We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Break, lovely cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Weavers cottage

Weavers Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Weavers Cottage
bath - Cadbury flake not included mid-level garden view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
55 reviews
Weavers Cottage
bath - Cadbury flake not included
mid-level garden view
study/gallery
Lounge - the TV has been replaced and updated!
Another happy visitor
stained glass in master bedroom
Kitchen
Derwent Edge
Bonsall Cross - our local landmark
Matlock Bath - all the fun of the fair
Wall painting by Kai Suede
pondlife
garden paths in summer
Tiger by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Our marvellous new village shop! open seven days a week.
Gallery view
winter view above village
Alcove art by Kai Suede (Lithuania)
Winter walking towards Winster
Exploring the hillside garden in Autumn
Carnival time in July - for all ages
The view from the front door up Yeoman street
Outdoor lounge area (ask in advance for the cushions!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Bonsall, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 55 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ana D
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great Break, lovely cottage”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We choose this lovely cottage because of it's location (very near to Matlock and another towns in the Peak District). We needed a place where we could socialize with our friend without leaving our young son. So it was perfect, very well located, cozy and comfortable. We manage to do a lot of sightseeing and then have a lovely time resting in the evening and just chatting with our friend. Great holiday! We will definitely recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and overall all the cottage
Liked least: The velux window in the main window did not have a blind and it was too light in the mornings.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2014
Delighted you had a great stay. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gillymocz
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A deceptive hideaway”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The photos for this property really don't do it justice. This was an amazing find and miles better than the sterile holiday cottages that seem to be the norm now. Fab decor, facilities and really nice to find out about the cottage's history as well as an insight into the owners too!

The house was far larger than we expected and really well equipped. A major relief when travelling with a 7 month old. The owners provided a cot, high chair, bath seat helping us to feel at home. The place was spotless and clearly well loved. The garden was amazing and fun to explore.

The village of Bonsall was a delight, just a couple if miles from Matlock but felt miles from anywhere. Great walks around the village, and easy for visits to Matlock Bath for the Heights of Abraham and the obligatory fish and chips! Our only regret was that we only booked it for a weekend, we'll definitely be staying longer next time!

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 21, 2014
delighted you enjoyed. A further release of duplo from my son's collection is heading north shortly....
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quire
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW factor in bucket loads”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Believe the property description for this cottage, a brilliant place all round. When it says the kitchin is fully equipped it's not exaggerating, even down to weigh scales for baking, baking trays and loaf tins, enough pots and pans for a banquet and even, would you believe it, a truffle slicer.
The moment you walk in you'll feel at home.
Great walks around the local area, and to Matlock with a bus to the village if you don't want to walk back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 10, 2014
delighted you enjoyed your stay. I didn't know I had a truffle slicer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed June 3, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked a last minute holiday to Weavers Cottage in the May half term. It is a lovely cottage new and clean kitchen and bathroom and comfortable beds. We needed the heating on as it was a bit cold and rainy on most days, and it made the cottage very warm and comfortable.

Bonsall is a very pretty village, good local pubs with food and a café, close to the peak district so we drove in most days to explore.

We had a great holiday there, our 6 year old son loved it. Lots of DVDs and some children games to play in the cottage.

The owner was very helpful and responsive to any queries and we met Clare who manages the change overs on the day we left, was very friendly and has lots of local information.

We would return again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: New kitchen and bathroom
Liked least: nothing really, TV could be more up to date / larger
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
186346wil...
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A comfortable cosy cottage.”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We have just returned from having 3 nights at this lovely place. The mix with old and modern worked really well, there was everything you could have wanted here.The beds were really comfortable, the lounge really warm and cosy, and the bathroom was great, what do you choose ,the roll top large bath or the huge shower which looked like a space capsule, what a wonderful choice, I tried both....The kitchen was so easy to work in although we only cooked breakfast.The weather was not too.
good but we did have a recky of the garden, very steep but very pretty.The whole place was very clean and well kept.We did a lot of different things while we were there and ate out a lot and it was always nice to come home to the cosy cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayleymmo...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful Idyllic Cottage and Location”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I spent a long weekend at Weavers Cottage with my Mother and Partner. The weather wasn't always on our side but that didn't dampen the beauty that both the cottage and location had to offer. The cottage itself is very spacious with little trinkets of history throughout. Its set up very well and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The house is very clean and warm and cozy and neither of us wanted to leave. I could have quite happily set up home! The best part was planting the Rabbit outside my mother bedroom in the morning! (you'll understand once you visit)

The garden is an adventure playground teaming with wildlife, the song of the birds is just bliss all the way through the day. Bonsall itself is delightful and with the help of a little map and guide to Bonsall in the house we set off on our first adventure of the weekend. Of course it passed two pubs which was an added bonus. The local pubs and cafe's serve good quality food too!

I couldn't have asked for more and will certainly be back.

Thanks for your hospitality!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 20, 2014
Thankyou! The rabbit story made me laugh!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philip M
1 review
“Kooky”
Reviewed May 6, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and unfortunately the shower leaked through the ceiling so we could not use it during our stay.

The landlord was contactable and addressed the problem immediately, he even offered us an additional night which is all commendable but unfortunately we were unable to take this offer and this still pretty much ruined our short stay.

All in all this place could probably use some attention as the TV was at times unwatchable, the water tank in the second room was very noisy and the bedding was a bit old.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2014
One can only respond with speed and grace to issues that may arise, and are communicated. Evidently we did re the shower land the offer of free nights. The other comments were not raised ( nor have they been before) but will be addressed. Thanks for the feedback
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing