We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very special anniversary weekend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bonsall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A very special anniversary weekend”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at the Townhead Farmhouse for two nights to celebrate my parents' golden anniversary. Caroline and Dave could not have been more helpful in making it a very special occasion. In fact we took over their dining room for a delicious Aga cooked celebration meal. The setting is lovely - lots of walks from the doorstep. Our four children were made to feel very welcome despite the beautiful bone china tea cups. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sooben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed at the Townhead Farmhouse for three nights. Bonsall is a very pretty village, central to many lovely places in Derbyshire. Caroline and Dave are extremely welcoming. The breakfasts were superb and set us up for the day. The room was attractive, clean and well presented. Particularly handy is the living room overlooking the garden which we used before meeting up with our family each day. We are looking forward to returning to Derbyshire and will certainly stay at this Guest House again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnneMcG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Caroline and David are great hosts and our room was a delight. Unexpected bonus: the price on the 3rd night was cut to 50 pounds.

A perfect stay. 3 nights was not enough to explore everything. Will remain there a week next time. Very central for Derbyshire fans.

Room Tip: Its such a quiet village, all rooms must be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StephenB92617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I decided last minute to spend a couple of days in Derbyshire, and found this charming B&B with a room available. It was a wonderful choice! The breakfast was delicious, our guestroom spacious and well decorated, with a comfortable bed. Mostly though, it was a relaxing and quiet place to get away to, and the hosts were so gracious. I'd definitely come back to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank baylorbear2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

I stayed in Townhead Farmhouse for a weekend to see the Peak District and do a bit of walking. The hosts were brilliant, and helped to plan some excellent walks. A really gorgeous location and I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Had a great stay in this bed and breakfast. We were made to feel very welcome and the rooms were clean and very comfortable. Its a lovely building with everything you need. The surrounding area is fantastic and the village has two great pubs. The B&B owners gave friendly, helpful advice on places nearby to visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Townhead for a week. We are a family of 2 adults and 2 pre-teen children. Bonsall village is a great place to base yourself. Perfect for the White Peak, with walks literally out of the front door. Two great pubs in the village too.
The accomodation is wonderful, with a real English farmhouse feel. Comfortable bedrooms with fluffy white towels and just the sounds of the countryside to be heard after dark.
David and Caroline are the perfect hosts. Very friendly, they did everything within their power to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The children were completely relaxed, and loved playing with the dog, in the garden and field behind.
Breakfast was the best we had ever seen in a B&B. All locally sourced, cooked fresh on the Aga - and as for the bread - which David seems to make fresh daily - amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
1.2 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
1.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 51 in Matlock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 7 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast

Property: Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Address: 70 High Street, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the delightful village of Bonsall with its 2 great pubs and maze of footpaths. Easy reach of motorways but close to Derbyshire Dales and Peak District attractions such as Chatsworth House, Heights of Abraham and Haddon Hall. Relax in front of the log fire and enjoy local food cooked on our Aga. Secure bicycle storage and washing facilities. Muddy boots and pets welcome. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Townhead Farmhouse Bed And Breakfast Bonsall, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing