We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Of Rome from Celebrity Eclipse Cruise”

Discovery Tours Limousine Service Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$573.80*
and up
Civita di Bagnoregio and Orvieto - Private Day trip from Rome
More Info
$638.36*
and up
Rome Countryside: Etruscan highlights of Tarquinia and Cerveteri
More Info
$645.53*
and up
All-Day Trip from Rome: Bracciano Lake and Surrounding lunch included
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by Gilberto Stanzioni in 1995, is a company of licensed professional chauffeurs operating in Rome & all over Italy. Our priority is to provide you with the highest quality of private tours, shore excursions and limousine service, ensuring that you always have a lasting memory of your special days in Italy.
County Durham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Of Rome from Celebrity Eclipse Cruise”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from a Med Cruise on board Celebrity Eclipse. Booked Best of Rome with Discovery Tours as there was 7 of us travelling together and we thought we'd maximise time and have a more personal service by booking a private tour instead of the ships tour.
How right we were. We booked over the internet in July for our cruise in September, we asked for priority tickets to the Colloseum and Vatican City to be bought in advance.
At 8am Gilberto arrived at the port of Civitevecchia to pick us up in an air conditiioned limousine and Gilberto escorted us all day apart from in the Vatican City when he arranged for a Vatican City guide to accompany us.
Having done the ships tour before, which was ok, this was the best experience ever especially for my family who had never visited the eternal city before.
Gilberto was very informative and gave us information as we travelled from the port to Rome. Our first top was the colloseum where the queue was very very long to purchase tickets, Gilberto handed us our ticket as we left the vehicle, along with a mobile phone with his number programmed in, in case we wanted to stay longer or had any problems.....WOW the phone stayed with us all day which I thought was a great idea, we didn't need it but you never know!
Being in the small vehivle allowed us to get quite close to all of the major tourist spots without us having to walk long distances. Don't get me wrong, it is nice to wander round the city by foot, but in a short space of time, to see as much as you can this was the perfect way.
All in all I would highly recommend Discovery Tours, and would definitely use them again!
Gilberto recommended places to eat, was flexible with our itinerary, brilliant!
Thank you Gilberto for a wonderful day.

PS this was also cheaper than the ships tour with a similar but not as extensive itinerary!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jaw500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discoveryguidedtours, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Tours Limousine Service Day Tours, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Discovery Tours Limousine Service Italy wish to thank you for choosing our company and to take care of your transfers and tours while in italy.
For anything you may need in the future please just drop us a line or call, we have been honoured that you choose our company to take care of all your travel needs while in Italy.
See you soon Gilberto & staff Discoveryguidedtours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    2
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Way to See Rome!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I just returned from Italy and had the good pleasure of receiving a tour of Rome from Gilberto Stanzioni...what an experience!

Gilberto arranged for us to see the Vatican, Colosseum, Forum and all of Rome well in advance, ensuring we maximized our time learning about the Eternal City and not standing in any lines.

Our friend Gilberto was professional, punctual, extremely courteous and created a wonderful experience we will never forget.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discoveryguidedtours, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Tours Limousine Service Day Tours, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Discovery Tours Limousine Service Italy wish to thank you for choosing our company and to take care of your transfers and tours while in italy.
For anything you may need in the future please just drop us a line or call, we have been honoured that you choose our company to take care of all your travel needs while in Italy.
See you soon Gilberto & staff Discoveryguidedtours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Guide Can Enrich Travel Experience & Save Time and Money”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I have used Discovery Tours since 2003. We booked them on a recommendation from a friend. We had never used a private tour guide before, and Gilberto was wonderful. On our itinerary for Rome on our first visit (in 2003) we had 4 days and a list of 12 "must sees" while in Rome. Gilberto took us to 9 of the 12 on our first day!

No cab rides, no long lines, no endless walking, and no frustration of how to get to where. If we had known that, we could have cut our stay in Rome by at least a day (which would have saved us more $/euros than the price of the tour). We could have added another day to another location.

Also, Gilberto was extremely knowledgeable and was able to answer any questions we had, along with providing information that wasn't in our guidebook. It's his home town, after all. We have used other guides within the company, and all have been great.

On subsequent visits we have branched out from Rome, and Gilberto has taken us to places we didn't even know were "must sees." Even though this company is home-based in Rome, they arranged tours for us in other areas of Italy.

Since 2003, my husband and I rarely go to a foreign country without guided tours. We have a better experience, and can cover more cities; or take the time saved to do nothing at all.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Joypc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discoveryguidedtours, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Tours Limousine Service Day Tours, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Discovery Tours Limousine Service Italy wish to thank you for choosing our company and to take care of your transfers and tours while in italy.
For anything you may need in the future please just drop us a line or call, we have been honoured that you choose our company to take care of all your travel needs while in Italy.
See you soon Gilberto & staff Discoveryguidedtours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Day in Rome!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our day tour in Rome was fantastico! Our tour guide (Marco) was the best! He was very knowledgeable, spoke excellent English, friendly, and was willing to accommodate any requests. He planned our day perfectly by giving us enough time for each major attraction. He brought us to a beautiful area for lunch that exceeded our expectations.

The vehicle had more than enough space to accommodate us and we were super pleased it was air-conditioned.

Excellent customer service during the booking and confirmation phase. This tour company is well worth the money and we recommend it highly. Grazie Marco!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OBrienTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discoveryguidedtours, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Tours Limousine Service Day Tours, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Discovery Tours Limousine Service Italy wish to thank you for choosing our company and to take care of your transfers and tours while in italy.
For anything you may need in the future please just drop us a line or call, we have been honoured that you choose our company to take care of all your travel needs while in Italy.
See you soon Gilberto & staff Discoveryguidedtours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Days in Rome and Florence”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is the second time I have used Discovery and on each occasion had the pleasure of Gilberto for our tour of Rome and Massimo(Max) for Pisa and Florence. We were picked up promptly as agreed at the quayside and enjoyed comfortable journies in airconditioned limos. Both guys have excellent local knowledge and simply listened to what we wanted to see as well as recommending areas of special interest. They arrange for tickets to key sites so that the long queues are avoided and time used to best effect. They recommended excellent restaurants where we experienced food that was clearly being enjoyed by the local Italians which is always a good sign. The tours were really informative and enhanced by other local information en route to the main attractions. Whenever I am asked about excursions for Rome and Florence I ave no hesitation in recommending Discovery Tours. Gilberto you are a star, your company provides excellent service and value.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bernard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discoveryguidedtours, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Tours Limousine Service Day Tours, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Discovery Tours Limousine Service Italy wish to thank you for choosing our company and to take care of your transfers and tours while in italy.
For anything you may need in the future please just drop us a line or call, we have been honoured that you choose our company to take care of all your travel needs while in Italy.
See you soon Gilberto & staff Discoveryguidedtours
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Discovery Tours Limousine Service Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Discovery Tours Limousine Service Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing