We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a perfect b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cascades House and Gardens
Ranked #3 of 5 Bonsall B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 1, 2012

The Cascades, though hard to find, is a treasure of the Peak District. Just outside Matlock, this b&b offers unparalleled luxury - the en-suite rooms are fitted to a very high standard with great attention to detail, and the acres of garden make a pleasant route to the nearby Barley Mow Inn, another local gem. A must in all respects

Room Tip: The rooms are all spectacular, well worth a visit. There were six of us in the group (three couples...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dickdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 63 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very good B&B offering great rooms and great breakfasts. We stayed in the India room which has, as it's title would suggest, lots of memorabilia from India. Some very impressive pieces! Whole house is full of memorabilia from around the world. Clearly owned by people who like travelling.

The Barley Mow pub is very close by and I could highly recommend a trip there. They offer very eccentric entertainment.

Bonsall is great antidote to the ever present motor bike noise found in Matlock Bath! No noise at all apart from the water cascades in the garden.

Room Tip: India room has large bed and large en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnBovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Had a great stay here, only two nights but were made very welcome and we stayed in the Tibetan room which is the smallest room. Saying that it was plenty big enough and very comfortable and had a good feel about it. Breakfast was excellent, there is a fantastic garden to relax in. Would stay here again.
Brian

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianp59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Booked this hotel as a last minute get away and what a place, great location and gardens, we had the India room which had a very large bathroom, On arrival was meet by Xavia who was very welcoming and made us feel at home, Also was very informative about the local pubs and sites, Bed was very comfortable and breakfast was great with a warm and pleasant atmosphere. Would go back again and try one of the other rooms, The garden suite does sound fab and worth trying out.

Mr and Mrs Waldron

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Booked the Garden Suite, amazing bathroom and really comfy bed. Excellant breakfast that morning with really pleasant hosts. The gardens are amazing, hopefully next time we stay we will be able to explore them a little more. We would definately recommend Cascades Gardens to anyone staying in the area, and we're looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Although this B&B looks lovely there are some serious issues and disputes between the management which are causing major problems here at the moment. We arrived for a short stay treat to find that the room we had booked had been double booked, there was a lot of confusion and tension while this was discussed, we wasted a lot of time caught up in the situation. Apparently similar mistakes have been made on other occassions recently. There were no free rooms and on a busy bank holiday weekend evening and we faced a 3 hr drive home again. Because of the late check in time of 4pm it was difficult to find alternative accomodation. We got our refund but otherwise were offered little assistance or compensation for our wasted time and disappointment. Luckily we found ourselves a very basic hotel room nearby but it was not the type of accomodation we were expecting or would ever have chosen. It is a shame because this could be a lovely place if run properly and in a professional manner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan C, Owner at Cascades House and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2012

We were very surprised and concerned to find that we had double booked this room.This was the first time this had happened.Despite being the bank holiday, we were able to find alternative accommodation at a B&B in the same village, with the same 4 star rating.We apologised for this unfortunate event, and as part of our apology gave a bottle of champagne and of course returned the deposit to our visitors.

The cause of this problem was entirely due to the recent installation of our online booking system and we have taken all the necessary measures to prevent this happening again.At this time we continue to be very busy, with extremely happy guests,as endorsed by the excellent reviews in our guestbook.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in the Garden Suite to celebrate our first wedding anniversary and we couldn't have asked for more.
The room was a nice size just off the main house, with an enormous bathroom.
It's currently in the process of being refurbished but will ultimately be a lovely Art Deco style room.
Bed was a nice size and comfy. Not the four poster as on the website, see the pics for the latest version.
Nice selection of teas and coffees, although decaf wasn't provided as standard. Bottles of water with glasses were also provided, as well as wine glasses and a corkscrew.
TV has not got all of the freeview channels due to the valley location, but has a DVD player which we used, but let's be fair, if you're holidaying in the area, you're not really there to watch TV!
Bathroom was lovely with a nice sized shower and the spa bath which seats two comfortably. Towels and bathrobes are included for use during your stay and were lovely and fluffy.
What I would recommend is bringing some slippers (which I forgot) as the marble floor in the bathroom is a bit cold underfoot at night!
Breakfast is ordered the night before, with a nice selection available and toast to your personal preference.
Whilst we were in the area we visited the Barley Mow pub, from the owner's recommendation, which was brilliant. A nice local pub with huge portions of food, real ale and great atmosphere.
We did venture through the gardens before we left, but due to the time of year, everything was in hiding except the ducks wanting their breakfast!

Overall, we would definitely recommend Cascades again and would look to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bonsall
0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
423 reviews
0 mi away
Pig of Lead
Pig of Lead
#2 of 5 in Bonsall
127 reviews
0 mi away
Townhead Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascades House and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascades House and Gardens

Address: | Clatterway, Bonsall, Matlock DE4 2AH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Bonsall
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Bonsall
Price Range: $117 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cascades Gardens is a luxury bed and breakfast near Chatsworth, close to Matlock, Derbyshire. Our three luxury suites, each with their own spacious bathrooms and are tastefully decorated to a unique theme. The India Suite features authentic Indian art and the Tibet Suite is decorated with artefacts collected on the owners travels. Our newly opened Garden Suite contains a luxury spa bath for two people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cascades House and Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cascades House And Gardens Bonsall, Matlock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing