We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in a great location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Weavers cottage

Weavers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Weavers Cottage
mid-level garden view Lounge - the TV has been replaced and updated!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
57 reviews
Weavers Cottage
mid-level garden view
Lounge - the TV has been replaced and updated!
Another happy visitor
stained glass in master bedroom
Kitchen
Derwent Edge
Bonsall Cross - our local landmark
Matlock Bath - all the fun of the fair
Wall painting by Kai Suede
pondlife
garden paths in summer
Tiger by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Our marvellous new village shop! open seven days a week.
Gallery view
winter view above village
Alcove art by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Winter walking towards Winster
Exploring the hillside garden in Autumn
Carnival time in July - for all ages
The view from the front door up Yeoman street
Outdoor lounge area (ask in advance for the cushions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
zane13
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in a great location”
Reviewed February 16, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Had a great stay in Bonsall at this lovely cottage. The cottage is warm and comfortable, very spacious, loved the layout and the huge bath! Easy to park your car in the bay opposite. Bonsall is a great location for walking and had a tasty meal at the barley mow pub. I would really recommend this cottage and hope to be back! Owner was very friendly and easy to communicate with.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michellea...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had absolutely everything you could need”
Reviewed February 13, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Brilliant location two pubs within easy walking distance great for walks and bike rides really cosy comfy cottage with brilliant facilities has everything you could possibly need, the bath was amazing after a long day walking in the hills for a deep soak in radox!! (Other bath salts are available!!! Lol) Will definitely be back here again. Only downside was we couldn't get connected to the wifi.

Date of stay: February 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath
Liked least: Nothing other than the wifi issue
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy2pen...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tardis”
Reviewed November 11, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for a long weekend and the place is fantastic! So much larger than it looks from the outside, the high peaked roof ceilings and open balcony area really do make a difference. The weather wasn't great (November in the peaks) so we got to spend lots of time inside and we were glad of it! The bath is fantastic but so is the multi-jet shower so you'll struggle to pick between them. The bed is huge and really comfy too. The kitchen is large and well equipped so we had no problem catering for ourselves. Between the two local pubs and the farm deli (open on Sundays too!) you don't need to leave the village if you don't want to.

We came to paint and write and the place is wonderful for that, a very snug creative space with wall murals and art everywhere.

Date of stay: November 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath
Liked least: no breadknife in kitchen
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dini99916...
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic cottage with everything you need”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Quite a spacious cottage with everything you need included. We travelled with our two small children 5 months and 20 months. Took us a while to figure out how to get into the cottage, but was our own failt for not noticing the box by the door for the key. We were provided with a travel cot which was already set up ready for her when we arrived. Also there was a booster seat and changing mat which came in very handy as we forgot ours. Lots of toys to keep the little ones entertained. Lovely bathroom (also a baby bath seat and toys!) . Tv signal was pretty bad but didn't bother us as we watched one of the many DVDs at night.. Visited the pretty towns surrounding the area, our favourite was matlock bath where we had a lovely lunch at a cafe called 'when the clock strikes 8' and also bakewell was stunning. Just wished we had stayed longer as there was so much more we wanted to do In the area.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pretty cottage in quaint village
Liked least: Bad tv signal
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 10, 2015
Thanks for the review and glad all the toys and baby equipment proved its value! (very happy that my son's toys have enduring value!)
The TV needs an upgrade, and will be duly sorted!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micydunde...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely little cottage,Perfect for Families and couples and Great location...”
Reviewed June 14, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Visited with my family for the weekend and Enjoyed my stay,The location very good and very quaint building,However there was slight confusion on arrival as we couldn't retrieve key and had to get cleaner to let us in who herself was unaware of our arrival :( However once inside was very impressed Kitchen is lovely and bedrooms are Fab!!! The garden is very nice but steep of course,People with small children be careful as some of the old steps are unsafe so stick to patio area,Bathroom very nice and modern however found the shower and steam room slightly confusing but eventually sorted it but unfortunately most of our showers were luke warm and bath water was no warmer,Unfortunately we only found the Welcome guide on the last day so we eventualy got hot water,Maybe the welcome pack could be updated as it was behind the tv,But honestly apart from that it was a lovely stay and would happily return again in the Future.

Date of stay: June 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christina...
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really lovely, cosy, beautiful place”
Reviewed February 8, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

The photographs of this cottage do not do it justice. It is so cosy, warm, friendly and comfortable, full of character and style. We had a very happy 2 nights here, even thought he weather lived up to local expectations.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it. Nothing to complain about at all.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy C
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, quiet, cosy hideaway”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We stayed at Weavers Cottage over New Year in an attempt to escape the usual NYE chaos and get some picturesque peace and quiet - and it was exactly what we were after! Beautiful cottage, great facilities (AMAZING kitchen, which gave us the opportunity to try out some new recipes) and in a lovely location. Even though thee was just two of us, the family home seemed cosy. Communication with the owner was very good. Highly recommended to individuals looking for a quiet getaway, couples and families alike.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosines of sitting room.
Liked least: TV set-up was a bit mangled on arrival. We spent a while re-jigging cables to sort it out.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing