We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Weekend Away with Good Friends”
other travelers have booked this property
Study Farm Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Study Farm Barn
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Double bedroom - entrance on ground floor
Bunk beds - entrance on ground floor
Family bathroom - entrance on ground floor
View from bottom of stairs through to dining room
Lounge - first floor
Double bedroom with ensuite - first floor
Ensuite shower room - first floor
Twin room - first floor
Twin room - first floor - beds can be put together to act as a double
Dining room - first floor
Dining room  and part of kitchen- first floor
Part of Kitchen - first floor
Twin room - ground floor - below dining room
Double bedroom- ground floor - below dining room
Family Bathroom - below dining room
View from kitchen to outside area
Bottom of Study Drive, opposite Fountain Tea Rooms
View of car park from Study Drive
Private outdoor seating area with furniture and bbq
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
Outdoor seating area looking out onto fields
View from kitchen to outdoor area
Outdoor seating area
Outdoor seating area
Christmas at Study Farm
Christmas at Study Farm
The original Study Manor House
Study Farm
View over Bonsall in Winter
The Cross & Kings Head Pub
Well Dressing - Carnival starts last Saturday of July
Fireworks that end Bonsall Carnival week - first Friday in August
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liz T
Leicestershire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Weekend Away with Good Friends”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked the Barns for two 50th Birthday celebrations. The Barns are ideal for a large party of friends. Two Barns directly next door. We had 9 of us and were able to have a lovely Special Meal in one of the Barns one of the nights. The owner Jayne is such a lovely lady - we exchanged a number of emails before we went - as I just wanted to make sure everything was perfect - and it was. The weather was so good we were able to sit in the court yard and drink our champagne in the afternoon in glorious sunshine. Absolutely idyllic. The local pubs are fantastic. Especially the Kings Head which has recently been taken over by Michael who is such a kind and friendly host. The food there was excellent and very reasonable. The location of the Barns means you can walk to the pubs and the excellent Fountains Tea Rooms which is also well worth a visit. We walked from Bonsall to Matlock - quite a walk but very satisfying. I would thoroughly recommend the Barns and Bonsall if you are looking for somewhere for a large family or group of friends. You really couldn't find anywhere better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robsaitch
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic base for our cycling holiday”
Reviewed October 4, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at Study Farm Barn during the last week of August.
The accommodation was very clean and fresh. Jane was the most fantastic host and made us feel most welcome from the moment we arrived until we left one week later.
The beds were comfortable and the facilities in the cottage were of a great standard.
Having the use of the farmhouses washing machine was also very useful when dealing with a child with special needs.
The cottage is in breathtakingly beautiful location. Only about an hours walk into Matlock Bath and all it has to offer.
The village of Bonsall is also very well provided for with a cafe at the bottom of the hill, a really good play park and football pitch. The pubs are also very good especially the Barley Mow where the food was of an excellent standard. The people of Bonsall were so friendly as well, unlike other places I have been where tourists are seen as an annoyance.
As for the Peak district as a whole all I can say is that the cycling we did during that week was in one word BRILLIANT.
They are truly lucky to have such great trails off road in the most fantastic countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawn H
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect accommodation for 3 families!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

What a lovely place! Friendly, helpful owners. Clean, well furnished and maintained. Perfect for our families with a secure courtyard and regular visits from the tractor which was very exciting for tractor obsessed Noah (who even got to sit in it!)
In- built stair gates kept the kids safe in the upstairs living areas.
Thank you so much for having us. We hope to return again soon. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and quality of the let.
Liked least: The dog ( in kennel) was a little noisy at times but he was moved so as not to disturb the kids playing.
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 15, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 15, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Poor lighting when walking home in the dark, as there were pot holes on the lane
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kate E
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We rented both barns for our family gathering to celebrate my Mother's 70th birthday and we had a wonderful time. Both barns were very clean, well equipped and very spacious.
Jayne was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
The village location was perfect, we ate out in the Kings Head (very good pub grub!) and some of us had a couple of drinks in the Barley Mow. Both establishments made us feel very welcome.
The children enjoyed the space to run around in the park and the location of Bonsall was well situated for us to get out and about and sample the surrounding countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendly welcome and fresh eggs and milk on arrival
Liked least: Nothing at all to complain about
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley456
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation in lovely setting close to Matlock and the Peak District”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

A family group of 11 of us aged between 2 and 77 stayed over the New Year, the accommodation is really clean, well equipped and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The photographs do not do the two Barns justice.
The owners couldn't do enough for us and were welcoming and very helpful.
We did one of the walks suggested and found the instructions very clear and precise. We also visited both the pubs - the Kings Head and the Barley Mow, both pubs were very nice and we had a very good meal at the Barley Mow and Collette and her staff made us very welcome although they were very busy preparing to host a New Years Eve party in a Marquis.
We had a trip into Matlock and went around the Aquarian and also the Masson Mills.
Would thoroughly recommend tried to book for next New Year but unfortunately it has already been booked.
Would highly recommend this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very lovely spacious accommodation.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$306
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing