We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely traditional pub”
Review of The Barley Mow

The Barley Mow
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Bonsall
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Barley Mow is a lively and eccentric Free House located in the beautiful village of Bonsall. Famous for the 'World Championship Hen Races', and for being the most likely place to be abducted by aliens according to UFO magazine ! Fine food, great ale & one of the best live music venues in the area !
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

We visited this pub three times during the week we stayed in Bonsall. Our only regret is that we didn't get around to sampling the food which looked very good and was reasonably priced. The first two evenings we visited there was a beer festival on and the pub was very busy. On the third occasion during the week it was much quieter. We were made to feel very welcome on all occasions. This is a traditional pub; small, eclectic decor (no themes or interior designers here), good honest food rather than gastro, great beer, great atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hi Anne :) thanks for coming and the lovely review! Sorry its took long time to reply... please come again! Colette x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
There are newer reviews for The Barley Mow
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 253 of 298 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lovely little pub, food is comfort eating but very fresh and locally sourced. Ale is great. Stand out feature is the lovely couple running this place. Really, really good place to go to spend a nice few hours. The only bad review of the place appears to have been written on April 1...but you'd be a fool yourself not to like the BM!

1  Thank Kurt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thanks so much for coming and for your lovely comments :) we appreciate you coming please come again soon! Colette x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is the first occasion when trip-advisor hasn't worked for us. We planned a day out in the Derbys area and I thought it would be an idea to end the day at a nice pub for a meal. To find one I searched trip advisor and the B.M. clearly went to the top of our list due to the previous 'raving reviews'.
We had a great day out, which was spoiled to a certain degree upon arrival at the B.M.
I'll stick to the facts: -
1. It's a 'local boozer' (or drinkers pub) as opposed to a place for a nice meal. In retrospect, the previous reviews from people 'camping' etc should have given a clue.
2. It's a bit run-down.
3. There is only one room for all - a cat would hit its head on the walls if you swung one. So diners, drinkers, dogs etc all just have to 'shove up'.
4. Although plentiful, the food was nothing better than 'average'. Ours were & I looked around at other diners plates and they didn't look anything to write home about either.
Now these 'issues' aren't the end of the world I suppose, and my preconceptions were based upon previous reviews - so not the 'fault' of the B.M.
However, what the B.M. are responsible for is the advertising of their food-boards. Included in the description of some meals was the term 'proper chips' - which to me tends to suggest homely & home prepared & cooked chips. Whether they'd run out of 'real potatoes' I don't know, and wasn't indicated by the board, but what we had, and those around us had been served, were clearly 'frozen chips'.
This review is submitted in a genuine attempt at assisting people who may search Tripadvisor for a pub in Matlock. If you're a drinker, walker, camper, then i'm sure this would be fine for you.
For couples/families looking for a 'nice' place to eat at the end of a nice day out, 'no'.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Hi Wayne, sorry to hear our pub wasn't what you expected, but I suppose that's more a Tripadvisor Category issue - we are segmented into "Restaurants" which we clearly are not, we are not even a fancy"Gastropub", we are just a little rural pub - a very small, single room, 200 year old pub. This makes it very hard to meet everyone's expectations. However in the main we manage to get somewhere near to that, as our great reviews and ranking show...but sadly not this time, but as they say, you can't win them all :) Thanks for coming all the same, we appreciate the business. Colette x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

The Barley Mow is simply fantastic, a group of friends and I were walking the Limestone Way and we camped at the back of this pub and it was probably the highlight of the trip, the food is amazing (the Bakewell Pudding is unbelievable) and the owners are so chatty and friendly.
We're already making plans to return, can't recommend it enough.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanWilliams93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thanks Dan! As before..thanks for the review, and thanks for coming! Good luck with your studies and hope to see you all again when its a bit walmer! Colette x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I spent a night camping at the Barley Mow's new tent pitches above the pub and can quite honestly say this was probably the best place I have ever camped. The staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The food was extremely good pub food and the portions were really generous. I highly reccomend it and fully intend to return there if I'm in the Peak District again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanDupont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David W, Owner at The Barley Mow, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Hey Dan :) thanks for the review, we appreciate it :) Hope the rest of the walk went ok...I did think about you later in the week when it snowed, but you obviously made it back to civilisation and the internet! Good luck with your studies and come back and see us again. Colette x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Barley Mow also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Cromford, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Barley Mow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing