We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great for families with young children”
other travelers have booked this property
Study Farm Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
83 reviews
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Bunk beds - entrance on ground floor
Family bathroom - entrance on ground floor
View from bottom of stairs through to dining room
Lounge - first floor
Double bedroom with ensuite - first floor
Ensuite shower room - first floor
Twin room - first floor
Twin room - first floor - beds can be put together to act as a double
Dining room - first floor
Dining room  and part of kitchen- first floor
Part of Kitchen - first floor
Twin room - ground floor - below dining room
Double bedroom- ground floor - below dining room
Family Bathroom - below dining room
View from kitchen to outside area
Bottom of Study Drive, opposite Fountain Tea Rooms
View of car park from Study Drive
Private outdoor seating area with furniture and bbq
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
View from kitchen to outdoor area
Outdoor seating area
Outdoor seating area
Christmas at Study Farm
Christmas at Study Farm
The original Study Manor House
Study Farm
View over Bonsall in Winter
The Cross & Kings Head Pub
Well Dressing - Carnival starts last Saturday of July
Fireworks that end Bonsall Carnival week - first Friday in August
Outside seating area showing hot tub - only available if hired separately
Outdoor seating area showing hot tub - only available if hired separately.
Summer 2019. Flowers are out, time to relax in the garden space.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 83 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann B
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great for families with young children”
Reviewed October 11, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We came here as it was a short drive from Alton Towers and convenient for the attractions of Matlock Spa and Chatsworth.
The house was beautifully clean and comfortable. Our children (7 and under) played outside in the fenced in garden and the little ones (2 & 4) could not leave the shingle alone.
There are plenty of foil lined tins for cooked English breakfast or ready-meals in cartons. I ordered baking parchment to line the tins on top of the foil to stop bacon & sausages sticking. The saucepans are easily big enough for 2 or 3 tins of tomatoes or beans. Sainsburys is the only supermarket which will deliver. However if you intend to cook Bolognaise, pasta, curry or stews for 8 or more you need to bring large saucepans with you. Jayne very kindly obtained a preserving pan which enabled me to cook pasta for our party of 6 adults and 5 children. Washing machine tablets, fairy liquid and cloths were provided.
The barn is built into a hill and the windows onto the front are quite small. Upstairs is very light and airy and receives a lot of sunshine. Downstairs the atmosphere is more basement like. We kept the downstairs bathroom light on to keep the extractor working to ensure that the maximum amount of moisture was extracted and reduce the likelihood of mould formation. The bathroom was spotless and all the grout was in good condition, and we wanted to do our best to help it stay that way. If you examine the photos you will see that there is very little room down the side of the downstairs double beds. This was not a problem for us but it could be a problem for some more elderly people. The pub up the road to the left, is up a bit of a hill and the footpath up the side through the woodland is even steeper and requires proper shoes. We did not eat at the pub because we needed to get our children in bed early. Had we wanted to, we would probably have taken a car. Some of us did a quick walk around the village which took us nearly an hour because it is very hilly. Six couples holidaying together would probably wish for somewhere more luxurious ,however this accommodation is perfect for extended families with children. Jayne was extremely kind and helpful and even printed our tickets for our attraction on our way home. We really enjoyed our stay and wished we had stayed longer to explore more of this beautiful area.

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 15, 2017
Thanks for your review Ann. I'm glad you found the Barn beautifully clean and comfortable and perfect for your extended family stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawkins20...
Findon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a large family gathering”
Reviewed October 1, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We gathered as a family, from all over the country, to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday, and Study Barn Farm was the perfect place to stay for the week - the barn was immaculate and spacious for the 4 families to gather. The beds were comfortable, and we made excellent use of the outdoor space - the cows coming to say hi at the fence was a lovely touch!

Jayne, the owner, was kind and helpful, and nothing was too much trouble.

The local village pub 'The Barley Mow' was unmissable, and they catered for our large clan with ease. The Fountain tea room was a lovely treat for our last day's breakfast.

We would recommend Study Barn and would love to return again next year! Thank you Jayne.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 2, 2017
Thanks for your great review Nicola. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. It's not everywhere that can boast they have cows as next door neighbours !! We would love to welcome you all again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure...
1 review
“Study Farm Barn Amazing And thank you Jayne.”
Reviewed September 21, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Enjoyed a wonderful weekend with our family celebrating Diane,a big birthday. Study Barn was excellent very clean fully equipped for all our needs. Jayne arranged a hot tub for the weekend all set up for our arrival and we had a blast in it totally recommend the hot tub experience.Recommened and enjoyed a meal at the Barley Mow well worth a visit,all in all a great weekend,once again thank you Jayne

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2017
Hi Richard and Diane, thanks for taking the trouble to leave a great review.
I'm glad you enjoyed the hot tub and hope it made your birthday celebrations more memorable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coops2000
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect getaway with friends or family in friendly Derbyshire village.”
Reviewed September 20, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a place! it was perfect for my 50th Birthday getaway with 8 friends.
A quiet location with The Barley Mow Pub, which is one of the friendliest pubs in England within 5 minutes walk away, great food and local ales served by a very friendly and welcoming bar team. The Kings Head is also only 5 minutes away which is great to stop off at on the walk to Matlock Bath. I also recommend The Fountain Tea Rooms for an Oakcake breakfast.
The Barn had lovely high ceilings and is well kitted out. The heating works well making it very cosy even if its a cold night.
There is a hot tub if needed and a gas BBQ. The patio at the back is big enough for 12 people to sit , chat, eat and watch the cows in the field behind.
The owner Jayne is very helpful and attentive.Jayne warned us about local road closures and was very helpful in giving alternative routes. Jayne made sure that we had everything we needed and answered e mails right to the last minute despite the fact she was going on holiday herself . Jayne also made available maps of several walks in the local area and I recommend the walk to The heights of Abraham and Matlock Bath.
I have stayed in a few holiday lets before and I highly recommend Jayne's property if you are planning on a group weekend away. Bonsall is a small village but very friendly and loads to do and see in the local area.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2017
Thanks for your great review Steven. I'm really glad you had a great weekend and enjoyed the hospitality of our village pubs and the fabulous walks in the area. I look forward to actually meeting you if you have chance to return to Bonsall.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom65...
1 review
“Great Family Weekend”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Had a wonderful stay at this large large Bonsall House. Lovely rooms, and nice large dinning area for family eating.Enjoyed the added bonus of the hot tub. Jane the owner very friendly and welcoming. Plenty do do around the area walking or by car.

Date of stay: September 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2017
Hi Ann, thanks for your great review. I'm so glad you and your family enjoyed your stay at Study Farm Barn and made the most of the many things to do in the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura B
2 reviews
“Fantastic accommodation in the perfect, peaceful location”
Reviewed August 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic accommodation with brilliant facilities for a large party. Was perfect for our family long weekend away to celebrate a big birthday. Great location with numerous walks just on the doorstep. Jayne was a brilliant host, very helpful and great with last minute requests, ie forgetting a travel cot for our little one in our party. Would definitely recommend this accommodation and will be returning at some point in the near future for another get together.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2017
Thanks for your great review Laura. It was lovely to meet you all and I'm glad you had such a good time here. I look forward to seeing you all again when you return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tifosidav...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing family weekend.”
Reviewed June 25, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from Study Barn and could not have had a better time in a lovely spacious well appointed accommodation.
We were welcomed on Thursday evening by Jayne who took us round and showed us where everything was, including the hot tub which see had arranged for us.

First impression was of a well looked after and very spacious place which had enough space for our group of 6 adults and 4 kids, the separated bedrooms were ideal as each family unit had their own space and bathroom. The kitchen was well equipped and it was nice to be able to sit down for dinner together either in the dining area or in the garden if the weather was suitable. The kids loved being able to explore the house and enjoyed their time together and liked the park/field at the end of the road.
The location is fantastic as it gives you the feeling of being in the middle of nowhere yet you are close enough to main roads so can easily get to lots of places to go and visit.
I would highly recommend this rental to anyone wanting a spacious quiet getaway while still being able to do things out and about. It was just what we were hoping for. Thanks Jayne for a lovely few days.
Dave, Danielle and family.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2017
Thanks so much for your review. It was great to meet you and your lovely family. I'm so glad you all had a good time and I'm sure the nice weather and the hot tub added to your experience. The park at the bottom of the drive is also very handy for keeping the kids amused. Thanks again.
Jayne
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing