We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful homely Farm Barn in friendly historic...”
other travelers have booked this property
Study Farm Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
69 reviews
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Bunk beds - entrance on ground floor
Family bathroom - entrance on ground floor
View from bottom of stairs through to dining room
Lounge - first floor
Double bedroom with ensuite - first floor
Ensuite shower room - first floor
Twin room - first floor
Twin room - first floor - beds can be put together to act as a double
Dining room - first floor
Dining room  and part of kitchen- first floor
Part of Kitchen - first floor
Twin room - ground floor - below dining room
Double bedroom- ground floor - below dining room
Family Bathroom - below dining room
View from kitchen to outside area
Bottom of Study Drive, opposite Fountain Tea Rooms
View of car park from Study Drive
Private outdoor seating area with furniture and bbq
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
View from kitchen to outdoor area
Outdoor seating area
Outdoor seating area
Christmas at Study Farm
Christmas at Study Farm
The original Study Manor House
Study Farm
View over Bonsall in Winter
The Cross & Kings Head Pub
Well Dressing - Carnival starts last Saturday of July
Fireworks that end Bonsall Carnival week - first Friday in August
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Darren C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful homely Farm Barn in friendly historic Peake District village”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Dear tripadvisors, i hardly ever give a review on this site as so many places and things are really good in life amd where's the time to document them all however I feel I need to let the social media world know about Study Hill Farm and the village of Bonsall it is in the heart of. My friends and I celebrated my birthday last weekend and it is such a lovely place thst I feel I should let you all know. To find some where that easily accommodates 12 people and is child friendly (we had a 2 year old along who loved it) right in the heart of a lovely Derbyshire Peake district village is quite a unique thing please believe me. For the whole weekend no one had to drive their car out of the adjacent car park, or wait for taxis, meaning we could all stroll down, in a matter of minutes, to the pubs in the village. We only ate at the Barley Mow and the food was fantastic and staff really friendly. I should really do a seperate review of that place as the Landlady Collette was so accommodating as were all the regulars on there. In fact all the village made us feel part of them even though we were only there 3 days. Please do yourselves a favour if your having a celebration with several friends and want to be in the country but have easy access to buy groceries and good pubs, well rest assured Study Hill Farm can't be beat for my money. Jayne, the owner answered my tripadvisor emails quickly and fully. Upon arrival she met and greeted us and showed us around. Local eggs, fesh orange juice, milk, coffee and tea were all provided. I've seen and stayed in a lot of the Peake District and its all been neverless than a wonderful. I've never taken the time to give a review though. I hope my words help you in your choice of a break. Enjoy Study Farm Barn and the people of Bonsall. Lastly you can go on many hikes or pram friendly walks around the village. Its right in the heart of the limestone trail and really has stunning views right from leaving the Barn. All the best to you.

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Excellent!”
Reviewed March 13, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

A perfect place to stay for a group of friends. The social spaces were brilliant for our group of 10, including the great outdoor table, and everything was kept to a very high standard. Highly recommended! Thank you Jayne for a great weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ninawelch
Witham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for a friends get together”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The barn was a great social space for a big group to meet with plenty of room and a lovely big dining table. Jayne was very helpful and kindly posted my son his book which we left behind.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosie5519
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent refurb”
Reviewed November 25, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I think this was our 4th visit but our first since the two barns were joined.
The refurb is excellent and proved much better for our large party. The best new feature is the outside area which we tried hard to use despite the weather! Plenty of seating and it must be lovely in the warmer months. Inside there is a huge dining table, the kitchen has been refitted and an extra twin bedroom provided. The whole space is excellent and plenty of equipment provided in the kitchen. Its situation near the wonderful coffee shop and half way between two good pubs a bonus. You will have to search hard for a better village and 'from the doorstep walking' than this wonderful place in Bonsall. We will definitely be back. This is the only rental we have been to more than once in the last 20 years, that's how much we rate it. Been told wifi arriving soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The new outside area and the large dining table
Liked least: the lack of wifi
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blodwin52
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great place, good location for a friends meet up”
Reviewed October 19, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Ten of us met here for a reunion weekend. House lovely, bedrooms and bathrooms good. Plenty of parking. Kitchen great with plenty of equipment. Nice big table for us all to congregate around. Location of the house is good - Bonsall has two fantastic pubs in the village and tea rooms - we didn't have to leave all weekend. Lovely patio area out the back of the house. Excellent weekend - thanks Jayne for getting my clothes back to me!!!! Next time I'll check the wardrobe before I leave!
Jenny

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mardale72
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great property, lovely location”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A really nice property with the right number of rooms and the right space for our 10-person group, including children. Well presented and friendly owners. The village of Bonsall is very peaceful and well worth a visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Quality, size and location
Liked least: Felt expensive, but probably not bad for the size of property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul W
1 review
“Lovely Accommodation - Great Location”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've just returned from a great weekend away here at Study Barn! We had a large group with 11 adults and 2 young children. Jayne was very welcoming and was very quick on all correspondence prior to our stay and extremely helpful. The barn was immaculate upon arrival in a lovely setting at the top of the hill - just a short walk from the tea rooms and local pubs. The facilities on site were great with a good kitchen and lovely garden for eating, drinking and games. The house also backs onto fields with cows nearby - the adults loved seeing the cows just as much as (if not more than) the kids!

Bonsall itself is well placed for local attractions in Matlock Bath (e.g. Heights of Abraham, Gullivers) as well as lovely walks in Dovedale and local towns such as Bakewell - all a short drive away. The group were all really impressed with the location.

I would certainly return here again and would definitely recommend to friends / family.

Thank you Jayne for hosting us for a great long weekend away!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden & Location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;