lazy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed a full week here and even though you could probably see everything in a couple of days, it felt great to casually stroll around and watch life. Xitang is a beautiful place and they have maintained the ancient ways and appearance. Many many places to eat both local cuisine as well as favorites found all over China.
It's a wonderful, quaint township if you're looking for some rest and relaxation.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ZhuHuaLong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“So Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we arrived we changed our shanghai booking so as we could have 2 nights here. It's busy yet so peaceful and relaxing. A photographers paradise. We are so glad we come and even happier to be staying!!! We are at the secret garden inn. Nice and Paiute and the staff are amazing. We caught the bus from shanghai south railway station. Buses leave every 1/2 hr almost. Easy to get tickets, took us 1 hr to get here, it's a must if you are staying in shanghai.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SamTuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
135 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Badly overcrowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I stayed here on a Friday and Saturday. Friday was already badly overcrowded. On Saturday, the streets were absolutely jammed with tourists, and it took ages to get anywhere. Even at 7.30 am, many people filed onto the streets.

The water town was ok, very typical, with lots of stalls selling tourist stuff and overpriced food. Lots of patience is required to enjoy it. After two days I couldn't stand it any more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SingaporeMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xitang Ancient Town also viewed

 
Jiashan County, Zhejiang
Jiashan County, Zhejiang
 

Been to Xitang Ancient Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing