We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous property, brilliant hosts & fabulous food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Bourgville
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous property, brilliant hosts & fabulous food!”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The B&B is well located in a lovely village surrounded by gorgeous countryside. The property has been lovingly and beautifully restored and our room, L'If, was very pretty with an incredibly comfy bed!
John and Glyn are incredible hosts with a fantastic local knowledge. They are warm and welcoming and nothing is ever too much trouble. The breakfast is typically French with lovely bread, croissants and pain au chocolat all washed down with with great coffee.
We had dinner one evening which John prepared, which was simply gorgeous. The dessert was a tarte au citron with a twist as it contained ground almonds; it is apparently an old French recipe and was just lovely.
You will not regret staying here.........

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baleraphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 1, 2011

Just got back from one weeks holiday at Domaine de Bourgville. Loved every minute of our time there. From the wonderful village (both the B&B and the gite that John and Glyn run are within a lovely village Mont sur Guesnes with its own boulanger, supermarket and chateau) to the beautiful rooms and superb position within the Loire Valley.

John and Glyn are the perfect hosts. We were welcomed on the first night, having driven from Cherbourg, with a glass of wine, and they managed to rustle up some food as well (completely unplanned!).

We spent the week looking at chateaux, stunning little villages and wineries, all recommended by John and Glyn. The weather was unseasonably warm so every night was BBQs outside. Heartily recommended is John's cooking, for which you can request one evening at a very reasonable rate. We ate three courses; food was from the garden and wine from down the road - perfect!

We spent two nights in the B&B and the rest of the time in the gite, both were wonderful. The breakfasts in the B&B were fresh and delicious.

All in all a wonderful break and we shall certainly return as soon as we can!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosaandmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Although I'd read about how lovely this B&B is in advance it was still a surprise to discover just how lovely when I arrived.

The buildings of the B&B have a long and interesting history, which I enjoyed hearing about and thank-fully have been saved from decay by the owners loving attention.

The grounds of the B&B are fantastic and walking through it you get a wonderful sense of how grand it all must have been once upon a time.

The room we had was superbly decorated with a mix between French historic grandeur and quaint English countryside.

And the owners, a very nice couple, ensure their guests are well nourished and looked after.

Only point I would make is that it really is a B&B. You are a part of the framework the moment you arrive so if you're looking for anonymity you won't find it here, but the stay was perfect none the less.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful, beautiful getaway to counteract the loud, boiterous city...this is the place for you ! Glyn and John's country retreat is just lovely, the rooms clean and inviting and the food...oh my, John is quite the accomplished chef. We also took advantage of having an afternoon cooking lesson by a local French chef (didnt hurt that he could have been a fashion model !) and then got to enjoy the fruits of our (his) labor for dinner. John and Glyn have bicycles available for the use of guests and I recommed using them to discover the rolling hills and nearby park... the perfect way to spend an afternoon. Castles and markets are nearby, so having a vehicle is much preferred if you intend to explore as there is no public transportation available, however, your hosts may assist you in that regard. Wish I was sitting on Glyns terrace with a cup of good English tea right now :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annew597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Visited in September with Friends. Wonderful host. Very friendly and welcoming.
Gite decor was charming - little chandeliers, pretty bedding, comfy sofa. Very light and beautiful views and surroundings. Lots of books and DVD's but plenty to do locally. All the local towns are worth a visit, especially on market days. Buzzing !!!
The local supermarket is very well stocked and with local produce too ! The meat, fruit, veg and wine were all good quality. The bakery across the road - as you would expectin France. Excellent. Retuening next year with some friends.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

John and Glyn were wonderful. They were so warm and friendly. The property was very relaxing and i liked the secluded location. It was a great spot for exploring other areas of the region.

Their breakfast was very nice and a nice selection of breads, yogurts, coffee and jams. You must order the dinner. John is a wonderful cook. All the meals are prepared with fresh local ingredients. Local wine is also served with the meal.

We had a wonderful stay. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smokie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

Glyn and John are amazing. I had never met them before and I arrived there very late in the evening. I was greeted as if I was an old friend who had come to visit. This B&B is situated in a very picturesque part of France off the beaten track. The room felt light and airy. It has a shower etc and I had the best sleep ever. Breakfast was perfect, exactly what was required to start my day, as it was, I left there later than expected due to there lovely location and hospitality. I cannot wait to see the Chateau adjacent to the B&B in all its glory. It will be a great place for a private function. Some great nights to be had there for sure. If you are thinking of heading through or to this region of France be sure to book here as you will not be disappointed. I will be making a point of visiting here again as I felt it was a home from home. Thank you Glyn and John

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jethro68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Domaine de Bourgville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Bourgville

Property: Domaine de Bourgville
Address: Allee de Bourgville, 86420 Monts-sur-Guesnes, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Monts-sur-Guesnes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Monts-sur-Guesnes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domaine de Bourgville 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Bourgville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing