We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky place, great for a long weekend with...”
other travelers have booked this property
Study Farm Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Bunk beds - entrance on ground floor
Family bathroom - entrance on ground floor
View from bottom of stairs through to dining room
Lounge - first floor
Double bedroom with ensuite - first floor
Ensuite shower room - first floor
Twin room - first floor
Twin room - first floor - beds can be put together to act as a double
Dining room - first floor
Dining room  and part of kitchen- first floor
Part of Kitchen - first floor
Twin room - ground floor - below dining room
Double bedroom- ground floor - below dining room
Family Bathroom - below dining room
View from kitchen to outside area
Bottom of Study Drive, opposite Fountain Tea Rooms
View of car park from Study Drive
Private outdoor seating area with furniture and bbq
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
View from kitchen to outdoor area
Outdoor seating area
Outdoor seating area
Christmas at Study Farm
Christmas at Study Farm
The original Study Manor House
Study Farm
View over Bonsall in Winter
The Cross & Kings Head Pub
Well Dressing - Carnival starts last Saturday of July
Fireworks that end Bonsall Carnival week - first Friday in August
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Devonblad...
Northants
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quirky place, great for a long weekend with friends.”
Reviewed April 29, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Great location, tucked away in Bonsall but really easy to get to the rest of the village.
Study Farm Barn is lovely, with an upside-down layout. Two flights of stairs, one at either end of the building, lead down to four of the bedrooms, the other two are on the first floor. Lovely dining hall and great patio area, ( shame it wasn't warm enough for us to sit out once the sun went down). The bedrooms are not huge, but all very pleasantly presented and had wardrobe and drawer space so we could unpack properly. All very clean and tidy, and Jayne was very welcoming.

The Fountain teashop is a two minute walk away & does great cakes, and for a fun night with the locals head to the Barley Mow pub.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 2, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to put on a review Katrina. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your stay at Study Farm Barn and the handy village amenities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Apr 10, 2018
Thanks so much for that great review Jess. I'm so glad the children had fun and you could relax and enjoy yourselves too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom W
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay in a lovely village”
Reviewed March 27, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed here for a couple of nights in march for a gathering of friends. Its a really lovely place with lots of room for a gathering.
Great facilities in the kitchen and very comfortable beds, with plenty of bathrooms.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2018
Thanks Tom, I'm glad you all had a great time and enjoyed the comfort of the Barn. It would be great to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Wonderful. Could not fault anything?”
Reviewed March 1, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Had 3 night stay to celebrate 50th wedding anniversary. There were 12 people, and the facilities were excellent. Everything from cutlery, glassware, towels, bedclothes all seemed to be brand new. The owner Jayne was extremely helpful, was there to greet us. She took in our online delivery, and was even kind enough to leave us complimentry eggs and milk fresh from the farm on arrival. I could not rate the whole experience any higher. Many thanks Jayne, hope to visit again very soon.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 6, 2018
I'm so glad you had an excellent experience for your celebrations Bruce. It was lovely to meet you and your family. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you all again soon.
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jan 1, 2018
Thanks for taking the time to put on a review Isabella. I'm so glad you all enjoyed your Christmas with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 16, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Oct 18, 2017
Thanks for your review Ruth. I'm really pleased your whole family enjoyed not only your stay at Study Farm Barn but our beautiful village too. We would love to see you and your lovely family again in the future. Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ann B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great for families with young children”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We came here as it was a short drive from Alton Towers and convenient for the attractions of Matlock Spa and Chatsworth.
The house was beautifully clean and comfortable. Our children (7 and under) played outside in the fenced in garden and the little ones (2 & 4) could not leave the shingle alone.
There are plenty of foil lined tins for cooked English breakfast or ready-meals in cartons. I ordered baking parchment to line the tins on top of the foil to stop bacon & sausages sticking. The saucepans are easily big enough for 2 or 3 tins of tomatoes or beans. Sainsburys is the only supermarket which will deliver. However if you intend to cook Bolognaise, pasta, curry or stews for 8 or more you need to bring large saucepans with you. Jayne very kindly obtained a preserving pan which enabled me to cook pasta for our party of 6 adults and 5 children. Washing machine tablets, fairy liquid and cloths were provided.
The barn is built into a hill and the windows onto the front are quite small. Upstairs is very light and airy and receives a lot of sunshine. Downstairs the atmosphere is more basement like. We kept the downstairs bathroom light on to keep the extractor working to ensure that the maximum amount of moisture was extracted and reduce the likelihood of mould formation. The bathroom was spotless and all the grout was in good condition, and we wanted to do our best to help it stay that way. If you examine the photos you will see that there is very little room down the side of the downstairs double beds. This was not a problem for us but it could be a problem for some more elderly people. The pub up the road to the left, is up a bit of a hill and the footpath up the side through the woodland is even steeper and requires proper shoes. We did not eat at the pub because we needed to get our children in bed early. Had we wanted to, we would probably have taken a car. Some of us did a quick walk around the village which took us nearly an hour because it is very hilly. Six couples holidaying together would probably wish for somewhere more luxurious ,however this accommodation is perfect for extended families with children. Jayne was extremely kind and helpful and even printed our tickets for our attraction on our way home. We really enjoyed our stay and wished we had stayed longer to explore more of this beautiful area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Thanks for your review Ann. I'm glad you found the Barn beautifully clean and comfortable and perfect for your extended family stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing