We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service without a smile, but quite nice cake!”

The Fountain Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Bonsall
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $9
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
East Mids UK
Level Contributor
177 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Service without a smile, but quite nice cake!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Cakes are unusual, with Dandelion & Burdock, Gin and Tonic and such like.
We sat outside, which is not scenic, but overlooks the village.
Enjoyed the tea and cake, but the girl who took our order inside and delivered it to us outside was one of those sullen types who appeared to think she might not look 'cool' if she smiled & made us feel welcome. It is such a shame as a smile and a warm welcome cost them nothing.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ukbusinesslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    19
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Lovely”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on a Monday. Lots of choice and excellent food, good portions and really friendly service. Obviously a lot of work has been put into renovating this old pub and it shows. Much better than anything in Matlock Bath and would really recommend going that extra few miles - we certainly will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kwtDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Leisurely Alfresco Lunch”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Beautiful peaceful spot a couple of miles from the hustle and bustle of Matlock Bath on a Summer Sunday. Pleasant outdoor sun trap terrace. Varied menu, try the ploughmans, excellent cheeses and good portions and value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PYB100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Food”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Enjoyed a lunch and breakfast here; beautiful home cooked local food with great service. Toasted sandwiches set us up for the walk back, next time we will pop a piece of the delicious looking cakes in our bag for the journey!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DavidM_SandyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best tea room going ”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

The staff are wonderful, friendly and full of smiles and banter :). You feel welcome as soon as you walk in. The service was spot on and the food was top notch. A lovely decor and very clean. A must visit and worth a drive out of your way just to come and have a relax and a cuppa. Ohhh I forgot to mention the home made cake :) yum yum yum.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fountain Tea Rooms also viewed

 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Cromford, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Fountain Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing