We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“1 baby, 2 dogs, 3 bikes & 10 adults on holiday...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Mountview

House.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House.
Bathroom. Lenan Beach.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
House.
Bathroom.
Lenan Beach.
House
Superking size bedroom.
Superking size bedroom.
The pier.
Kitchen wth seating for 10.
King size bedroom.
Glenevin waterfall.
View from the bottom ofthe road.
Ensuite.
Dunaff Head
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Clonmany, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jim N
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“1 baby, 2 dogs, 3 bikes & 10 adults on holiday together.”
Reviewed August 15, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a good relationship with the owner, Laurie, from our first contact. All the arrangements went smoothly. We were given directions which took us to the door from Buncrana. Laurie was on site to greet us & show us the facilities. We are a family of 10 adults and one baby, plus a couple of dogs by arrangement. A cot & a high chair were made available. The property was made ready for our arrival & we were pleased with everything. The table & chairs outdoors had been left out in all weathers & looked old. However, although we didn't use them on site we were glad to be able to take the chairs to the beach at Tullagh Bay (which is a splendid location).
We had enough seats to satisfy our needs. I was especially pleased that we could all eat at the table together, as this was an important aspect of our Family holiday. There are many very good places to dine out, although we couldn't get a place at the Rusty Nail. Ballyliffin has lots of good quality eating venues. Glen House was visited by some of us just for the Irish breakfast! The beds were very comfortable. We all slept well. Is it the air in the Hills of Donegal? The location was great. There are several beaches nearby, though not all sandy. We had some evening walks there. We stayed for the Clonmany Festival week, having an extended family reunion at the start of our holiday. The whole area is a place of beauty.
All in all we were extremely pleased with our stay at Mountview. The home was ideal for our week long stay. The area has much to recommend it & the region of Inishowen can easily be researched to suit the needs of a variety of holidaymakers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spacious feel, given that there were 11 of us including a baby.
Liked least: The weather was variable, but we had great sunsets & sunrise.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Many thanks for your kind review. I look forward to welcoming you back for the next reunion!
Laurie Mob+447803802822
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KrissyT
Chester, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT VACATION RENTAL - Missing it Already!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just returned from a lovely holiday with a large group of family and friends. Our group rented both of the owners' properties and our stay was wonderful. Mountview was well equipped and the owner worked hard to turn the property so that we could check in early because our flight from the states got in quite early and she knew we would be exhausted. Also, the airlines lost all our bags and had to deliver them at midnight. She handled all the phone calls with the airlines for us (we had to provide her Irish mobile number for airlines to contact), and stayed up late to guide in the driver with our bags. We really appreciated all the extra effort - thanks so much for the outstanding hospitality! The kids had a lovely time playing on the front lawn and we cooked many meals all together in the kitchen. Water pressure and amount of hot water was superb. This property is an ideal location for seeing all things in the Inishowen peninsula. Ballyliffin is just 10 minutes away for the golfers, with larger towns of Carndonagh and Buncrana about 25 minutes. Can't wait to go back!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Missing you already too! Many thanks for your kind review, I look forward to your next reunion!
Laurie mob +447803802822
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary T
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great property”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
3
people found this review helpful

This was the third time we visited the owners property ( twice in Mountview) once again we weren't disappointed. Great large comfy house, perfect location(, 5mins drive to nearest beach ( Lenane beach) and picturesque Mamore Gap. There is a local shop/ post office 2 mins away used for essentials only. Also close to Ballyliffen lodge if you want to eat out, not forgetting the closer pub the Rusty Nail.
This is a great place to just chill and relax or if feeling energetic for walks and cycling. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high standard of property
Liked least: Poor television
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Many thanks once again for visiting our little haven!
hope to see you all again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepysan...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“this is a fabulous place”
Reviewed December 31, 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Exactly as described and the location is stunning. Truly welcoming and I am definitely going back. Far exceeded our expectations.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 2, 2015
Many thanks for your kind review. I look forward to welcoming you and all your friends again sometime.
Laurie.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LizR264
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We will definitely be back!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We have stayed in Mountview twice this year - we went for a long weekend at Easter and liked it so much that we booked again for July. The accommodation is excellent - large bedrooms with comfy beds and quality bed linen, plenty of bathrooms (3 rooms are ensuite and there is an additional bathroom and a toilet and washbasin at the back door) and a good kitchen/dining area and living room. We also liked the spacious entrance hall and the utility room, which has a washing machine - a great facility, meaning that I didn't arrive home with loads of dirty laundry at the end of our stay! The first time we went there were 8 of us (2 families) and there was plenty of room for all of us. Our teenagers enjoyed using the pool table which is available in one of the outhouses behind Mountview, and we all enjoyed sitting outside, taking in the beautiful scenery (we were lucky with the weather!).

One of the biggest pluses for us was that Laurie the owner didn't mind us bringing our dog, provided we were happy to clear up after it! There are plenty of lovely walks, so everyone was happy!

Mountview is in a beautiful location, close to some fabulous beaches and there are good walks in the nearby Urris hills if you want something more energetic than a stroll on the beach. We took bicycles with us when we returned in the summer, another good activity.

If you are looking for nightlife and shopping, then this may not be the place for you, but if you are looking for tranquility and relaxation, with pubs and tea rooms nearby, and plenty of outdoor activities, then it is hard to beat! We will definitely be back and are considering the possibility of also booking the sister property behind Mountview to host an extended family holiday at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lornaodon...
Belper, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great holiday home”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just home from a week at Mountview. The house was lovely with five large double bedrooms and plenty of bathrooms. The house was perfect as our ages ranged from 1 to 78, a cot and high chair were provided too.
The post office stocked essentials and is a two minute walk. Larger shops are a ten minute drive. The local pub also had wifi which the teenagers were pleased about. Horse riding locally at Tullagh Bay was well organised and we enjoyed an hours ride on the beach.
The owner, Laurie was most helpful and was there on arrival to answer any questions and show us round.
Would definitely return to this beautiful house.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catandroo...
Munich, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely spacious property”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed here for a week in July and were very happy with the standard of accomodation. There are two rather big en-suite rooms upstairs and 3 doubles downstairs, one of them also ensuite. The kitchen is well furnished and we were glad to see that tea-towels, washing-up liquid etc was provided as we flew over from Germany and would have had to bring or buy the things ourselves otherwise. If you are not coming by car directly it is worth making enquiries with Laurie as some essentials might be present. The dining area is nice and big and got used mostly for the full Irish breakfasts for our group. We never ran out of hot water which is sometimes unusual when such a big house is full, the good ole Irish Immersion saved the day.! The TV was a bit contrary on some of the channels but there was also a DVD player & lots of DVDs provided which kept the kids quiet for a time. The owner Laurie was very accomodating and helpful at all times. The area is very beautiful, there are lots of lovely beaches to discover. We came over the Mamore Gap on the first day practically by accident (we had intended taking the main road but the Sat Nav had other ideas). Beautiful views from up there. One of the nearest sandy beaches would be Lenan beach but Tullagh beach is also worth a visit. For eating out, the Ballyliffin Hotel was a bit chaotic on the service but the food was good, Pub grub was good in the Rusty Nail, the Drift Inn in Buncrana was great-might be a little on the expensive side but the food was delicious. We even stumbled by on a Thursday when they had a specials night and all got two courses for €15, which was very good value. The waterfall nearby is worth a visit and we also stopped off for a break in the quaint little tea-room at the entrance.
Carndonagh was a bit of a disappointment but we found our way to Tully's pub that had a lovely new renovated beergarden out the back.
We also took the ferry across Lough Foyle to visit the Giant's Causeway which is always worth a visit, Fort Dunree was interesting, the Famine village was great (free tea and biccies after the tour), and the views from Grianan of Aileach (historical ringfort) were amazing.
All in all, a lovely part of the world to visit and a great house to base a sight-seeing holiday in for a big group of people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kingsize beds upstairs, spacious rooms
Liked least: TV signal was a bit dodgy sometimes, missing locks on some bathroom doors, wifi would have been a nice plus but probably not an option due to location
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing