We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Pig of Lead

Pig of Lead
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pig of Lead
Ranked #2 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Pig of Lead was an excellent find, well situated for access to Matlock and Cromford and a lovely (but hilly!) walk to Bonsall village. Julie is an excellent host, showed us round and made us feel really welcome with a hot drink and biscuits in the lounge. The breakfasts are wonderful and nothing felt too much trouble - really liked being able to have access to a fridge and microwave in the breakfast room where we could store our provisions for walking and our wine!
We stayed in the super king size room at the top of the house, it was finished to a very good standard with everything you could want for - big tv, DVD player, hair dryer, hot drinks and biscuits and plenty of room. Only drawback is can see how it could be quite noisy if the windows are open into the main road as traffic can be a bit heavy.
We can't wait to come back and have another breakfast!
Hint: go to the Barley Mow pub in the village on a Friday night for their food and excellent acoustic night and the King's Head pub on a Sunday for their quiz night.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank valwal355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 125 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

After an initial disappoinment with the location our fears were quickly dispelled when Julie greeted us at the door. Julie and her husband John were so welcoming. They showed us round the guest lounge where we could borrow DVDS and books. There was a fridge and microwave for the use of the guests in the very nice dining room. Our room was delightful with a very large comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janice K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Fantastic B&B, welcomed from the minute we arrived till the minute we left. One of the best breakfasts we have experienced for a B&B and it sets you up for the day, in fact we didn't need to eat until late afternoon. Room was large and had everything you need, not that we spent much time in it. Julie was so friendly you felt comfortable in her presence instantly. Would highly recommend to anyone that is thinking of staying

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madmarwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Met on arrival with tea and biscuits. Premises provides all the comforts of home, including team making facilities in the room. Huge bed and large flat screen TV. Julie very friendly and chatty. Although an old building with interesting history, it does feel warm and homely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is an excellent base for exploring an unspoilt part of the UK. Julie is first class as the ever-so-helpful yet unobtrusive host, and provides good local knowledge, as well as an excellent breakfast that sets you up very well for the day. Nothing seems to be too much trouble. We had the room with the super king size bed (and TV to match); this was perfect for us as all we wanted to do was sleep after long walks and hearty meals! This is a place to which we shall return.

Room Tip: Book in advance if you would like a room with a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nisamajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pigoflead, Owner at Pig of Lead, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Hi
Thank you for your review.glad you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to seeing you again.
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This is a smashing place to stay .Firstly Julie is so welcoming and friendly , the breakfast is delicious with excellent ingredients used and beautifully cooked and my room was brilliant.The shower lovely and powerful and the bed comfortable too.The building has loads of history too and surrounding area has loads to see and do .So altogether a fabulous stay .

Room Tip: room two is very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 569sezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

my husband and i booked this through late rooms, and what a find. the room was lovely with really good furnishings we had a superking size bed. a very large tv. The breakfast was excellent, the quality of the produce used was top notch. The owners were very friendly and curteous. A super weekend break

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
0.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
328 reviews
0.9 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
381 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
384 reviews
17.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.9 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pig of Lead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pig of Lead

Address: Via Gellia Road, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range: $88 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pig of Lead 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family run B&B Ideally situated to explore the Peak district. All rooms are en suite with tea/coffee making facilities, DVD player, teletext TV, hairdryer, and alarm clock. Guest lounge with log burning stove. Separate dining room and wonderful freshly cooked breakfasts. Off street parking and secure parking if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Pig of Lead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pig Of Lead Bonsall, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing