We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a pleasure to stay here”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Study Farm Cottage

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Electric stove in original stone fireplace Living room showing dining table
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
Living room
Electric stove in original stone fireplace
Living room showing dining table
Fireplace with original gritstone flags
Double bedroom with ample space for a travel cot
Double bedroom showing built in wardrobe, cupboards and dressing table
Bathroom
Bathroom showing electric shower over bath
Kitchen
Kitchen from living room
Kitchen
View into kitchen from French doors
Come in we're open......
September 2017
The patio area gets lots of sunshine
Entrance to Study Farm Cottage from car park
First completed planter... more to follow!!
Patio area with garden furniture
Patio area - perfect for a relaxing afternoon
Study Manor House in its former glory.
Cows and calves in the meadow
Cow and calf in the meadow
A calf enjoying his supper
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gailee272
Stone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“a pleasure to stay here”
Reviewed December 31, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

It was a pleasure to stay in Study Farm Cottage, a nice welcome from Jayne when we arrived, the accommodation is immaculate, well equipped, spacious, very warm an cosy, Bonsall is a lovely village with access to walks from the cottage, we would recommend any couple to take a break here, even had snow, very pretty.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2018
Thanks for your review Gail, I really appreciate it. It's great to hear how much you liked the cottage and our lovely village. The snowfall we had over the Christmas period was an added bonus.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark B
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is a lovely little cottage that offers everything a couple needs for a relaxing break in the Peak District. It's tastefully decorated, surprisingly spacious and equipped with every modern convenience you could possibly need. The area is pleasant with some good walks available straight from the door, plus two typical country pubs and a nice tearoom with adjacent delicatessen. With some challenging health problems to keep in check, I made some extra requests prior to our stay and Jayne, the property owner, was very accommodating. This impressed me greatly.

Eggs and milk were waiting in the fridge on our arrival and Jayne stopped by at her earliest convenience to ensure everything was okay for us. It was!

All in all, a real little gem of a place.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2017
Thanks for your review Mark. I'm glad you had a great stay at the cottage
and enjoyed all the amenities in the village.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Comfortable, Cosy and Clean”
Reviewed October 31, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

My girlfriend and I spent three nights at Study Farm Cottage and we'd definitely recommend it to other couples. The cottage is very clean, cosy, decorated to a high standard and has all the amenities you need for a few days away. The kitchen is well equipped and Jayne (the owner) very kindly left milk and eggs in the fridge for us. The cottage offers secure parking.

Jayne was very responsive before our stay and welcomed us when we arrived, showing us around the property. She has helpfully put together a folder of suggested walks, activities and dining recommendations for the local area.

Although Bonsall is a quiet village, it's very close to bigger towns and offers easy access to other areas of the Peak District.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 1, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed all that the Peak District has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rubytuesd...
Luxor, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful!”
Reviewed October 9, 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The reviews on here are for Study Farm Barn which is the larger property. This review is for the newly finished Study Farm Cottage which is beautiful one bedroom rental property. I booked this cottage for my parents who are both in their 60’s and don’t have a Trip Advisor account. The booking process was very easy and communication with Jayne (the owner) was faultless.

In regards to the stay, I’ve got information from my parents to report back!

They had an amazing time! The cottage is immaculate, beautifully decorated and fantastically clean. There are very few one-bed cottages in the area and the pricing is around the same as you’d expect to pay in a Travel Lodge so excellent value for money and a unique offering. The cottage is perfect for a couple but there is room for a travel cot if the couple has a young baby or toddler. Jayne has paid particular attention to detail which gives the wow factor as soon as you walk in. The cottage is really well stocked with a dishwasher, toaster, kettle and plenty of cutlery and crockery something that is often lacking in rental cottages. Jayne kindly left milk and eggs, the latter of which was delicious. The living room is exceptionally cosy making it a perfect place to snuggle up in during the colder evenings. The bedroom is well laid out with lovely decor as well.

The village of Bonsall is delightful with two really nice pubs, The Kings Head and The Barley Mow as well as a gorgeous tearoom called ‘The Fountain’ with an adjoining shop/deli for essentials. All the places that they wanted to visit were only a short distance from the cottage, Bakewell, The Heights of Abraham, Matlock and Cromford Mill but there is still lots more that they wanted to do in the area so I think a revisit could be on the cards.

Overall, this is a gem of a find. Jayne and her husband have done an amazing job with this cottage, a lot of love, care and attention has gone into it which is shown in the results they’ve achieved. Jayne is a wonderfully warm, friendly hospitable person and you could not wish for a nicer host. We would highly recommend Study Farm Cottage and hope to visit again soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2017
Thank you so much I couldn't have asked for a better first review for our cottage. It makes the nine months of hard work renovating it all worth while. I look forward to welcoming you both back again so that you can discover more of the area (and snuggle up in the cosy living room).
Thanks. Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing